Bitcoin Forum
September 20, 2019, 09:40:18 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PCI-e replacement cables for modular EVGA PSU series?  (Read 2250 times)
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1063



View Profile
August 04, 2015, 03:15:44 PM
 #1

So over time of dealing with shitty pci-e connector from Zeus Thunder x3/GAW Rebrand, i've burnt quite a few psu to 6pin/6+8 pcie cables, the psu themselves were not damaged, even tho a single pin was melted overall on one of my PSU.

I've now changed the wires and PSU type completely in the ASICs, but now i'm left with PSUs lacking proper PCIE cables. EVGA sell sets at 6$/cable which i find a bit too pricy.

TLDR;
Is there a good source of quality modular psu to pci-e 6pin cable at a affordable rate? EVGA sell at 6$/per and i find it a bit too pricy to my taste.

More specially i'd be interested in;
-PCI-e (VGA) evga/quality equivalent PSU to PCI-E 2x6pin or 1x6pin+1x6+2pin cables (ending with 2 pcie connectors)
-Perif (Perif) evga/quality equivalent PSU to PCI-E 6pin cables
-Perif (Sata) evga/quality equivalent PSU to PCI-E 6pin cables

I'm interested in comparing the availability of these versus buying the materials/tools to make them myself. I would be grateful for any input/suggestion on the matter. Smiley
1569015618
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1569015618

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1569015618
Reply with quote  #2

1569015618
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1569015618
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1569015618

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1569015618
Reply with quote  #2

1569015618
Report to moderator
1569015618
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1569015618

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1569015618
Reply with quote  #2

1569015618
Report to moderator
1569015618
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1569015618

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1569015618
Reply with quote  #2

1569015618
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1891



View Profile
August 04, 2015, 03:22:17 PM
 #2

cablez sells quality made to order on this site.  not sure if he will be low enough for your tastes.

he uses 16 gauge wire.


I would like to see the evga link at 6$ a cable as I have a lot of evga psu's


this is a link for full sets

http://www.evga.com/Products/ProductList.aspx?type=10&family=Power+Supplies&chipset=+Power+Supply+Cable+Set+(Individually+Sleeved)

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1063



View Profile
August 04, 2015, 03:30:27 PM
Last edit: August 04, 2015, 03:41:43 PM by VirosaGITS
 #3

cablez sells quality made to order on this site.  not sure if he will be low enough for your tastes.

he uses 16 gauge wire.


I would like to see the evga link at 6$ a cable as I have a lot of evga psu's


this is a link for full sets

http://www.evga.com/Products/ProductList.aspx?type=10&family=Power+Supplies&chipset=+Power+Supply+Cable+Set+(Individually+Sleeved)
Thanks for dropping Cablez's name.

Yep, that is the set i calculated the 6$/cable from, which i find fairly pricy since that's 3-4 time the cost of the materials. There's also the issue where there's some cables i don't need.

These switches are pretty sexy. https://i.imgur.com/HmYgX.jpg

Unless i missed his more current method of selling his products (i checked the link in his sig); I see Cablez's thread has been dead for 5~ months. If i don't find a better alternative i think i will ask him for a quote, i am however wondering if it would be worth the shipping to Canada.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1891



View Profile
August 04, 2015, 06:41:31 PM
 #4

cablez sells quality made to order on this site.  not sure if he will be low enough for your tastes.

he uses 16 gauge wire.


I would like to see the evga link at 6$ a cable as I have a lot of evga psu's


this is a link for full sets

http://www.evga.com/Products/ProductList.aspx?type=10&family=Power+Supplies&chipset=+Power+Supply+Cable+Set+(Individually+Sleeved)
Thanks for dropping Cablez's name.

Yep, that is the set i calculated the 6$/cable from, which i find fairly pricy since that's 3-4 time the cost of the materials. There's also the issue where there's some cables i don't need.

These switches are pretty sexy. https://i.imgur.com/HmYgX.jpg

Unless i missed his more current method of selling his products (i checked the link in his sig); I see Cablez's thread has been dead for 5~ months. If i don't find a better alternative i think i will ask him for a quote, i am however wondering if it would be worth the shipping to Canada.

he made me 4 seasonic cables

I have been using them since July 2014 24/7/365

I run 2 s-3's at freq 206 about 420gh 2 cables for each s-3 and a 1000 watt platinum seasonic. can't complain 13 months with about 1 day of down time due to internet/power outages.


