Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2017, 02:08:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ASIC bandwidth  (Read 1629 times)
DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
October 23, 2012, 09:10:51 AM
#1

What do you guys think these new ASIC devices will use in downloads and uploads?

The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
1508681309
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508681309

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508681309
Reply with quote  #2

1508681309
Report to moderator
1508681309
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508681309

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508681309
Reply with quote  #2

1508681309
Report to moderator
1508681309
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508681309

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508681309
Reply with quote  #2

1508681309
Report to moderator
The grue lurks in the darkest places of the earth. Its favorite diet is adventurers, but its insatiable appetite is tempered by its fear of light. No grue has ever been seen by the light of day, and few have survived its fearsome jaws to tell the tale.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508681309
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508681309

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508681309
Reply with quote  #2

1508681309
Report to moderator
1508681309
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508681309

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508681309
Reply with quote  #2

1508681309
Report to moderator
pieppiep
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 557



View Profile
October 23, 2012, 09:31:48 AM
#2

I've seen this kind of question before Smiley

With the type of getwork that just gets one blockheader the asic has to search 2^32 nonces and finds on average 1 nonce worth a share.
The getwork uses about 1kB data. Sending the nonce back to the pool uses less iirc, about 1/4kB.

For 1500 GHash/s this gives 1500G / 2^32 is about 350kB/s pool->client and 90kB/s client->pool.

For getwork there is already rollntime that tells the client it can change the time part in the blockheader.
So with a rollntime with value 10 the clients has 10 times more work so the 350kB/s pool-client is reduced to 35kB/s.

If the client->pool data gets to much, it is possible to change the difficulty 1 for a valid share to something bigger.
That way the client finds less shares, but the shares are worth more so on average it is still the same.

There are at least 2 new protocol proposals, but I can't remember their names so I can't find them right now.
One of them lets the client calculate the header itself iirc and has some higher difficulty for shares and something better than the current longpoll the prevent stales.
The other I haven't read the text but I think it has something just like that.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 23, 2012, 09:55:36 AM
#3

With the new stratum mining protocol and variable difficulty targets, the network bandwidth will be about 1K/minute regardless of your hashrate.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
scrybe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
October 23, 2012, 02:00:46 PM
#4

With the new stratum mining protocol and variable difficulty targets, the network bandwidth will be about 1K/minute regardless of your hashrate.

I've been using Stratum on BTCGuild and can back that up. It's pretty sweet.

It actually loads my GPU's more heavily because it's taking a much shorter break between shares and blocks, and it's more bandwidth efficient too.

One thing to point out though, is that the Total is 1Kb/s per session.

So if you are using 10 instances of cgminer (or whatever) with built-in Stratum support it will consume 10Kb/s as each miner has it's difficulty adjusted individually to match the submission rate goal.

There is a Stratum Proxy available that you can put multiple miners behind, collectively adjust difficulty for the miners using the proxy, and constrain the entire pool of miners to 1Kb/s. You just have to  be ready to see low share submission rates on a per-miner basis if you use the proxy because it limits the whole population. The good news is that you still get the same income rate in the long run, even if each miner is doing 1 share per minute (at a massive difficulty multiple so you still make the same amount.)

"...as simple as possible, but no simpler" -AE
BTC/TRC/FRC: 1ScrybeSNcjqgpPeYNgvdxANArqoC6i5u Ripple:rf9gutfmGB8CH39W2PCeRbLWMKRauYyVfx LTC:LadmiD6tXq7gFZvMibhFUZegUHKXgbu1Gb
BeetcoinScummer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
October 23, 2012, 02:25:39 PM
#5

Yeah, you can mine with Stratum over your mobile connection without any significant loss of BTC due to network lag. You also won't run up an overage with your wireless carrier because the bandwidth is so small.
ice_chill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
October 23, 2012, 02:34:03 PM
#6

This is amazing, so 50MB per month is the most you would need.
michaelmclees
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 629


View Profile
October 23, 2012, 02:45:52 PM
#7

This is amazing, so 50MB per month is the most you would need.

Just wait until you can fit the entire blockchain on a 4 dollar flash drive (after pruning, hashing, whatever is being proposed these days).

You can imagine the conversations we're going to be having 10 years from now with newcomers.

"So what's this bitcoin deal...?"

"Here, I'll show you.  It is a digital commodity, very valuable these days.  Let me see your phone....  There... I just downloaded every Bitcoin transaction that has ever taken place to your phone.  Took up less room than your Facebook app.  You can use it to securely send these digital commodities, in any amount, to anyone on Earth (or in orbit, or on Mars) for a fee of a United States nickel.  You have more security and financial freedom in your phone right now than even the richest man or bank 20 years ago.  If I were to send you $20 in BTC, .003 BTC, it could never be seized, frozen, taxed, lost, stolen from you, or linked to you.  Want some?"

Fun to dream right?
DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
October 23, 2012, 03:02:33 PM
#8

1K/s sounds pretty good.  I'm using about 1.5GB a month with 8 GH/s. That sound about right?



Would that mean a BFL SC at 60GH/s would use about 11GB a month?

I wonder if some of the purchasers with small download limits would be affected by this...

The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
scrybe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
October 23, 2012, 04:17:44 PM
#9

1K/s sounds pretty good.  I'm using about 1.5GB a month with 8 GH/s. That sound about right?



Would that mean a BFL SC at 60GH/s would use about 11GB a month?

I wonder if some of the purchasers with small download limits would be affected by this...

Or 1K/s with Stratum.

"...as simple as possible, but no simpler" -AE
BTC/TRC/FRC: 1ScrybeSNcjqgpPeYNgvdxANArqoC6i5u Ripple:rf9gutfmGB8CH39W2PCeRbLWMKRauYyVfx LTC:LadmiD6tXq7gFZvMibhFUZegUHKXgbu1Gb
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
October 23, 2012, 04:24:50 PM
#10

I hope there's at least a few people out there with dialup modems mining on BFL's.

scrybe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
October 23, 2012, 05:09:39 PM
#11

I hope there's at least a few people out there with dialup modems mining on BFL's.
I'm seriously considering hauling mine along on my next trip hooked up to a 3g modem.

I will for sure with my Jally.

"...as simple as possible, but no simpler" -AE
BTC/TRC/FRC: 1ScrybeSNcjqgpPeYNgvdxANArqoC6i5u Ripple:rf9gutfmGB8CH39W2PCeRbLWMKRauYyVfx LTC:LadmiD6tXq7gFZvMibhFUZegUHKXgbu1Gb
gurki
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 102


View Profile
October 24, 2012, 10:59:46 PM
#12

This is amazing, so 50MB per month is the most you would need.

Is this accurate? If so, WOW!
Zeek_W
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
October 25, 2012, 03:35:23 AM
#13

I hope there's at least a few people out there with dialup modems mining on BFL's.

Well, they would be for 4 hours until they have to redial Tongue

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!