Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 08:35:03 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 ... 92 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Slimcoin | First Proof of Burn currency | New v0.5.1 binaries  (Read 88165 times)
gjhiggins
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218



View Profile WWW
January 02, 2017, 04:49:45 PM
 #281

Thanks a lot! Deployed it on the linux node and works like a charm. Now I have to figure out where Slimcoin stores its blockchain on a Mac. I suspect ~Library or its neighbors.

Edit: it worked like a charm on Mac too. I have two nodes now, let's see how I can mine/mint some slimcoins now Smiley. Thanks for your support, you've been very helpful!

I'm relieved and glad it worked.

For those following along at home, the default location for datadir on OS X is ~/Library/Application Support/SLIMcoin/. (On recent OSX versions, ~/Library is hidden by default in the Finder, the show/hide checkbox is in “View Options”).

Cheers

Graham
1513499703
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513499703

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513499703
Reply with quote  #2

1513499703
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513499703
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513499703

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513499703
Reply with quote  #2

1513499703
Report to moderator
1513499703
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513499703

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513499703
Reply with quote  #2

1513499703
Report to moderator
gavrilo77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692



View Profile
January 02, 2017, 04:56:10 PM
 #282

Now my Windows client is blocked at 859045

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
| Your Digital Network | 10MB Blocks
| Algo: XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
| BSD - Tether USDT Pair ✔
| Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
| Cryptopia | LOCALCRYPTO | Livecoin
| CoinPayments | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
enerbyte
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 552



View Profile
January 02, 2017, 07:17:04 PM
 #283

Now my Windows client is blocked at 859045
Is strange, I am with the last version without problems in windows 10, close and then open the client maybe it can solve the problem.

XCN: CLz5fzonHjTnTaH3tRYm8bg2c4L627bXYp
BBR: @enerbyte
gavrilo77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692



View Profile
January 02, 2017, 07:26:16 PM
 #284

Now my Windows client is blocked at 859045
Is strange, I am with the last version without problems in windows 10, close and then open the client maybe it can solve the problem.

Tried and the same, and tried to sync again from the files i post it a week ago, and the same, it says syncing, connections are there but  it is not moving from the block i have mentioned. Do you have list of peers?

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
| Your Digital Network | 10MB Blocks
| Algo: XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
| BSD - Tether USDT Pair ✔
| Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
| Cryptopia | LOCALCRYPTO | Livecoin
| CoinPayments | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
cryptovore
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
January 02, 2017, 07:54:56 PM
 #285

On the linux machine I entered slimcoin setgenerate true 8 (it's a maschine with 16 cores). From your experience, how long it takes until I get to mine a block?

Also, in the GUI wallet, there's an option about mining? Is that thing doing anything atm?

Thanks!
ArchitektoR
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122


View Profile
January 02, 2017, 08:56:29 PM
 #286

It should continue syncing after some time. If not try restarting slimcoind, this fixed it for me.

tried... no go Sad
ptrace
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
January 02, 2017, 09:05:17 PM
 #287

On the linux machine I entered slimcoin setgenerate true 8 (it's a maschine with 16 cores). From your experience, how long it takes until I get to mine a block?

Also, in the GUI wallet, there's an option about mining? Is that thing doing anything atm?

Thanks!

Get your hashes per sec with:
slimcoin gethashespersec

Current difficulty is 0.01059393, this is 0.01059393 * 2^32  (~46 mio) hashes on average required to mine a block.

Do you have list of peers?

addnode=144.76.64.49:41682
addnode=89.36.26.82:41682
addnode=212.243.7.37:41682
addnode=173.208.164.234:41682
addnode=5.9.39.9:41682
gjhiggins
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218



View Profile WWW
January 02, 2017, 09:32:15 PM
 #288

On the linux machine I entered slimcoin setgenerate true 8 (it's a maschine with 16 cores). From your experience, how long it takes until I get to mine a block?

I model it as a ratio of my hashrate to the network hashrate ...

You can do the arithmetic yourself by interrogating the daemon, e.g. on my laptop:

Code:
./slimcoind setgenerate true 1
./slimcoind getmininginfo

{
"blocks" : 859396,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"difficulty" : 0.01022192,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : 1,
"hashespersec" : 387,
"networkghps" : 0.00019512,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}

Letting Python handle the expression of my hashespersec as a proportion of total networkghps:
Code:
>>> 0.00019512 * 1000000000 / 387
504.1860465116279

I'm contributing one fivehundredth of the hash rate so on average I can expect somewhere around 1 block in 500. Slimcoin's block target rate is one block every 90 seconds, which is 40 an hour, so say 12 hours if I'm lucky and don't suffer too much latency from being out in the sticks.

