Bitcoin Forum
May 27, 2018, 10:20:02 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help! Bitcoin not recognising bitcoin.conf file  (Read 6799 times)
Allenssmart
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0

I have a 5970 ujelly?


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 08:15:18 PM
 #1

I followed this guide completely.

http://www.newslobster.com/random/how-to-get-started-using-your-gpu-to-mine-for-bitcoins-on-windows

I am having a big problem. I followed everything that you have done but I can't get bitcoin.exe to open with -server. Every time, I get
 
Warning: to use the '-server' option, you must set rpcpassword = <password> in the configuration file 'C:/Users/Nick/AppData/Roaming/Bitcoin/bitcoin.conf. If the file does not exist, create it with owner-readable-only file permissions"
 
I have already made the bitcoin.conf file in C:\Users\Allen\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin
 multiple times. This is what's inside it
rpcuser=youruser
rpcpassword=password

No matter what I do I can't start it. I've redeleted and remade the files several times over. I've restarted my computer. I've quadruple checked the directories and I'm 100% sure that the bitcoin.conf file is in the right spot. I've tried redownloading the bitcoin application and deleting my bitcoin folder inside appdata. Doesn't work. Everytime I start bitcoin -server I get the above message saying I have not set that yet I have!!! Even if I open bitcoind in the daemon directory, still does not work. Also, I believe at the cause of this, my bat file would obviously not work to, it says "Problem communicating with bitcon PRC". Also, I own this computer and I am the only user. I am also the administrator. I've tried running cmd with as admin each time. Nothing. Searched google and through these forums, no lead. Please help.

Thank you.

Sharecoin: Sc45EXcP6FwL9S23ZkYgLZoBcEwtB9CvTx
1527459602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527459602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527459602
Reply with quote  #2

1527459602
Report to moderator
Bitcoin addresses contain a checksum, so it is very unlikely that mistyping an address will cause you to lose money.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527459602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527459602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527459602
Reply with quote  #2

1527459602
Report to moderator
1527459602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527459602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527459602
Reply with quote  #2

1527459602
Report to moderator
Kain
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 08:23:55 PM
 #2

I had the same exact problem.
Try putting all of your config file info into a text file, and then rename it to remove the .txt extension, and add the .conf extension.
Allenssmart
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0

I have a 5970 ujelly?


View Profile
June 04, 2011, 08:32:12 PM
 #3

I had the same exact problem.
Try putting all of your config file info into a text file, and then rename it to remove the .txt extension, and add the .conf extension.

OH MY GOD. THANK YOU. THANK YOU SO MUCH. I <3 you. Please give me your bitcoin address, I would be glad to at least donate some money back to you when I get it. You just made my day  Grin

Thanks bro.

Mods you can close this thread now

Sharecoin: Sc45EXcP6FwL9S23ZkYgLZoBcEwtB9CvTx
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!