Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2018, 03:14:48 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer R1  (Read 9172 times)
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 29, 2015, 06:06:03 PM
 #81

After electrical costs, I'm betting a Linksys N300 Wi-Fi Wireless Router would be a more practical purchase.

This really is not a entire router like the N300.  I would say this is more in the area of tplink nanos.   Basically a traveling router.

I'm a little disappointed in the on board chip.  Just wish it was clocked higher.   Also wish we could see some screens from this thing I wonder if there is anything that ties in with antpool, or hashnest.  I would enjoy having stats being pulled up by it.
That and it is a 2 amp phone/tablet charger that is nice, this would be really great for a pi controller. Power the pi and give network connectivity all in one device.

Better yet is not having to use a PI.  The list this feature:

Bitcoin Mining Host

The R1 can also be used as a controller to manage and run several AntMiner U3s. Connecting your U3 to the AntRouter R1 via a USB hub eliminates the need to keep the U3 plugged into your computer.

I'm hoping that it will be able to do side hacks compacs aswell.
Yes that works great with the Bitmain side of miners but for the others I doubt Bitmain will have this working with competitors.

The main one I think of using currently is the compac.  And it appears to be a U3 in it's software I believe.   

So it is possible one of GekkoScience's compac's will work.  We will not know till after release.
1539875688
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539875688

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539875688
Reply with quote  #2

1539875688
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Laviathon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 445
Merit: 250


BCMonster.com, BTC, ZEN, HUSH, BCA, and KMD


View Profile WWW
October 06, 2015, 07:46:39 PM
 #82

Im pretty sure if they clocked it higher that would be bad end result with no fan.  It says operating temp is 40 in a 25 degree environment.

www.BCMonster.com BTC, KMD, Horizen, HUSH - [PPLNS / pays TX]  /  Easy Live Dashboard    / Looking for Miners!
RichBC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 06, 2015, 08:10:51 PM
 #83

Im pretty sure if they clocked it higher that would be bad end result with no fan.  It says operating temp is 40 in a 25 degree environment.

It's clocked at 100MHz so the chip will be taking about 1.5W. Could probably push it to 200MHz which would be 3W so long as the DC converter chip can take it, perhaps a heatsink on the chips? Lots of fun to be had.  Smiley

Rich

→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Hard-Disk Mineable Cryptocurrency !! B U R S T C O I N 💰 Cheap Price & Easy to Invest - CHECK IT OUT NOW! !! →→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Asset exchange, Automatic transactions, Escrow system & More !!
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 06, 2015, 08:42:12 PM
 #84

Im pretty sure if they clocked it higher that would be bad end result with no fan.  It says operating temp is 40 in a 25 degree environment.

I'm not sure on that.  Look at what sidehack was able to do with a chip.  I mean it's able to do 8GH easily with no issues. 

But I guess it depends on design.  We really don't know what kind of heatsink they have on chip.  If they did a small really cheap one it could take moding to safely go higher.
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
October 06, 2015, 09:44:15 PM
 #85

I'm not sure on that.  Look at what sidehack was able to do with a chip.  I mean it's able to do 8GH easily with no issues. 
While the Compac will run passive at 8Gh/s, I wouldn't really recommend it - never mind if putting it into an enclosed space with limited surface area for cooling (which the R1 largely appears to be, ventilation holes notwithstanding).

notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 06, 2015, 11:50:59 PM
 #86

I'm not sure on that.  Look at what sidehack was able to do with a chip.  I mean it's able to do 8GH easily with no issues. 
While the Compac will run passive at 8Gh/s, I wouldn't really recommend it - never mind if putting it into an enclosed space with limited surface area for cooling (which the R1 largely appears to be, ventilation holes notwithstanding).

Mine was outside I give you that.   I did add PC fan's to the area and have OC'ed them after to 15 gh.  If they have clocked at around 5 there it likely will never get hot.

I would rather have a fan on R1 with a little more power.  But guess for a router their design is much more common.  I do look forward to mods on it
spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 08, 2015, 02:04:51 PM
 #87

I wish I could order 1 U3 instead of 20 alonght with an R1.. Sad..  I'll pay for shipping.

Still think they should make a U4 with the new chips.. I need another small miner.  S7 is just too much for me for hobby mining.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 08, 2015, 02:33:31 PM
 #88

I wish I could order 1 U3 instead of 20 alonght with an R1.. Sad..  I'll pay for shipping.

Still think they should make a U4 with the new chips.. I need another small miner.  S7 is just too much for me for hobby mining.

Look over in group buy's.  There are sellers such as crazy guy.  He sells them 1 at a time.

He is a very good seller.  There might be others but there are many ways to get 1 instead of that 20 order quantity.
spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 08, 2015, 02:48:58 PM
 #89

I wish I could order 1 U3 instead of 20 alonght with an R1.. Sad..  I'll pay for shipping.

Still think they should make a U4 with the new chips.. I need another small miner.  S7 is just too much for me for hobby mining.

Look over in group buy's.  There are sellers such as crazy guy.  He sells them 1 at a time.

He is a very good seller.  There might be others but there are many ways to get 1 instead of that 20 order quantity.

I like to buy from Bitmain directly but no biggie.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 08, 2015, 04:08:44 PM
 #90

I wish I could order 1 U3 instead of 20 alonght with an R1.. Sad..  I'll pay for shipping.

Still think they should make a U4 with the new chips.. I need another small miner.  S7 is just too much for me for hobby mining.

