Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2017, 06:13:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Guiminer .5 BTC Bounty for solution! :)  (Read 3629 times)
underminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210

Not for hire.


View Profile
October 12, 2012, 06:09:25 PM
 #1

Hello guys, Looking for a solution to a problem .5btc to the single best answer that helps me fix it.

Running guiminer on windoze I can connect to the bitclockers pool, and slush's pool without problems.  I can solo mine, and I can even connect to a private server to join a pool but for some reason I keep getting kicked off after about 12 hours.  Intermittently I can reconnect but it seems like I have to wait for a few days.

What do you guys think is my problem?  I am mining and getting shares, then suddenly "problems communicating with bitcoin RPC."  I do not believe it is on the end that I am connecting to because of other people are not having problems, just me.  Tongue

**edit** This is what I am mining with:

7970
5970
5870
5830
6770
5770
5770
5770
5770
6670
Llano APU

I don't really want to change how this is all setup right now.  So if you can't figure that out, don't "help" mmmkay?

Keep your bitcoins my .02 are free.
1508307208
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508307208

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508307208
Reply with quote  #2

1508307208
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508307208
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508307208

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508307208
Reply with quote  #2

1508307208
Report to moderator
heinz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
October 12, 2012, 06:12:49 PM
 #2

use cgminer, best solution  Grin
underminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210

Not for hire.


View Profile
October 12, 2012, 06:19:19 PM
 #3

And we have a winner! 0btc awarded.  Don't have time to change my existing--that's why I'm willing to pay for a quick fix.\

**edit** I did find a reason to use the ignore button, first time I thought I'd need it, for the record.

Keep your bitcoins my .02 are free.
heinz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
October 12, 2012, 06:20:02 PM
 #4

unzip, change value, run it? you'd have it done by now if you listened
Gleamwar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9



View Profile
October 12, 2012, 08:25:49 PM
 #5

If you haven't opened the console, I would do that first. ( Click view, then show console )
Then start your miner and flip to the new tab to see the issues.

So which pool are you mining with?  I was making an assumption but realized you didn't say. Smiley
GUIminer has problems for me on btcguild, gives me an error message when connected to their pools in the US.
Just tested it a few minutes ago and I don't know why that is.
I use cgminer with the same pool and don't have any issues.

Not that I'm telling you to change miners, I just find it odd that the gui has problems whereas the command line does not.





Making money the old fashioned way,
                I'm mining it.
underminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210

Not for hire.


View Profile
October 12, 2012, 11:34:32 PM
 #6

Console has "probs-02, ... 12,.... 22,... 32 then no more pools, using primary and starting over."  This isn't much more information than what I had already...

Keep your bitcoins my .02 are free.
hickc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
October 13, 2012, 12:38:18 AM
 #7

I am not using guiminer anymore so I couldn't help you specifically, but I can offer an alternative solution which could be beneficial in the end and after about 5 mins have you up and running with phoenix miner making more mh/s than guiminer can. I have spent alot of time finding the best settings for me for phoenix miner, so if you want I can give them to you, simply download and install phoenix miner, enter the command lines and you will probably be getting much better mh/s, not to mention that phoenix hasn't had any connection issues for me ever using deepbit, slush and 50btc. Let me know if you're interested.
heinz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
October 13, 2012, 01:05:28 AM
 #8

cgminer would of been setup by now....
hickc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
October 13, 2012, 03:30:46 AM
 #9

except that phoenix is better than cgminer...
Zeek_W
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 10:31:46 PM
 #10

Bitminters UI looks nicer though Tongue

firefop
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
October 15, 2012, 09:09:52 PM
 #11

You'd be better off in the long run using cgm, or anything that you can start from the command line.

I'd look at diablo miner if you don't like the cg interface - and bfg if you do.


k3t3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
October 15, 2012, 09:48:59 PM
 #12

Hello guys, Looking for a solution to a problem .5btc to the single best answer that helps me fix it.

Running guiminer on windoze I can connect to the bitclockers pool, and slush's pool without problems.  I can solo mine, and I can even connect to a private server to join a pool but for some reason I keep getting kicked off after about 12 hours.  Intermittently I can reconnect but it seems like I have to wait for a few days.