I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1082
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 04, 2015, 09:08:31 PM
 #5

I used Shakmods for cables on my KNC gear, designed specifically for certain PSU's the EVGA being amongst them, an example...

http://www.shakmods.com/shop&&#!/~/product/category=3316088&id=37642162

toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 04, 2015, 10:38:46 PM
Last edit: August 04, 2015, 10:57:54 PM by toptek
 #6

So over time of dealing with shitty pci-e connector from Zeus Thunder x3/GAW Rebrand, i've burnt quite a few psu to 6pin/6+8 pcie cables, the psu themselves were not damaged, even tho a single pin was melted overall on one of my PSU.

I've now changed the wires and PSU type completely in the ASICs, but now i'm left with PSUs lacking proper PCIE cables. EVGA sell sets at 6$/cable which i find a bit too pricy.

TLDR;
Is there a good source of quality modular psu to pci-e 6pin cable at a affordable rate? EVGA sell at 6$/per and i find it a bit too pricy to my taste.

More specially i'd be interested in;
-PCI-e (VGA) evga/quality equivalent PSU to PCI-E 2x6pin or 1x6pin+1x6+2pin cables (ending with 2 pcie connectors)
-Perif (Perif) evga/quality equivalent PSU to PCI-E 6pin cables
-Perif (Sata) evga/quality equivalent PSU to PCI-E 6pin cables

I'm interested in comparing the availability of these versus buying the materials/tools to make them myself. I would be grateful for any input/suggestion on the matter. Smiley

Those cable are real bad i made my own for all zeus miner no hot wires now . no worry of fires etc ..  


check out this guy, hes on the forums, doesn't  like me but i still recommend his cables and they should work with those Evga Psu , they do mine but make sure don't take my word i would make sure , i bought a few to try once i was very impressed with how  well they were made etc .


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461.0  but the shipping might kill it for you but those cables are nice.


hes right here in the forums Smiley .

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 04, 2015, 10:51:00 PM
 #7

cablez sells quality made to order on this site.  not sure if he will be low enough for your tastes.

he uses 16 gauge wire.


I would like to see the evga link at 6$ a cable as I have a lot of evga psu's


this is a link for full sets

http://www.evga.com/Products/ProductList.aspx?type=10&family=Power+Supplies&chipset=+Power+Supply+Cable+Set+(Individually+Sleeved)
Thanks for dropping Cablez's name.

Yep, that is the set i calculated the 6$/cable from, which i find fairly pricy since that's 3-4 time the cost of the materials. There's also the issue where there's some cables i don't need.

These switches are pretty sexy. https://i.imgur.com/HmYgX.jpg

Unless i missed his more current method of selling his products (i checked the link in his sig); I see Cablez's thread has been dead for 5~ months. If i don't find a better alternative i think i will ask him for a quote, i am however wondering if it would be worth the shipping to Canada.

he made me 4 seasonic cables

I have been using them since July 2014 24/7/365

I run 2 s-3's at freq 206 about 420gh 2 cables for each s-3 and a 1000 watt platinum seasonic. can't complain 13 months with about 1 day of down time due to internet/power outages.




tip there is a seller on ebay that sells nothing but seasonic cables 5 bucks each not custom made of really good quality, no idea were he gets them and seems to have a end less supply . when i bought some ss psu a while back they didn't come with enough PCI cabels so i went looking . haven't bought any off him for a while but what i got was very good .

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1891



View Profile
August 05, 2015, 02:29:04 AM
 #8

cablez sells quality made to order on this site.  not sure if he will be low enough for your tastes.

he uses 16 gauge wire.


I would like to see the evga link at 6$ a cable as I have a lot of evga psu's


this is a link for full sets

http://www.evga.com/Products/ProductList.aspx?type=10&family=Power+Supplies&chipset=+Power+Supply+Cable+Set+(Individually+Sleeved)
Thanks for dropping Cablez's name.

Yep, that is the set i calculated the 6$/cable from, which i find fairly pricy since that's 3-4 time the cost of the materials. There's also the issue where there's some cables i don't need.

