Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 03:44:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Ethereum problems  (Read 3308 times)
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
September 19, 2015, 11:31:29 PM
 #1

I made a new attempt to get some ETH mining going today but got stuck again.

I am following this guide: https://www.cryptocompare.com/mining/guides/how-to-mine-ethereum/

When i start up the miner get in problems when building the DAG. My graphics driver is crashing.
And if i get the DAG to finally build it crashes when the mining starts up.
What am i missing here ?

On the test rig i am using Win 8.1 and i have one 750Ti card installed.
I just updated to the latest driver from Nvida but i get the same problem.

Anyone have any ideas ?
1511451850
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511451850

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511451850
Reply with quote  #2

1511451850
Report to moderator
1511451850
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511451850

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511451850
Reply with quote  #2

1511451850
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Strannik-74
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 214


View Profile
September 20, 2015, 01:51:06 AM
 #2

That's because in this guide a miner for Radeon, Nvidia uses another miner who works only on Linux.
Nexious
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

Nexious.com Admin


View Profile WWW
September 20, 2015, 03:35:01 AM
 #3

If you are trying to mine with a nVidia card, you need to download cudaminer.

There are links to the download on there Ethereum forum here; https://forum.ethereum.org/discussion/2227/cuda-miner

https://nexious.com - Bitcoin Mining Pool - 5BTC Block Finder Bonus!*
khash4u
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
September 20, 2015, 05:28:37 AM
 #4

Check these out

http://cryptomining-blog.com/5684-updated-ethminer-0-9-41-nvidia-cuda-version-for-windows-2/

http://cryptomining-blog.com/5734-ethereum-is-getting-more-user-friendly-with-alethone/
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
September 20, 2015, 09:32:57 AM
 #5

If you are trying to mine with a nVidia card, you need to download cudaminer.

There are links to the download on there Ethereum forum here; https://forum.ethereum.org/discussion/2227/cuda-miner
Thanks.
I feel like a retard, where do i download it from there ?

I tried the updated Ethminer you linked. But the graphics driver keep crashing.
Do i need to install Cuda 6.5 manually ?

And do i need to run the Geth in the ackground (geth --rpc) when using ethminer ?
GriffinHeart
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


Hello there!


View Profile
September 20, 2015, 06:24:17 PM
 #6

I gave up trying to mine Ether.
Too much of a hassle and it doesn't seem to work on Windows/Non-linux systems. Easiest way currently to acquire Ether is to buy it from an exchange, mining is just too undeveloped currently to get an easy start. The Eth wallet system won't install either, I was left with geth as I'm sure you have been too, I just bought myself $10 worth of Ether and am holding it for better days.

Hi there, I'm from South Africa.
This means I'm poor, I guess.
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
September 20, 2015, 06:50:37 PM
 #7

I gave up trying to mine Ether.
Too much of a hassle and it doesn't seem to work on Windows/Non-linux systems. Easiest way currently to acquire Ether is to buy it from an exchange, mining is just too undeveloped currently to get an easy start. The Eth wallet system won't install either, I was left with geth as I'm sure you have been too, I just bought myself $10 worth of Ether and am holding it for better days.
I caved in today trying to get it working in Windows.
Right now i am sitting and staring at a fresh Ubuntu install and feeling like a total retard.. lol
Never used linux before, but i will give it a try.
djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile WWW
September 20, 2015, 08:39:12 PM
 #8

how many miner were you running when it crashes ?
I had something somewhat similar when I tried to run both amd and nvidia card at the same time (and same computer) with 2 different instances.
The problem is due to multiple access to the dag files (and obviously it should be avoided).
I solved the problem by compiling a second miner where the dag file are written to another location and now both miner can run at the same time (each of them writting and reading dag files located in different directories)

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
September 21, 2015, 05:05:00 PM
 #9

how many miner were you running when it crashes ?
I had something somewhat similar when I tried to run both amd and nvidia card at the same time (and same computer) with 2 different instances.
The problem is due to multiple access to the dag files (and obviously it should be avoided).
I solved the problem by compiling a second miner where the dag file are written to another location and now both miner can run at the same time (each of them writting and reading dag files located in different directories)
I have only had one miner running as a testrig.
I have been struggeling with Ubuntu since yesterday and i have got alot of help from a nice guy at ethereum forum.
I think i will be up and running soon hopefully.

I will clone that ssd disk for use on my other rigs. I hope that works.
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


INS Ecosystem


View Profile
September 21, 2015, 05:50:43 PM
 #10

how many miner were you running when it crashes ?
I had something somewhat similar when I tried to run both amd and nvidia card at the same time (and same computer) with 2 different instances.
The problem is due to multiple access to the dag files (and obviously it should be avoided).
I solved the problem by compiling a second miner where the dag file are written to another location and now both miner can run at the same time (each of them writting and reading dag files located in different directories)
I have only had one miner running as a testrig.
I have been struggeling with Ubuntu since yesterday and i have got alot of help from a nice guy at ethereum forum.
I think i will be up and running soon hopefully.

I will clone that ssd disk for use on my other rigs. I hope that works.

what are you using to clone the ssds ? i tried clonezilla but i could not get it to recognize the disks on ubuntu 15.4


███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █

█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
●  Whitepaper
●  ANN Thread
●  Reddit
●  Telegram
●  Twitter
●  Facebook

███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
September 21, 2015, 09:24:46 PM
 #11

how many miner were you running when it crashes ?
I had something somewhat similar when I tried to run both amd and nvidia card at the same time (and same computer) with 2 different instances.
The problem is due to multiple access to the dag files (and obviously it should be avoided).
I solved the problem by compiling a second miner where the dag file are written to another location and now both miner can run at the same time (each of them writting and reading dag files located in different directories)
I have only had one miner running as a testrig.
I have been struggeling with Ubuntu since yesterday and i have got alot of help from a nice guy at ethereum forum.
I think i will be up and running soon hopefully.

I will clone that ssd disk for use on my other rigs. I hope that works.

what are you using to clone the ssds ? i tried clonezilla but i could not get it to recognize the disks on ubuntu 15.4
I cant remember what software i used back in the days. It worked like a charm for my windows rigs.
Not sure how Linux works with clones ?

I got my first Linux rig ever up running this afternoon with alot of help.

The testrig is up and running and sprnova reporting 10-12Mhs with one EVGA FTW 750Ti.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!