Bitcoin Forum
June 18, 2018, 12:05:55 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GPU Compatibility?  (Read 1402 times)
RyanWebber
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 10:59:35 PM
 #1

Hey guys, I have a quick question. I'm building a mining rig from spare parts, and I got a 3 slot motherboard and 3 gpus laying around. Thing is I have cards from different series. I have one 5850 and two 6950's. Now I know they won't crossfire together but would I be able to plug all 3 into the mobo and mine with them all seperate or am I stuck with just the two 6950's?

If I have been remotely useful feel free to donate:
1DgkA1S64CoVGu1q5JFSz4maRQJYw2dMC8
1529323555
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529323555

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529323555
Reply with quote  #2

1529323555
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529323555
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529323555

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529323555
Reply with quote  #2

1529323555
Report to moderator
1529323555
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529323555

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529323555
Reply with quote  #2

1529323555
Report to moderator
tachi641
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 01, 2011, 11:03:39 PM
 #2

I run a 6990 and a 6950 on 1 mobo, you wont have problems I don't think. Make sure you have a dummy plug, and do not cross fire them. You should be fine.

RyanWebber
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 11:19:15 PM
 #3

that's the same series.....I run a 6970 and 6990 on the same board crossfired on my gaming rig. 6xxx series go with 6xxx cards and 5xxx cards go with 5xxx cards. What I'm asking is if I can stick 2 cards from completely different series of cards together and have them mine together.

If I have been remotely useful feel free to donate:
1DgkA1S64CoVGu1q5JFSz4maRQJYw2dMC8
RyanWebber
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 01, 2011, 11:50:20 PM
 #4

Anybody...?

If I have been remotely useful feel free to donate:
1DgkA1S64CoVGu1q5JFSz4maRQJYw2dMC8
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 01, 2011, 11:58:59 PM
 #5

Yes, it should work.  For a while I had a 5850 running in the same box as a 6950 without a problem.
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 12:00:27 AM
 #6

And actually, come to think about it, I have a media center PC rocking a 4350 that I'm using for the interface and I stuck a 5850 in the other slot and that's been chugging away without a problem as well.  Of course, I'm not mining with the 4350 so the media center interface stays snappy, but it's working.
RyanWebber
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 12:07:05 AM
 #7

Yes, it should work.  For a while I had a 5850 running in the same box as a 6950 without a problem.

Okay so it works, glad to hear it. You didn't use a crossfire bridge right? Assuming you just plugged them in and left them separated?

If I have been remotely useful feel free to donate:
1DgkA1S64CoVGu1q5JFSz4maRQJYw2dMC8
Yanz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:01:12 AM
 #8

Did you guys have to do anything special? I can't get my 6950 and my 5970 to play nice together. BSODs and other issues. Who's running linux?

With great video cards comes great power consumption.
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:26:18 AM
 #9

I did not crossfire them.  From what I gather, crossfire is not good for mining.

I'm running Win7 here with Catalyst 11.5's and SDK 2.4.  I had a bear of a time getting things working right on Win XP so I went with 7.  I've also found that the AMD drivers can get a bit wonky at times.  If you try to do uninstalls/installs, sometimes crap just gets gunked up and I had to format/rebuild.

Make sure you have more than enough power for both cards on your PSU or you could see all sorts of problems, especially if your PSU has more than 1 12 volt rail.  You could be overloading a rail and if one of the cards doesn't get enough power it might not start or it might work half arsed...
RyanWebber
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 02, 2011, 02:56:10 AM
 #10

I did not crossfire them.  From what I gather, crossfire is not good for mining.

I'm running Win7 here with Catalyst 11.5's and SDK 2.4.  I had a bear of a time getting things working right on Win XP so I went with 7.  I've also found that the AMD drivers can get a bit wonky at times.  If you try to do uninstalls/installs, sometimes crap just gets gunked up and I had to format/rebuild.

Make sure you have more than enough power for both cards on your PSU or you could see all sorts of problems, especially if your PSU has more than 1 12 volt rail.  You could be overloading a rail and if one of the cards doesn't get enough power it might not start or it might work half arsed...

We'll I guess I'll see what happens tomorrow when I piece it all together. Hopefully it all works properly without much issue.

If I have been remotely useful feel free to donate:
1DgkA1S64CoVGu1q5JFSz4maRQJYw2dMC8
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!