These switches are pretty sexy. https://i.imgur.com/HmYgX.jpg

Unless i missed his more current method of selling his products (i checked the link in his sig); I see Cablez's thread has been dead for 5~ months. If i don't find a better alternative i think i will ask him for a quote, i am however wondering if it would be worth the shipping to Canada.

he made me 4 seasonic cables

I have been using them since July 2014 24/7/365

I run 2 s-3's at freq 206 about 420gh 2 cables for each s-3 and a 1000 watt platinum seasonic. can't complain 13 months with about 1 day of down time due to internet/power outages.




tip there is a seller on ebay that sells nothing but seasonic cables 5 bucks each not custom made of really good quality, no idea were he gets them and seems to have a end less supply . when i bought some ss psu a while back they didn't come with enough PCI cabels so i went looking . haven't bought any off him for a while but what i got was very good .

Yeah I got some from him he also sometimes sell psu's.

I tried Cablez since they were supposed to be good quality and they were very good.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1063



View Profile
August 05, 2015, 05:03:19 PM
 #9

@philipma1957
Might i ask how much you ended up paying for those 4 cables?

@Tigggger
Those are pretty expensive, they are most costly than retail from EVGA, but it gives me an idea of price comparison anyways, thanks! Smiley

@toptek
That might actually be workable. I live in Canada, and so does he, so the shipping rate are actually optimal. I will have to ask him if he can make exactly what i need but it might come down to either i buy them from him or i make them myself.

--

I like the split cables, since it put less heat into one connector. I'll have to work out the math but forking over 40$ is quite possibly worth saving the hassle.
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 1148



View Profile
August 05, 2015, 07:01:38 PM
 #10

How do you install these onto the cables though? I assumed you need a special crimp tool like they use for ethernet networking jobs

████████████████████████████
████████▀▀ █▀ █▀ ▀██████████
█████████▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄███████████
██████████▀     ▀  ▀████████
███████▀ ▀  ▄█▀▀▀█▀▀████████
██████▄      █▄  ▀▀  ▀██████
██████         ▄▄█▄ ▄ ▀█████
█████ ▄         ▀▀ ▄ ▀ █████
██████▌          █▀█▀ ▐█████
███████  ▄▌         ▄ ██████
████████▄█         ▄████████
█████████▀     ▄▄ ▄█████████
████████████████████████████
.JACKMATE'S...........
.
MAJESTIC..
████████████████████████
███████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
.
..WIN 1 BITCOIN ON EVERY PREMIER LEAGUE MATCHDAY..
████████████████████████████████
████████████▀█▀ ▀█▀█▀███████████
███████████▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████████
█████████▀▄ ██▀▄▄▄ ▀ ▄▀█████████
███████▀ ▀█████▄▄▄█▄▄▄██████████
███████▀▄████████▀  ▀█ █▐███████
███████ ▀█████████▄█▀▀██ ███████
████████ ███▀██████ ▄ ██ ███████
████████▌▐▀▄ ██████████ ▄███████
█████████▄██▌▐█████▀██ █████████
████████████▄▀▀▀▀▀▄ ▀▄██████████
████████████████████████████████
.
.JOIN US - IT'S FREE! .
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1891



View Profile
August 05, 2015, 07:12:03 PM
 #11

@philipma1957
Might i ask how much you ended up paying for those 4 cables?

@Tigggger
Those are pretty expensive, they are most costly than retail from EVGA, but it gives me an idea of price comparison anyways, thanks! Smiley

@toptek
That might actually be workable. I live in Canada, and so does he, so the shipping rate are actually optimal. I will have to ask him if he can make exactly what i need but it might come down to either i buy them from him or i make them myself.

--

I like the split cables, since it put less heat into one connector. I'll have to work out the math but forking over 40$ is quite possibly worth saving the hassle.

Maybe 40 counting shipping. I will review my pm with him. Take me a while to find it.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1063



View Profile
August 05, 2015, 08:55:17 PM
 #12

How do you install these onto the cables though? I assumed you need a special crimp tool like they use for ethernet networking jobs

It's easy, i don't know how special of a tool you need, the one i ordered from ebay seem to do them and Insulated terminals. At least there is a picture of all the terminal it can allegedly crimp and this is one of them. The thing look like this;

Thats the female one.
Then you just slide them in the socket and it hold there on its own. To remove them you usually use a small tool that push the hook so you can pull them out, i believe.
@philipma1957
Might i ask how much you ended up paying for those 4 cables?