Look over in group buy's.  There are sellers such as crazy guy.  He sells them 1 at a time.

He is a very good seller.  There might be others but there are many ways to get 1 instead of that 20 order quantity.

I like to buy from Bitmain directly but no biggie.

I do to buy with MOQ 20 that is a lot of U3's to take on at once.   Honestly check out Crazy Guy's site or PM him - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=25223

I planned on getting 1, liked it so much ordered 2 more from him.  Hes top notch seller (and no I don't get paid for this endorsement Smiley ).  I just know he will treat you right though.
spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 08, 2015, 04:32:31 PM
 #91

I wish I could order 1 U3 instead of 20 alonght with an R1.. Sad..  I'll pay for shipping.

Still think they should make a U4 with the new chips.. I need another small miner.  S7 is just too much for me for hobby mining.

Look over in group buy's.  There are sellers such as crazy guy.  He sells them 1 at a time.

He is a very good seller.  There might be others but there are many ways to get 1 instead of that 20 order quantity.

I like to buy from Bitmain directly but no biggie.

I do to buy with MOQ 20 that is a lot of U3's to take on at once.   Honestly check out Crazy Guy's site or PM him - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=25223

I planned on getting 1, liked it so much ordered 2 more from him.  Hes top notch seller (and no I don't get paid for this endorsement Smiley ).  I just know he will treat you right though.

Sweet thanks for the reference.
Mikestang
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 08, 2015, 07:29:22 PM
 #92

I'm not sure on that.  Look at what sidehack was able to do with a chip.  I mean it's able to do 8GH easily with no issues. 
While the Compac will run passive at 8Gh/s, I wouldn't really recommend it - never mind if putting it into an enclosed space with limited surface area for cooling (which the R1 largely appears to be, ventilation holes notwithstanding).
I was surprised how hot the heat sink got when running a compac at only 125 freq, I put a fan on the one I have at that frequency right away after I touched it.

Still think they should make a U4 with the new chips.. I need another small miner.
Given the track record with the U3, I would say thanks but no thanks to a U4.  Instead, wait for gekko science to make their pod (link).  It will be what you are hoping for from a "U4", except the gekko version will work and you'll be supporting "the good guys" instead of a major international corporation.
spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 08, 2015, 08:20:11 PM
 #93

I'm not sure on that.  Look at what sidehack was able to do with a chip.  I mean it's able to do 8GH easily with no issues. 
While the Compac will run passive at 8Gh/s, I wouldn't really recommend it - never mind if putting it into an enclosed space with limited surface area for cooling (which the R1 largely appears to be, ventilation holes notwithstanding).
I was surprised how hot the heat sink got when running a compac at only 125 freq, I put a fan on the one I have at that frequency right away after I touched it.

Still think they should make a U4 with the new chips.. I need another small miner.
Given the track record with the U3, I would say thanks but no thanks to a U4.  Instead, wait for gekko science to make their pod (link).  It will be what you are hoping for from a "U4", except the gekko version will work and you'll be supporting "the good guys" instead of a major international corporation.

I just bought their USb miner.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 08, 2015, 09:41:37 PM
 #94

I'm not sure on that.  Look at what sidehack was able to do with a chip.  I mean it's able to do 8GH easily with no issues. 
While the Compac will run passive at 8Gh/s, I wouldn't really recommend it - never mind if putting it into an enclosed space with limited surface area for cooling (which the R1 largely appears to be, ventilation holes notwithstanding).
I was surprised how hot the heat sink got when running a compac at only 125 freq, I put a fan on the one I have at that frequency right away after I touched it.

You might try to turn down voltage and see if it makes a difference. What speed are you getting at 125? 

I have 2 at 150 and it ran fine with no fan.  Now the ones I have cranked up to 250 I had to add fans.   They really did get hot, but well within spec.
GODLIKE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500

LOL what you looking at?


View Profile
December 18, 2016, 04:58:47 PM
 #95

One thing I can't understand of this device.
Does it add computing power to the Antpool mining pool or does it make the "lottery" in solo mode?
Not that I would buy it to win the lottery, but I would like to help decentralize a bit.
So by using this, would I be helping decentralization or would it still ad computing power to the Antpool mining node?

BITCOIN FOREVER news aggregator: only the most important news on the cryptoworld!
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1004



View Profile
December 24, 2016, 05:12:58 PM
 #96

One thing I can't understand of this device.
Does it add computing power to the Antpool mining pool or does it make the "lottery" in solo mode?
Not that I would buy it to win the lottery, but I would like to help decentralize a bit.
So by using this, would I be helping decentralization or would it still ad computing power to the Antpool mining node?

If you use CrazyGuy's custom firmware you can use the R1 as a normal miner.  If you pm him I'm sure he will give it to you.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=25223

GODLIKE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500

LOL what you looking at?


View Profile
December 25, 2016, 11:07:13 AM
 #97

One thing I can't understand of this device.
Does it add computing power to the Antpool mining pool or does it make the "lottery" in solo mode?
Not that I would buy it to win the lottery, but I would like to help decentralize a bit.
So by using this, would I be helping decentralization or would it still ad computing power to the Antpool mining node?

If you use CrazyGuy's custom firmware you can use the R1 as a normal miner.  If you pm him I'm sure he will give it to you.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=25223

Thank you for the info, dude Smiley

BITCOIN FOREVER news aggregator: only the most important news on the cryptoworld!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!