Bitcoin Forum
October 24, 2017, 09:57:18 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: No Toolbar in Ubuntu 12.o4 LTS  (Read 1779 times)
rebel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 01:01:49 PM
 #1

Using Ubuntu 12.04 LTS  and Bitcoin 0.7.0

All updates done.

But Toolbar ('File Settings Help') does not show up.

Otherwise Bitcoin works fine. Wallet was encrypted before and continues to work.
1508839038
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508839038

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508839038
Reply with quote  #2

1508839038
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508839038
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508839038

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508839038
Reply with quote  #2

1508839038
Report to moderator
kokjo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050

You are WRONG!


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 01:09:41 PM
 #2

when did you upgrade what?

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves and wiser people so full of doubts." -Bertrand Russell
rebel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 03:01:06 PM
 #3

Ubuntu is 12.04.1 and Bitcoin must be 0.7.1 by now (I trust that Matt Corallo has done the upgrade in the repos).

But what difference does that make?

Why would the toolbar not show up in the previous version?

And why does it now show up in this version?

Hope that somebody can help
kokjo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050

You are WRONG!


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 03:05:31 PM
 #4

But what difference does that make?
it makes it harder for us to help you, if you can't give us specifics. or even describe your problem precisely. please try again, i am willing to help you.

http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves and wiser people so full of doubts." -Bertrand Russell
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
October 22, 2012, 04:34:28 PM
 #5

unity --reset
rebel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 07:58:22 PM
 #6

unity --reset

I did  '  unity --reset  '   and it showed errors but I am not in a position to understand these:

      http://paste.debian.net/202767/

Thank you very much for taking the time
rebel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 08:17:27 PM
 #7

............ if you can't give us specifics. or even describe your problem precisely. ....................

Thanks Kokjo , but I don't know what more to say.

'Bitcoin Wallet'  shows up promptly and the downloads are done in a reasonable time. Overview, Send Coins, REceive Coins, Transactions, Address Book , Export are all there and working fine.

The only thing that is missing is the Toolbar with ('File Settings Help'  - thus I cannot change the password, nor can I send coins via Tor (should I ever want that) nor can I tell you precisely what version I have.

Hope that this makes sense
kokjo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050

You are WRONG!


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 08:25:03 PM
 #8

unity --reset

I did  '  unity --reset  '   and it showed errors but I am not in a position to understand these:

      http://paste.debian.net/202767/

Thank you very much for taking the time
the errors here seems okay(or atleast unrelated), but im not fully qualified to understand them fully either.

Quote
Thanks Kokjo , but I don't know what more to say.
what did you upgrade? your first post indicated you upgraded something. what? when? before? after?
screenshot?
have you tried unity at all before upgrading to it?
versions of all involved software?

Quote
'Bitcoin Wallet'  shows up promptly and the downloads are done in a reasonable time. Overview, Send Coins, REceive Coins, Transactions, Address Book , Export are all there and working fine.

The only thing that is missing is the Toolbar with ('File Settings Help'  - thus I cannot change the password, nor can I send coins via Tor (should I ever want that) nor can I tell you precisely what version I have.

try:
metacity --replace
to replace unity with the old metacity window manager.

Quote
Hope that this makes sense
a little bit, you are getting better at it.

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves and wiser people so full of doubts." -Bertrand Russell
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
October 22, 2012, 08:39:16 PM
 #9

unity --reset

I did  '  unity --reset  '   and it showed errors but I am not in a position to understand these:

      http://paste.debian.net/202767/

Thank you very much for taking the time

its a Unity problem, not Bitcoin.  try sudo apt-get install unity-2d
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
October 22, 2012, 08:44:30 PM
 #10

if that doesn't work go here:  http://askubuntu.com/questions/128676/launcher-and-window-menu-bar-missing-after-12-04-upgrade
rebel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 09:04:54 PM
 #11


' install unity-2d '  did not do much except for removing some items no longer needed.

' metacity --replace '  gave me a new desktop but Bitcoin was same with no toolbar.

  Going back to           ' unity --reset '    gave me back the familiar desktop and also a second terminal with a Bitcoin specific error:

   ' :~$ metacity --replace
Window manager warning: Invalid WM_TRANSIENT_FOR window 0xc00004 specified for 0xc00002 (bitcoin-qt). '

What does that mean?