@Tigggger
Those are pretty expensive, they are most costly than retail from EVGA, but it gives me an idea of price comparison anyways, thanks! Smiley

@toptek
That might actually be workable. I live in Canada, and so does he, so the shipping rate are actually optimal. I will have to ask him if he can make exactly what i need but it might come down to either i buy them from him or i make them myself.

--

I like the split cables, since it put less heat into one connector. I'll have to work out the math but forking over 40$ is quite possibly worth saving the hassle.

Maybe 40 counting shipping. I will review my pm with him. Take me a while to find it.

xD Don't worry about it if its a hassle to go through. If it is more than 2-3$ per cable it is likely to be too much regardless.
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1001



View Profile
August 05, 2015, 10:13:34 PM
Last edit: August 05, 2015, 10:24:36 PM by Unacceptable
 #13

This is similar to the tool I use:

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/3701/slt-16/FrozenCPU_Molex_Crimping_Tool.html?tl=g51c469

Tool list:

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/3701/slt-16/FrozenCPU_Molex_Crimping_Tool.html?tl=g51c469

Connector list:

http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l1/g51/Connectors.html

PCIE (female) connectors:

http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g51/c385/s1057/list/p1/Connectors-6_Pin_Connectors-6-Pin_VGA_Female_V2-Page1.html

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/1789/ele-132/FrozenCPU_ConnectRight_ATX_PCI_EPS_Connector_Pins_-_Female_-_4_Pack.html

Be sure to add the pins,they are not auto included with the connector..........4 per pack,so order accordingly (need 6 pins per connector)  Roll Eyes

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1063



View Profile
August 06, 2015, 12:40:39 AM
 #14

I bought these http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Insulated-Terminals-Ratchet-Crimping-Plier-AWG-22-10-0-5-6-0mm-HS-30J-/111411896671?hash=item19f0aaa15f they look very similar so i hope they will work for this. I bought these one because initially i only needed them for crimping insulated terminals.

Those are great link, i wonder if i could find a supplier in Canada. Doing this sound like fun, but it look like the materials cost for certain cable would be the same cost as buying them made. I'll keep an eye out! Smiley

pinhead666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 265
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 06, 2015, 01:19:55 AM
 #15

I bought these http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Insulated-Terminals-Ratchet-Crimping-Plier-AWG-22-10-0-5-6-0mm-HS-30J-/111411896671?hash=item19f0aaa15f they look very similar so i hope they will work for this. I bought these one because initially i only needed them for crimping insulated terminals.

Those are great link, i wonder if i could find a supplier in Canada. Doing this sound like fun, but it look like the materials cost for certain cable would be the same cost as buying them made. I'll keep an eye out! Smiley



I have crimping tool which looks just like that.I just paid a lot more of it.But it has been very useful, I've crimped tens or maybe hundreds cables wit it.Not only for miners but other electronic hobby projects.It's cool to have very professional look like cabling  Smiley.
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1063



View Profile
August 06, 2015, 02:40:00 AM
 #16

I bought these http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Insulated-Terminals-Ratchet-Crimping-Plier-AWG-22-10-0-5-6-0mm-HS-30J-/111411896671?hash=item19f0aaa15f they look very similar so i hope they will work for this. I bought these one because initially i only needed them for crimping insulated terminals.

Those are great link, i wonder if i could find a supplier in Canada. Doing this sound like fun, but it look like the materials cost for certain cable would be the same cost as buying them made. I'll keep an eye out! Smiley



I have crimping tool which looks just like that.I just paid a lot more of it.But it has been very useful, I've crimped tens or maybe hundreds cables wit it.Not only for miners but other electronic hobby projects.It's cool to have very professional look like cabling  Smiley.

