Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 07:51:44 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to use GUI mining in Windows Server 2008 X64  (Read 13329 times)
galex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 01:04:11 AM
 #1

The guiminer-20110521 can not run on this OS.
the error msg is someting wrong with concurrency setting and suggest to use tool sxstrace.exe

anyone know how to fix this issue?
1481269904
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481269904

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481269904
Reply with quote  #2

1481269904
Report to moderator
1481269904
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481269904

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481269904
Reply with quote  #2

1481269904
Report to moderator
1481269904
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481269904

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481269904
Reply with quote  #2

1481269904
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Lexiko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 358


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 01:35:24 AM
 #2

The guiminer-20110521 can not run on this OS.
the error msg is someting wrong with concurrency setting and suggest to use tool sxstrace.exe

anyone know how to fix this issue?
guiminer-20110521 work's great on this OS. Try to install it (not snaphot). Also try to disable DEP, mb this will help.

P.S. Did u installed all ati drivers, including OpenCL? Try to run Gpu-z utility, see is OpenCL checkbox checked.

galex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 08:08:13 AM
 #3

thanks, but....How to Install it? lol....
I tried to turn off DEP but it still didn't work
my computer is a Dell R710 Xeon Server,And I prefer to use CPU mining.is there any driver I need to install or any system settings I need to modify?
Lexiko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 358


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 11:52:05 AM
 #4

Did you checked OpenCl is turned on? Are ATI drivers ok?

Where an error is occurs?

jkminkov
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 534


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 12:23:38 PM
 #5

you can't install generic ati drivers on that OS, look out for Dell support ...

Bleutrade
600 dollars in one place talking - Dudes, hooray, Bitcoin against us just one, but we are growing in numbers!
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1458



View Profile
June 01, 2011, 12:40:57 PM
 #6

you can't install generic ati drivers on that OS, look out for Dell support ...
I am mining on Server 2008 R2 x64 boxes and have no problems installing generic ATI drivers.

I've also tried CPU mining on an R710 (dual hex core) using minerd.exe without any drivers and got something like 24 mhash/s with 11 threads, if I recall correctly. OP might want to take this route.
Lexiko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 358


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 05:15:06 PM
 #7

you can't install generic ati drivers on that OS, look out for Dell support ...
false! Generic ati drivers works fine on my Windows server 2008 R2 x64. I used  standard windows 7 x64 driver with OpenGL support , it work's great!

galex , try to install OpenGl driver from c:\ATI folder (file OpenCL.msi) . Or download it from the ati site.

galex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 12:42:56 AM
 #8

thanks everyone.
I tried to use minerd.exe and it works! problem solved! lol

the speed is around  28MHash/s
Is it fast or slow ? compared to GPU mining?
Vasili Sviridov
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2011, 12:52:47 AM
 #9

I get almost 80MH/s on a cheap 48xx ATI card... So, yeah, that's pretty slow... Way fast for CPU, but slow in general.

1JHYtsmsGq2McwGHmWayVjVtHds8rp1R5
Lexiko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 358


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 12:56:26 AM
 #10

thanks everyone.
I tried to use minerd.exe and it works! problem solved! lol

the speed is around  28MHash/s
Is it fast or slow ? compared to GPU mining?
It's very slow. What is your hardware? Did you have a video card?

galex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 01:10:46 AM
 #11

Dell R710
Xeon E5645. 2core 24logic core.
It's a very fast CPU than ordinary PC
Lexiko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 358


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 01:23:36 AM
 #12

Dell R710
Xeon E5645. 2core 24logic core.
It's a very fast CPU than ordinary PC
Now there is no reason to mine using cpu. You need gpu to mine some btc.

pwnyboy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 08:53:00 PM
 #13

Just wanted to add a couple of remarks here..

While searching the forum for ways to mine on Windows Server 2003 I came up empty-handed.  Specifically I had two problems:  getting the ATI driver to see the card, and getting OpenCL to work.  The driver issue was remedied by the following:

1) Download any version of XP 32 bit driver from ATI's site, I used 11.3
2) Run it, allow it to extract the files to c:\ATI\support\11_whatever
3) Cancel the installation immediately after it extracts everything
4) In Windows Exporer, navigate to the folder where the setup extracted its files
5) Right-click on Setup.exe, go to the Compatibility tab, and select Windows XP compatibility mode
6) Click OK, then launch Setup.exe
7) Install as normal, I always use the Custom mode

That might seem completely obvious to many of you, but personally, I've been using Server 2003 for a number of years and have never had to enable compatibility for anything.  As for OpenCL:

1) Snag GPU-Z and launch it
2) Verify that OpenCL is your problem by verifying that the OpenCL checkbox at the bottom is unchecked
3) If so, go to your desktop, right-click and go to Properties
4) Click the Settings tab, then click the Advanced button
5) In the next screen, click the Troubleshoot tab
6) Slide the Hardware Acceleration slider to full (don't ask me why this affects OpenCL)
7) Hit Ok, relaunch GPU-Z and verify that OpenCL works now as it should be checked

Note that I also ran 'dxdiag' to make sure DX was enabled, but like the Hardware Acceleration slider, it should have nothing to do with OpenCL.  Hopefully that helps *someone*, took me about 20 minutes of googling and screwing around to figure that out.
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2011, 09:29:58 PM
 #14

the error msg is someting wrong with concurrency setting and suggest to use tool sxstrace.exe

This means that you're missing some .NET libraries needed by the program. Do you have the latest .NET framework installed?

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
testingcrf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
August 11, 2015, 09:51:01 AM
 #15

Halo everyone,I using Dell R310 server Windows server 2012. When i try to run GUIminer.exe in solo mining, Why it shows nothing to mine on?? pls help me..
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2015, 09:57:25 AM
 #16

Halo everyone,I using Dell R310 server Windows server 2012. When i try to run GUIminer.exe in solo mining, Why it shows nothing to mine on?? pls help me..
You resuscitated a 4 year old post for dead software doing dead mining that no one does today... you cannot mine bitcoin with CPUs or GPUs or guiminer in any meaningful fashion let alone in solo mode. Please do more reading.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!