I am getting some vicarious satisfaction from the Snow Leopard version, quietly ticking away on a 2012 vintage MacBook known for overheating at the slightest excuse (like being placed on a lap, f'rinstance). I burned 250 SLM out its wallet and just parked it. Doesn't stake much at all but it does (irregularly) get mint-by-burn blocks - last month (Dec) it got five mint-by-burn blocks in total, ranging between 14-17 SLM per block.

Quote
Also, in the GUI wallet, there's an option about mining? Is that thing doing anything atm?

Kind of. It exhibits the same problem as the others of its ilk (e.g. Chaincoin 0.9.2) in that settings don't appear to behave as expected/designed - when it can be persuaded to work it uses all cores+threads. When I get a round tuit, I'll raise an issue in the repos - if it hasn't already been raised.

Ahhh. I found this post in the old thread: the post in which the OP outlines his intention to merge slimcoin with the peercoin codebase - just for context.

My plans for the future: Slimcoin is a Peercoin fork. I tried to merge it with Novacoin before but Novacoin is too different of a project to be merged at this point. There is a project called Peerunity which is the more maintained and newer version of Peercoin. I will try to merge it into Slimcoin. I will obviously test the newly merged client but hopefully this merging will solve any bugs.

Cheers,

Graham
gavrilo77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692



View Profile
January 02, 2017, 09:34:29 PM
 #289

On the linux machine I entered slimcoin setgenerate true 8 (it's a maschine with 16 cores). From your experience, how long it takes until I get to mine a block?

Also, in the GUI wallet, there's an option about mining? Is that thing doing anything atm?

Thanks!

Get your hashes per sec with:
slimcoin gethashespersec

Current difficulty is 0.01059393, this is 0.01059393 * 2^32  (~46 mio) hashes on average required to mine a block.

Do you have list of peers?

addnode=144.76.64.49:41682
addnode=89.36.26.82:41682
addnode=212.243.7.37:41682
addnode=173.208.164.234:41682
addnode=5.9.39.9:41682

Thanks but still not movement of the blocks

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
| Your Digital Network | 10MB Blocks
| Algo: XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
| BSD - Tether USDT Pair ✔
| Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
| Cryptopia | LOCALCRYPTO | Livecoin
| CoinPayments | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
enerbyte
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 552



View Profile
January 02, 2017, 09:36:30 PM
 #290

On the linux machine I entered slimcoin setgenerate true 8 (it's a maschine with 16 cores). From your experience, how long it takes until I get to mine a block?

Also, in the GUI wallet, there's an option about mining? Is that thing doing anything atm?

Thanks!

Get your hashes per sec with:
slimcoin gethashespersec

Current difficulty is 0.01059393, this is 0.01059393 * 2^32  (~46 mio) hashes on average required to mine a block.

Do you have list of peers?

addnode=144.76.64.49:41682
addnode=89.36.26.82:41682
addnode=212.243.7.37:41682
addnode=173.208.164.234:41682
addnode=5.9.39.9:41682

addnode=144.76.64.49
addnode=173.208.164.234
addnode=89.36.26.82
addnode=212.243.7.37
addnode=5.9.39.9

XCN: CLz5fzonHjTnTaH3tRYm8bg2c4L627bXYp
BBR: @enerbyte
enerbyte
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 552



View Profile
January 02, 2017, 09:50:32 PM
 #291


Thanks but still not movement of the blocks
On previous page @gjhiggins shared the updated blockchain

XCN: CLz5fzonHjTnTaH3tRYm8bg2c4L627bXYp
BBR: @enerbyte
gavrilo77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692



View Profile
January 02, 2017, 09:51:56 PM
 #292


Thanks but still not movement of the blocks
On previous page @gjhiggins shared the updated blockchain

It shows me like fatal error when i open the wallet

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
| Your Digital Network | 10MB Blocks
| Algo: XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
| BSD - Tether USDT Pair ✔
| Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
| Cryptopia | LOCALCRYPTO | Livecoin
| CoinPayments | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
enerbyte
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 552



View Profile
January 02, 2017, 09:54:39 PM
 #293


Thanks but still not movement of the blocks
On previous page @gjhiggins shared the updated blockchain

It shows me like fatal error when i open the wallet
I'm going to upload a copy, but it will take about an hour, my connection is not very fast

XCN: CLz5fzonHjTnTaH3tRYm8bg2c4L627bXYp
BBR: @enerbyte
gavrilo77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692



View Profile
January 02, 2017, 09:56:45 PM
 #294


Thanks but still not movement of the blocks
On previous page @gjhiggins shared the updated blockchain

It shows me like fatal error when i open the wallet
I'm going to upload a copy, but it will take about an hour, my connection is not very fast

I would appreciate!!! Till this morning everything was OK, suddenly stopped 

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
| Your Digital Network | 10MB Blocks
| Algo: XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
| BSD - Tether USDT Pair ✔
| Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
| Cryptopia | LOCALCRYPTO | Livecoin
| CoinPayments | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
enerbyte
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 552



View Profile
January 02, 2017, 11:06:06 PM
 #295


Thanks but still not movement of the blocks
On previous page @gjhiggins shared the updated blockchain

It shows me like fatal error when i open the wallet
I'm going to upload a copy, but it will take about an hour, my connection is not very fast

I would appreciate!!! Till this morning everything was OK, suddenly stopped 

here I leave a copy of the blockchain, I hope this helps.

