Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:23:41 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CPU bottleneck? (Q6600 Quad @ 2,8GHZ / ATI 5970 @ 925 MHZ)  (Read 1934 times)
callmeivan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 10:28:51 AM
 #1

Hi,

i believe my CPU may be a bottleneck in my configuration. I get around 2x380 MH/s, CPU usage shows exactly 50% so i guess both GPU Cores use one full CPU core without taking advantage of the other two remaining ones.

Is there a flag to enable multi threading on all cpu cores so i can leverage all of my GPU power or am i interpreting things wrong?

Thanks Smiley
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481185421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185421
Reply with quote  #2

1481185421
Report to moderator
1481185421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185421
Reply with quote  #2

1481185421
Report to moderator
1481185421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185421
Reply with quote  #2

1481185421
Report to moderator
padrino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
June 03, 2011, 10:32:41 AM
 #2

I tink you are dealing with a bug with some combinations of ATI drivers and miners (poclbm?). If using the GPU the CPU should be almost 0% but I've seen the same setup with mine when I OC, does not impact the has rate unless I pound my CPUs with something else, I also CPU mind but supply virtual cores - 4 to give my miners room.

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
callmeivan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 10:38:39 AM
 #3

Yeah i use poclbm,

thank you padrino - was kinda confused why it would consume so much power in comparison to my osx machine but i thought my 5970 ist just so much more powerful than my 4870 in the osx machine Cheesy, i am gonna try different driver versions.
Genrobo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 12:52:35 PM
 #4

People use Sempron 140's in 4 card mining rigs.
I doubt it's bottlenecking you.

17YwW6cuSbXLT8cvvdAcfy1iHyPkhVE7CG
Donations welcome, not required.
I'll be honest, any donations aren't used for a good cause, they go directly to booze, food, herbal substances Wink, and computer hardware.
I will squander the money, but hell, at least you know one person is having a good time.
Wepp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:56:40 PM
 #5

Try setting the processor affinity of both the miner processes to use the same core by right-clicking on them in the Windows Task Manager and setting them to the same core.

You'll see your CPU usage drop to a solid 25%, but the mining performance will remain the same. Actually, the computer should be a little more responsive.



BTC: 1HkwwvShZWQbW4NZ8qtUBesEQxJ46je2Wa
LTC: LffG9SF9fAxA1MaSUjD2hWaGd8xuTz8H9y
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!