Bitcoin Forum
May 09, 2024, 04:01:33 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: sendmany limits  (Read 2185 times)
martok (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 31, 2011, 10:38:41 PM
 #1

Hi,
My payout script generated a parse error on around 30 transactions in a sendmany call. All amounts were >= 1 BTC. So I manually had the script process one transaction at a time, still using sendmany and it worked though with many more transactions.

Is there a limit on sendmany recipients or perhaps the size of an RPC payload to bitcoind?
1715227293
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715227293

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715227293
Reply with quote  #2

1715227293
Report to moderator
1715227293
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715227293

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715227293
Reply with quote  #2

1715227293
Report to moderator
1715227293
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715227293

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715227293
Reply with quote  #2

1715227293
Report to moderator
The trust scores you see are subjective; they will change depending on who you have in your trust list.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715227293
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715227293

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715227293
Reply with quote  #2

1715227293
Report to moderator
1715227293
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715227293

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715227293
Reply with quote  #2

1715227293
Report to moderator
1715227293
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715227293

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715227293
Reply with quote  #2

1715227293
Report to moderator
arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1199
Merit: 1012


View Profile
January 09, 2012, 07:11:58 PM
 #2

I couldn't find information about it either. Didn't notice any explicit limitations in Value sendmany(const Array& params, bool fHelp) function either. Is it supposed to work with any size of params[1]?

Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 2216


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
January 10, 2012, 06:53:20 PM
 #3

Are you communicating via JSON-RPC or by command-line (bitcoind sendmany ....) ?

There shouldn't be any limits if you're talking directly via JSON-RPC, but if you're calling it via the command-line then sh and bash and whatever Windows uses to launch processes all have length limits.

How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1199
Merit: 1012


View Profile
January 10, 2012, 08:10:19 PM
 #4

Are you communicating via JSON-RPC or by command-line (bitcoind sendmany ....) ?

There shouldn't be any limits if you're talking directly via JSON-RPC, but if you're calling it via the command-line then sh and bash and whatever Windows uses to launch processes all have length limits.


Thanks for your answer, Gavin.

I am communicating via JSON-RPC. So the only problem for me could be the increased fee if the transaction has many recipients. Btw, is there an easy & reliable way to estimate the upper bound of transaction fee for sendmany (given the number of recipients)?

gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4172
Merit: 8418



View Profile WWW
January 10, 2012, 08:37:47 PM
 #5

I am communicating via JSON-RPC. So the only problem for me could be the increased fee if the transaction has many recipients. Btw, is there an easy & reliable way to estimate the upper bound of transaction fee for sendmany (given the number of recipients)?

I believe in current code the upper bound on the fee with default settings is 0.05 BTC— above that the transaction would have to be bigger then the client is willing to generate. (it would take a great number of ins/outs to hit that but I'm not sure how many— but since it depends on inputs too it's hard to give you a simple function)
arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1199
Merit: 1012


View Profile
January 10, 2012, 09:50:02 PM
 #6

I believe in current code the upper bound on the fee with default settings is 0.05 BTC— above that the transaction would have to be bigger then the client is willing to generate. (it would take a great number of ins/outs to hit that but I'm not sure how many— but since it depends on inputs too it's hard to give you a simple function)

Thanks for your answer, gmaxwell. I've read about 0.05BTC limitation on wiki faq, but I am not sure if this info is reliable and up to date.

Anyway, this logic seems mysterious to me. Even though Gavin said there should not be any limits, I assume there is some implicit limitation for amount of outputs (which could come from limitation on block size, or transaction size, or fee, or willingness of bitcoin software to generate the transaction).

I am curious if combining many send transactions into a single sendmany is always a preferable way of sending out money to many recipients, or if there is some point at which we should split the transaction into several sendmany transactions. If there is such a point, then how many recipients should be in each transaction? Smiley

arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1199
Merit: 1012


View Profile
July 20, 2012, 12:05:20 PM
 #7

or by command-line (bitcoind sendmany ....) ?

how would one formulate such a command exactly? i'm trying to follow this api calls list but i keep getting a message box that says Type Mismatch.


Here is a real example for ubuntu:

Code:
./bitcoind sendmany anonymousads "{\"1999hiP3Duobup1pXNQ8S8xosHzcZfU47U\":1,\"1FWDAHaa13Nfa9U9dXBo8JvCVv754JCoZx\":0.1}"

Here is the one for windows:

Code:
bitcoind sendmany "" {"""1ELvnrA6PhUyDBS6iR25K1Xx4xXL6VMfJX""":1,"""1NX3R5Le4c1y9E316NPMze7aEmCXjpCY58""":0.75}
(from https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54879.0)

arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1199
Merit: 1012


View Profile
July 20, 2012, 12:40:09 PM
 #8

sorry, I don't have a windows version. Grue said that line worked for him, you could ask for details in his thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54879.0

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!