Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:44:10 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Best possible rack mounted rig?  (Read 1745 times)
tamas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 12:56:10 PM
 #1

Hello,

I am looking to build the best possible rig for a rack mounted server, cost is secondary.

What I've been looking at is this:

Video card: GIGABYTE GV-R699D5-4GD-B Radeon HD 6990 or similar
Rack case: http://www.plinkusa.net/products/4220-6.jpg
Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274

And the rest as needed (quality 1200W PSU, an SSD and 2GB RAM).

My first question is, is this feasible? Can I put these components together in a rack in some datacenter and have it running a mining operation all the time?

Or is there some better way of using a 4U or 6U space for mining?

My other concern is heat. Sandwitching 3 video cards that run full load all the time will probably generate intense amounts of heat - should I be worried, or will the case with the 6 fans take care of this properly? I'd hate to have the middle card burn out after a couple of days or weeks.

My last question, is a 1200W PSU (or 1350W) enough for these 3 cards?

Thanks for any replies!
1481100250
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100250

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100250
Reply with quote  #2

1481100250
Report to moderator
1481100250
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100250

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100250
Reply with quote  #2

1481100250
Report to moderator
1481100250
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100250

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100250
Reply with quote  #2

1481100250
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481100250
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100250

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100250
Reply with quote  #2

1481100250
Report to moderator
1481100250
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100250

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100250
Reply with quote  #2

1481100250
Report to moderator
Genrobo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 12:59:31 PM
 #2

Antec Truepower Quattro, a nice 1200w PSU.
Can't go wrong with awesome.
Just make sure you never get those power cache cables mixed up.
They're deadly important.
It should do just fine.

As long as you keep your wire management tidy, and keep your airflow good, you shouldn't run into any issues.

There are scripts floating around that can tone your machine down if the temps get too high, you might want to look into those.


17YwW6cuSbXLT8cvvdAcfy1iHyPkhVE7CG
Donations welcome, not required.
I'll be honest, any donations aren't used for a good cause, they go directly to booze, food, herbal substances Wink, and computer hardware.
I will squander the money, but hell, at least you know one person is having a good time.
tamas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:03:52 PM
 #3

Thanks for the reply!

I also found this http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Product.aspx?C=1266&ID=1985#Tab0

It looks pretty neat and also powerful.
Genrobo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 01:10:18 PM
 #4

If you like PSU's made by ChannelWell, that thermaltake is fine.
Personally, I don't trust them, they're usually overpriced pieces of junk with high failure rates after about a year or so.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817194092
Now that thing, that thing gets golden reviews all around.

17YwW6cuSbXLT8cvvdAcfy1iHyPkhVE7CG
Donations welcome, not required.
I'll be honest, any donations aren't used for a good cause, they go directly to booze, food, herbal substances Wink, and computer hardware.
I will squander the money, but hell, at least you know one person is having a good time.
tamas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 03:27:39 PM
 #5

One more thing, what's the best OS to mine? Does it matter at all?

I am comfortable with Linux, so I'd run Debian on it. Is the linux version capable of same speed as other versions?

Thanks!
Freakin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 03, 2011, 04:19:08 PM
 #6

One more thing, what's the best OS to mine? Does it matter at all?

I am comfortable with Linux, so I'd run Debian on it. Is the linux version capable of same speed as other versions?

Thanks!

Linux is considered more efficient for mining than windows, and also obviates the need for dummy plugs on additional GPUs
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!