Ah well i'm glad you say so. Usually that thing on other websites, amazon and most listings, it goes for 30USD so i was happy to find it for 13USD~
In a pinch before i used regular pliers and a hammer and err. Even tho it "works" i wouldn't trust those ending for long xD
pinhead666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 265
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 06, 2015, 02:58:53 AM
 #17

I also tried with few different pliers but it didn't work.I never dared to connect those.When I first time used that crimping tool I used maybe an hour to make just one 6-pin pci-e connector.Now it goes in a moment.Or maybe those 4 six-packs of beer which I had drunk had something to do with it...
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1063



View Profile
August 06, 2015, 03:16:59 AM
 #18

I also tried with few different pliers but it didn't work.I never dared to connect those.When I first time used that crimping tool I used maybe an hour to make just one 6-pin pci-e connector.Now it goes in a moment.Or maybe those 4 six-packs of beer which I had drunk had something to do with it...

Haha, the cables i made were much simpler than pci-e, they were single cable ring terminal for the thunder x3. I replaced all the confusing cables by a single 14AWG stranded cable.

Its good cable but horrible crimp. I was able to pull fairly strong without the crimp budging so i think they will do until i get rid of the ASIC or replace the terminals.
First crimp ever;


I then covered the +12v with red tape but yeah. xD
Gren
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 06, 2015, 06:06:01 PM
 #19

I have had the same connector melting problem with my zeusminer Thunder x3's But only when i overclock.

Right now i'm using with 8awg car audio amplifier wiring going from the boards to a pair of car battery terminals that i have all the power supply outputs dumped to.
Its not pretty, but its cheap and it works.

The EVGA 1300 PSU is kindof a tight fit in a zeusminer, wires get pretty close to the fan. they grazed the fan on a few occasions I had to zip tie em away and I'm still not comfortable with it, i switched the direction of the fans so i wouldn't worry about the fans sucking the wires into them. Did you have any problems with that?

If you dont mind my asking,

How did you get that cointerrra power supply to fit so nicely? Can you post more pics of that? Does it overclock well? whats the ceiling on clock speed with that PSU
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 1063



View Profile
August 06, 2015, 06:22:18 PM
 #20

I have had the same connector melting problem with my zeusminer Thunder x3's But only when i overclock.

Right now i'm using with 8awg car audio amplifier wiring going from the boards to a pair of car battery terminals that i have all the power supply outputs dumped to.
Its not pretty, but its cheap and it works.

The EVGA 1300 PSU is kindof a tight fit in a zeusminer, wires get pretty close to the fan. they grazed the fan on a few occasions I had to zip tie em away and I'm still not comfortable with it, i switched the direction of the fans so i wouldn't worry about the fans sucking the wires into them. Did you have any problems with that?

If you dont mind my asking,

How did you get that cointerrra power supply to fit so nicely? Can you post more pics of that? Does it overclock well? whats the ceiling on clock speed with that PSU

Ugly, cheap and effective is good in my book. Go Pragmatism.

For fitting the PSU, that's really easy. I didn't fit it in xD. The psu is resting next to the Zeus, so that void any stuffing and cramming issues one might have. The stock cables from EVGA are very much quite long, and so i have a lot of range to where i can put the psu. On top, sides, behind, etc. Prior to changing the cable, i had terminal melting at "stock speed" 328mhz after about 1 year of use.

The server PSU are rated 1100 so i could push them if i wanted, but the fan produce a high pitch noise and is unbearable when the load is too high. At the moment i found the lowest freq that doesnt generate HW, i litterally went from non stop HW at 275mhz to 276mhz which i get 0 HW (well, beyond the regular 6-7%~ rareish HW that you get overall). I lose 4mh over it and it think its a good sacrifice. The PSU go down to 820watt usage with 94% eff~. At which there is a high pitch noise but the dB is low enough that my ear stops bleeding.

And it doesnt really fit in in lenght, but for thermal dissipation i still slided in it in the middle, there's some holes in the bottom of the asic, i ran some long tie wrap to hold it in position, put some foam underneath it to point the exhaust at the middle fan, so the heat it generates is expelled outside directly. Added some tape because nothing is complete without ducttape. That way it doesnt budge as much.

And thats it...

Eventually i'm going to sell and get rid of all of this, because i am going to evolve my mini farm into something mostly quiet. I might keep the PSU, as if they are run under optimal load (or anything under 700watt) i can't really hear them. We'll see as the Thunder X3 obviously blow over the noise of everything else.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!