As to the link for " laucher-and-window-menu-bar-missing-after-12-04-upgrade '  -  it seems that the people had more problems than me and  that probably needs to be done carefully one by one.






cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
October 22, 2012, 09:33:41 PM
 #12


' install unity-2d '  did not do much except for removing some items no longer needed.

' metacity --replace '  gave me a new desktop but Bitcoin was same with no toolbar.

  Going back to           ' unity --reset '    gave me back the familiar desktop and also a second terminal with a Bitcoin specific error:

   ' :~$ metacity --replace
Window manager warning: Invalid WM_TRANSIENT_FOR window 0xc00004 specified for 0xc00002 (bitcoin-qt). '

What does that mean?

As to the link for " laucher-and-window-menu-bar-missing-after-12-04-upgrade '  -  it seems that the people had more problems than me and  that probably needs to be done carefully one by one.








try maximizing Bitcoin window and see if menu works then.
rebel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
October 23, 2012, 10:53:12 AM
 #13



try maximizing Bitcoin window and see if menu works then.


Unfortunately  maximizing  did not do it either
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
October 23, 2012, 01:59:25 PM
 #14



try maximizing Bitcoin window and see if menu works then.


Unfortunately  maximizing  did not do it either

ok, then try moving the Bitcoin window to the far upper left corner of the desktop window.  if that doesn't work, i'm outta answers.  the same thing happened to me but the unity --reset command worked for me permanently after doing all the other things...
rebel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
October 24, 2012, 02:18:42 PM
 #15



 try moving the Bitcoin window to the far upper left corner of the desktop window. ...

no, it doesn't work either...
Frequency
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 523


sheeople


View Profile WWW
October 24, 2012, 07:28:47 PM
 #16



 try moving the Bitcoin window to the far upper left corner of the desktop window. ...

no, it doesn't work either...

Do you mean that u miss the menu wich normally is in left corner ??

Try righter mouse click in the screen and the menu will pop up or ctrl esc works also,but i don,t now if this is what u mean

GL

Put your money were your mouth is…       #coinderdotcom
dirtycat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456



View Profile
October 24, 2012, 09:01:21 PM
 #17

this has been going on for a while.. im still having trouble with it.. I just been using bitcoind via command line whenever I use my ubuntu box.

this has been discussed before with no resolution: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=81910.0

Try building bitcoin-qt from source and see if that works.. it worked a day or two for me.  Now it just shows me its icon/toolbar when it wants to.

poop!
rebel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
October 25, 2012, 10:17:02 AM
 #18

Do you mean that u miss the menu wich normally is in left corner ??

Try righter mouse click in the screen and the menu will pop up

or ctrl esc works also,but i don,t now if this is what u mean
GL

Yes. the menu   with  'File, Settings, Help'  never shows up, as already mentioned a few times.

And unfortunately it appears to be a bit  more complicated than just right clicking or pressing Ctr+Esc   (Ctr+Esc does nothing and it does not let right-click in Ubuntu )
rebel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
October 25, 2012, 04:43:56 PM
 #19

Finally ! It's done and the menu  is visible.

 How?

I have installed gnome-shell,   though that didn't do it.
Previously i have removed compiz but it reinstalled itself.
Finally I went to  .bitcoin and deleted everything except for blk0001.dat and blk0002.dat  and restarted Bitcoin.

As soon as it started I saw the menu up at the upper left!   With no problem I could encrypt the new empty wallet so I stopped everything and brought back the regular wallet.
It is now synchronizing but I don't understand why it takes its time -  after all all blocks are already here... and it says 19 active connections to bitcoin network!

we'll see
kokjo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050

You are WRONG!


View Profile
October 25, 2012, 07:55:04 PM
 #20

Finally ! It's done and the menu  is visible.

 How?

I have installed gnome-shell,   though that didn't do it.
Previously i have removed compiz but it reinstalled itself.
Finally I went to  .bitcoin and deleted everything except for blk0001.dat and blk0002.dat  and restarted Bitcoin.

As soon as it started I saw the menu up at the upper left!   With no problem I could encrypt the new empty wallet so I stopped everything and brought back the regular wallet.
It is now synchronizing but I don't understand why it takes its time -  after all all blocks are already here... and it says 19 active connections to bitcoin network!

we'll see
bitcoin will not detect blk*.dat files by it self. it will re download.

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves and wiser people so full of doubts." -Bertrand Russell
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!