What do you guys think is my problem?  I am mining and getting shares, then suddenly "problems communicating with bitcoin RPC."  I do not believe it is on the end that I am connecting to because of other people are not having problems, just me.  Tongue

**edit** This is what I am mining with:

7970
5970
5870
5830
6770
5770
5770
5770
5770
6670
Llano APU

I don't really want to change how this is all setup right now.  So if you can't figure that out, don't "help" mmmkay?
have you tried changing the miner kernel.
add new miner and select pheonix as the kernel from the menus at the top of the gui. the pheonix kernel should be in the guiminer directory and it will be selectable from the menu in the guiminer interface. you then have to manually add the pool:port worker name and pass.


edit: i havent used guiminer for a while and i am not at my rig so the instructions are not very clear. sorry.
BitcoinOxygen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile WWW
October 19, 2012, 08:48:44 AM
 #13

except that phoenix is better than cgminer...


do you have proof that phoenix is better than CGminer

BTCOxygen PPS Mining Pool 2% Fee  <<<  Join Now
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
November 01, 2012, 02:11:17 PM
 #14

Gosh not another one of these, Look, GUIminer is KNOWN to have issues connecting to certain pools, for various pool speficif reasons.
Just stop using it already, GUIminer is kindof desgined for newbies to learn how to start.

Please, Do switch to CGminer and im sure your problem will be gone.

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
November 03, 2012, 02:11:35 AM
 #15

Yeah, I'm with everyone else on switching to CGminer instead of wrestling with GUIMiner.  With the included readme files and info in the miner's post here, you can figure out the best command line you need and then your done.

You can then just create a simple batch file to run to launch it, shove that batch file in your startup folder and your done.  Just open up notepad, dump in the following text (with your specific pool/user info), and save it as .bat file.

Code:
echo Miner 1 Batch Startup
REM Put your CGminer in this next command line
cd /d C:\BTC\cgminer-2.8.7-win32
REM Enter your pool, user and card configuration here.
cgminer -o http://pool1:port -u pool1UserID -p pool1UserPW -o http://backuppool2:port -u pool2UserID -p pool2PW -o http://backuppool3:port -u pool3UserID -p pool3PW -ID --auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine GPUOverclockSpeedIfYouWant --gpu-memclock GPUMemoryClockSpeedIfYouWant

What's nice about this approach is once you dial in the right clock speeds you don't have to fiddle with it.  If a new version of CGMiner comes out, just unzip the new folder into your BTC folder and update the cd /d line in the batch to point to the new folder.
kislam
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
November 03, 2012, 01:11:12 PM
 #16

Are you convinced about switching yet?

Seriously, the number of cards you are using suggests you are no casual miner! So please invest some time to try out bfgminer, cgminer or even diablo, phoenix or poclbm. These are all tried and tested miners and will save you a lot of headache down the line once you have found your sweet spot with one of them. cgminer and bfgminer both support configuration files (see the example.conf in the same directory as the miner and edit it, rename it cgminer.conf or bfgminer.conf), which makes it very easy to make changes as you need. you can also make changes on the fly (like adding or disabling pools, changing fan speed or the intensity of the GPU etc.) and then write these changes back to the config file while your miner is running.

Believe me, i have been mining for more than a year and i tried all of them and right now using bfgminer on both linux and windows. once you get it going (which is really not that hard to do), you never look back.

1PMHA7hyqqbcCbjMfwvKT4xEZ81EYasJze
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
November 03, 2012, 02:06:52 PM
 #17

Are you convinced about switching yet?

Seriously, the number of cards you are using suggests you are no casual miner! So please invest some time to try out bfgminer, cgminer or even diablo, phoenix or poclbm. These are all tried and tested miners and will save you a lot of headache down the line once you have found your sweet spot with one of them. cgminer and bfgminer both support configuration files (see the example.conf in the same directory as the miner and edit it, rename it cgminer.conf or bfgminer.conf), which makes it very easy to make changes as you need. you can also make changes on the fly (like adding or disabling pools, changing fan speed or the intensity of the GPU etc.) and then write these changes back to the config file while your miner is running.

Believe me, i have been mining for more than a year and i tried all of them and right now using bfgminer on both linux and windows. once you get it going (which is really not that hard to do), you never look back.
This.
I've used Alot of programs too, GUIminer is just a fucking headache, No matter how easy on the eyes it may be.
I use cgminer.

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
underminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210

Not for hire.


View Profile
November 03, 2012, 04:15:11 PM
 #18

I guess every single one of you can't read?  I *may* be calling it quits in just a few weeks, a simple solution (if there is one) is what I want.

Keep your bitcoins my .02 are free.
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1937



View Profile
November 03, 2012, 11:54:44 PM
 #19

Perhaps you are overclocking your cards too much? Try bringing them down to stock speeds for the next few weeks.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - GekkoScience DL580 Breakout Boards are In Stock!
firefop
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 01:51:52 AM
 #20

I guess every single one of you can't read?  I *may* be calling it quits in just a few weeks, a simple solution (if there is one) is what I want.

We read as well as you do. The solution to your problem is simple:  Use a miner that can be started from the command line.

If you don't want to mess with setting it up, try diablominer.
If you'd rather have more control cgminer.

There's your answer (for the nth time).

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!