Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 12:38:04 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: OC' 5850's for MAXIMUM PREFORMANCE  (Read 6672 times)
BTCBuyer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 04:49:48 AM
 #1

I've been browsing through the mining hardware comparison section, and noticed you can get up to 350-380 mhash/s with a 5850. With clock speed of 900-995

How is that possible? Catalyst control will only let me OC to 775mhz, at that rate I'm getting about 290mhash/s maxed out. What am I doing wrong?
1480725484
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725484

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725484
Reply with quote  #2

1480725484
Report to moderator
1480725484
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725484

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725484
Reply with quote  #2

1480725484
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 04:54:26 AM
 #2

use something like http://www.sapphiretech.com/ssc/TriXX/

Also if you switch to linux you will get some extra mhash.
supa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:03:11 AM
 #3

What brand do you have?

If you have a Sapphire, you should get the estimated numbers you're seeing other members report.

If you have a Diamond (or some other non-reference board) you will NOT be getting the numbers you see other members report and you will NOT be able to change voltages or reach higher clocks.

BTCBuyer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 05:07:15 AM
 #4

I have XFX - this must be a really bad brand..
darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:09:12 AM
 #5

my sapphires I can push to 372,  my xfx I can push to 355 mhz

like I said, use the trixx and custom modify your video card bios if you want to switch to linux.

Should make dedicated mining machine.  On windows you lose some performance (at least for me Wink)
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:11:08 AM
 #6

XFX cards will only go to 775mhz unless you flash the bios...which you do not want to do if you do not have a reference card.
Asus ones are the best, with a limit of like 1000 i think. I have 2 of them at 900mhz, currently 340mh/s. (Can't overvolt on Linux) Sad

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:11:24 AM
 #7

use something like http://www.sapphiretech.com/ssc/TriXX/

Also if you switch to linux you will get some extra mhash.

I know about sapphire trixx, however I have more than 1 video card and it can't seem to choose between videocards to adjust..

Ah ok,  well what I would do is to figure out the max using trixx then I will modify the video bios according to those figures.  Why don't you do that?  Then you can modify both video cards and then they will work fine.
darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:12:47 AM
 #8

XFX cards will only go to 775mhz unless you flash the bios...which you do not want to do if you do not have a reference card.
Asus ones are the best, with a limit of like 1000 i think. I have 2 of them at 900mhz, currently 340mh/s. (Can't overvolt on Linux) Sad

Why wouldn't you want to do that?  I thought reference means you can modify the voltage.  Whats wrong with pushing with the default voltage?
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:13:34 AM
 #9

I have XFX - this must be a really bad brand..

Lol don't bm a brand just because you think it's bad.
XFX cards are the best. Best 6990 you can get, amazing customer service.

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
d.james
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Firstbits: 12pqwk


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:14:29 AM
 #10

I have 2 XFXs and I'm at 850ish core, with afterburner,
anything past that gets way too hot.

Dunno how to adjust the voltage though, does it require a BIOS flash I assume?

You can not roll a BitCoin, but you can rollback some. Cheesy
Roll me back: 1NxMkvbYn8o7kKCWPsnWR4FDvH7L9TJqGG
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:15:09 AM
 #11

XFX cards will only go to 775mhz unless you flash the bios...which you do not want to do if you do not have a reference card.
Asus ones are the best, with a limit of like 1000 i think. I have 2 of them at 900mhz, currently 340mh/s. (Can't overvolt on Linux) Sad

Why wouldn't you want to do that?  I thought reference means you can modify the voltage.  Whats wrong with pushing with the default voltage?

No, reference just means that it was the original card that AMD made. Non-reference means that the manufacturer made some changes to it. Usually non-reference cards are worse, they suck for overclocking, you can't really change core and memory limits unless you want to brick your card, and etc.

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
ElectroGeek007
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79



View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:17:48 AM
 #12

This thread (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=4292.0) will help you overclock beyond the current limits of Afterburner. How much OC the card can withstand stably is another matter, however.