Quote
https://mega.nz/#!FxcUHbgZ!CB4UsSPwRPsJgTwvoMq5DRgcsexfgBRgNjZ5cWATKpw

XCN: CLz5fzonHjTnTaH3tRYm8bg2c4L627bXYp
BBR: @enerbyte
gavrilo77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 692



View Profile
January 02, 2017, 11:11:17 PM
 #296


Thanks but still not movement of the blocks
On previous page @gjhiggins shared the updated blockchain

It shows me like fatal error when i open the wallet
I'm going to upload a copy, but it will take about an hour, my connection is not very fast

I would appreciate!!! Till this morning everything was OK, suddenly stopped  

here I leave a copy of the blockchain, I hope this helps.

Quote
https://mega.nz/#!FxcUHbgZ!CB4UsSPwRPsJgTwvoMq5DRgcsexfgBRgNjZ5cWATKpw

I will try now

Edit: It works well now. Thank you very much!!!

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
| Your Digital Network | 10MB Blocks
| Algo: XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
| BSD - Tether USDT Pair ✔
| Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
| Cryptopia | LOCALCRYPTO | Livecoin
| CoinPayments | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
enerbyte
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 552



View Profile
January 02, 2017, 11:44:24 PM
 #297


Thanks but still not movement of the blocks
On previous page @gjhiggins shared the updated blockchain

It shows me like fatal error when i open the wallet
I'm going to upload a copy, but it will take about an hour, my connection is not very fast

I would appreciate!!! Till this morning everything was OK, suddenly stopped  

here I leave a copy of the blockchain, I hope this helps.

Quote
https://mega.nz/#!FxcUHbgZ!CB4UsSPwRPsJgTwvoMq5DRgcsexfgBRgNjZ5cWATKpw

I will try now

Edit: It works well now. Thank you very much!!!

you're welcome!

XCN: CLz5fzonHjTnTaH3tRYm8bg2c4L627bXYp
BBR: @enerbyte
gjhiggins
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218



View Profile WWW
January 03, 2017, 02:57:15 AM
 #298

Well, gave it a try again, and after 38 minutes, no luck... It's most likely something on my part.
Nothing on your part. It's a bad build.

Ach. The app in that dmg was incorrectly linked to the BSD 4.8 lib instead of the 6.1 lib - which is why it couldn't open the addr.dat files created with BSD 6.1.

Download fixed.

Install, execute & synch all checked on OSX Sierra.

Cheers

Graham
cryptovore
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
January 03, 2017, 07:27:06 AM
 #299

Quote
On the linux machine I entered slimcoin setgenerate true 8 (it's a maschine with 16 cores). From your experience, how long it takes until I get to mine a block?

Also, in the GUI wallet, there's an option about mining? Is that thing doing anything atm?

Thanks!

Get your hashes per sec with:
slimcoin gethashespersec

Current difficulty is 0.01059393, this is 0.01059393 * 2^32  (~46 mio) hashes on average required to mine a block.

gethashespersec returns zero. Auch. I suspect there's something I should do in the slimcoind.conf, but other than rpcuser and password I have nothing in it atm.

For some reason, it worked, here's what I have in getmininginfo on the linux machine

{
    "blocks" : 859892,
    "currentblocksize" : 1000,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "difficulty" : 0.01151753,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : 8,
    "hashespersec" : 1093,
    "networkghps" : 0.00033882,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "testnet" : false
}

According to the calculations above, I should get a block every 6 hours, at worst. I'll keep you posted.

On the Mac machine I had no luck, although I let it run for the whole night. Mining is shaky so I stopped it.

Is there any way to "tell it" setegenerate true 4 or whatever on the Mac?
ptrace
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
January 03, 2017, 11:38:17 AM
 #300

For some reason, it worked, here's what I have in getmininginfo on the linux machine

{
    "blocks" : 859892,
    "currentblocksize" : 1000,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "difficulty" : 0.01151753,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : 8,
    "hashespersec" : 1093,
    "networkghps" : 0.00033882,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "testnet" : false
}

According to the calculations above, I should get a block every 6 hours, at worst. I'll keep you posted.

1k hashes per second is quite low for 8 cores. What CPU is this?



Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 ... 92 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!