Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2017, 06:31:36 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: AVID Mojo SDI FPGA  (Read 3002 times)
Zeek_W
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
October 16, 2012, 06:00:59 AM
#1

I just scored a few of these from the 'e-waste' room of my company as they are no longer being used - I know they are a FPGA, just not sure what exactly. I'll rip it apart tonight when I get home and see what the chip is and if it can be altered for mining use.


1508437896
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508437896

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508437896
Reply with quote  #2

1508437896
Report to moderator
1508437896
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508437896

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508437896
Reply with quote  #2

1508437896
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508437896
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508437896

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508437896
Reply with quote  #2

1508437896
Report to moderator
1508437896
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508437896

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508437896
Reply with quote  #2

1508437896
Report to moderator
1508437896
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508437896

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508437896
Reply with quote  #2

1508437896
Report to moderator
pieppiep
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 551



View Profile
October 16, 2012, 06:41:47 AM
#2

This one? http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/435762-REG/Avid_7010_20000_01_Mojo_SDI_Portable.html
Look expensive, but I don't know if it is the same device version.
Some video editing device... I'm following this topic Smiley

Zeek_W
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
October 16, 2012, 06:43:30 AM
#3

Yep it definately is Smiley

I just cant wait til work sends these beasts to the waste room:


Zeek_W
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
October 16, 2012, 08:37:41 AM
#4

Well, I'm home and have teared the mojo SDi down:


Turns out it is a Cyclone 2 EP2C35F484C6N Sad - the stock powersully is 9VDC and

Quote
...68,416 logic elements (LEs) and provide up to 622 usable I/O
pins and up to 1.1 Mbits of embedded memory. Cyclone II FPGAs are
manufactured on 300-mm wafers using TSMC's 90-nm low-k dielectric
process.



I see some potentials for JTAG programming in the following:

The most likely candidate due to proximity to the FPGA chip

Some others - although I don't think so:




No idea what this switch does.

Seeing how the bigger Altera EP4CE115C7 only makes 100MH/s I don't think this thing would be profitable unfortunately. Maybe eBay the whole unit for it's original purpose.




simon66
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 421


View Profile
October 17, 2012, 01:26:06 AM
#5

How many of these did you get your hands on?
Zeek_W
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
October 17, 2012, 01:34:36 AM
#6

How many of these did you get your hands on?

I got 3 of them. One I will be using for it's original purpose though. Well, I will if I ever do SD rez videos lol. I mainly use the Nitris DX's these days

abeaulieu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295



View Profile
October 17, 2012, 01:56:46 AM
#7

Wow quite the find. I would sell those suckers, forget mining on them. The value is in it's application and the way they implemented the FPGA.
Zeek_W
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
October 17, 2012, 02:07:55 AM
#8

Wow quite the find. I would sell those suckers, forget mining on them. The value is in it's application and the way they implemented the FPGA.

yeah I just checked ebay but there aren't any completed items that sold - and about 7 already relisted. Might try and find someone local.

I was originally gotta lift the FPGA off the board and make new board - but definately not worth the time and effort. Selling them for their use then buy more ASICs/FPGAs is the way to go.

Sorry if this thread was a downer and somewhat irrelivant to the usual discussion/arguing/scam accusing that custom hardware has devolved to of late.  Tongue

pieppiep
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 551



View Profile
October 17, 2012, 05:07:26 AM
#9

No downer for me. Still very interesting to see that such a little fpga can do so much with the right bitstreams.
It still is a nice piece of technology Smiley

abeaulieu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295



View Profile
October 17, 2012, 12:38:24 PM
#10

No downer for me. Still very interesting to see that such a little fpga can do so much with the right bitstreams.
It still is a nice piece of technology Smiley

Well I would say sell these expensive guys and buy a couple nice eval boards then. Depending on what version of Cyclone 2 you want they're only $150-200:
http://www.terasic.com.tw/cgi-bin/page/archive.pl?No=83


P.S. These are a nice little eval board for people new to FPGAs. I've used the DE2 to start learning it was quite a breeze, especially with the example projects in Quartus.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!