"And what the enemy will see, they will see the flash of our cannons, and they will hear the ringing of our swords, and they will know what we can do! By the sweat of our brow and the strength of our backs and the courage in our hearts! Gentlemen, hoist the colors!"
darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:18:39 AM
 #13

XFX cards will only go to 775mhz unless you flash the bios...which you do not want to do if you do not have a reference card.
Asus ones are the best, with a limit of like 1000 i think. I have 2 of them at 900mhz, currently 340mh/s. (Can't overvolt on Linux) Sad

Why wouldn't you want to do that?  I thought reference means you can modify the voltage.  Whats wrong with pushing with the default voltage?

No, reference just means that it was the original card that AMD made. Non-reference means that the manufacturer made some changes to it. Usually non-reference cards are worse, they suck for overclocking, you can't really change core and memory limits unless you want to brick your card, and etc.

I understand that part.  What I don't get is why you would be against flashing the bios? Is there any specific reasons?  Are you saying modifying the vidcard would brick it?  That hasn't happened to me at least.  Are there some posts on the forum talking about this?
Kick
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:19:20 AM
 #14

XFX cards will only go to 775mhz unless you flash the bios...which you do not want to do if you do not have a reference card.
Asus ones are the best, with a limit of like 1000 i think. I have 2 of them at 900mhz, currently 340mh/s. (Can't overvolt on Linux) Sad

Why wouldn't you want to do that?  I thought reference means you can modify the voltage.  Whats wrong with pushing with the default voltage?

No, reference just means that it was the original card that AMD made. Non-reference means that the manufacturer made some changes to it. Usually non-reference cards are worse, they suck for overclocking, you can't really change core and memory limits unless you want to brick your card, and etc.

yes and no. there are a number of non ref cards that were made to be better than reference ones. i wouldnt be so one sided like OMG NON REF, AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE,

using afterburner should unlock the limits
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 05:46:38 AM
 #15

Non ref cards are usually better in that, they usually run cooler, they use less power, The companies revise the PCB to be smaller, they're usually quieter. But, they also usually don't allow voltage adjustment.

jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 08:28:12 AM
 #16

But, they also usually don't allow voltage adjustment.

With Trixx you can adjust the voltage....

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
cosix
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 02:37:39 PM
 #17

But, they also usually don't allow voltage adjustment.

With Trixx you can adjust the voltage....

How do you select a specific card on Trixx, if you have multiple cards installed on 1 MOBO?
you can't. that's one of its limitations
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
June 05, 2011, 10:29:16 PM
 #18

I've been browsing through the mining hardware comparison section, and noticed you can get up to 350-380 mhash/s with a 5850. With clock speed of 900-995

How is that possible? Catalyst control will only let me OC to 775mhz, at that rate I'm getting about 290mhash/s maxed out. What am I doing wrong?
the driver and sdk versions and the miner can also make a big difference. at 775Mhz I would get ~312MHash/s


blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
BTCBuyer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177



View Profile WWW
June 05, 2011, 10:46:43 PM
 #19

I've been browsing through the mining hardware comparison section, and noticed you can get up to 350-380 mhash/s with a 5850. With clock speed of 900-995

How is that possible? Catalyst control will only let me OC to 775mhz, at that rate I'm getting about 290mhash/s maxed out. What am I doing wrong?
the driver and sdk versions and the miner can also make a big difference. at 775Mhz I would get ~312MHash/s



I have the newest version of the driver off of AMD's website. As far as SDK I'm not sure what that is, care to elaborate?
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
June 06, 2011, 12:58:40 AM
 #20

Whoever said you can't run the XFX cards past 775 is wrong.  I'm running five of them at 870 Core, 290 Memory and getting just under 350 MH/s with them at stock voltage.  No bios flash.  Using Afterburner to overclock, Catalyst 11.5's, SDK 2.1 and Win 7 x64 as the OS.  Been running like that without a problem for weeks and they're in the 60-70 degree range.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!