Bitcoin Forum
January 18, 2019, 12:45:28 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: antminer s3+ controller board  (Read 2495 times)
OneInchWonder
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 31, 2015, 05:05:59 PM
 #1

This is the only site i can find to get another one.
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/AntMiner-S3-control-AntMiner-S3-Bitcoin-Miner-28nm-478GH-ASIC-Miner-for-The-main-control-board/32464289215.html?spm=2114.01020208.3.1.dSyJaO&ws_ab_test=searchweb201556_1_71_72_73_74_75,searchweb0_0,searchweb201560_9


 Does anyone know where to get another one.

Thanks for any help.

get.uber.com/drive/?invite_code=brianp6308ue
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
sloopy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=905210.msg


View Profile
October 31, 2015, 05:28:21 PM
 #2


I do not know where you can get that board at a better price. Did you ask Bitmain US - Colorado?

Another thought is you can probably pick up the entire S3 in good working condition for $70.00 in the marketplace.

Transaction fees go to the pools and the pools decide to pay them to the miners. Anything else, including off-chain solutions are stealing and not the way Bitcoin was intended to function.
Make the block size set by the pool. Pool = miners and they get the choice.
OneInchWonder
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 31, 2015, 05:34:24 PM
 #3

No i did not get a hold of Bitmain. i will see that they say.

I was thinking of another but all i need is just the board.

get.uber.com/drive/?invite_code=brianp6308ue
Tupsu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1003



View Profile
October 31, 2015, 05:37:50 PM
Last edit: November 08, 2015, 09:49:32 PM by Tupsu
 #4

In my sales thread

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=858962.0

US $50 + shipping

US $30 + shipping

EDIT. Deal pending  SOLD

notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 01, 2015, 04:24:45 AM
 #5

I have a "parts" S3 controller i would be willing to sell.  It lost power during a firmware update and has sit there on a shelf since, as I got another one.

If you have the serial to USB and know what your doing it should be recoverable.  I cannot guarantee as I have not done it myself.  But we might be able to work something out.
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 01, 2015, 12:45:16 PM
Last edit: November 01, 2015, 05:03:29 PM by toptek
 #6

or if you have S1 controller you can replace it this way https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1164015.0 he finally finished up his version of a power board, I'm waiting to have mailed to me, that looks and works like a S1 to S3 upgrade kit power board, if you have a S1 controller laying around,  i think i paid 35 $ bucks that included shipping.it  works on the S3 and C1, he making one for the S5 now .



https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1164015.msg12822253#msg12822253

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
OneInchWonder
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 01, 2015, 07:20:57 PM
 #7

Thanks for the help. I emailed Bitmain and they have a good price.
   
sale (Bitmain)
Nov 1, 12:45

Hi Brian,

S3+ control PCB is $25+$6 shipping for USA cusotmers.

please let us know if you want to pay via BTC or Paypal

thank you

get.uber.com/drive/?invite_code=brianp6308ue
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 01, 2015, 11:48:19 PM
 #8

Thanks for the help. I emailed Bitmain and they have a good price.
   
sale (Bitmain)
Nov 1, 12:45

Hi Brian,

S3+ control PCB is $25+$6 shipping for USA cusotmers.

please let us know if you want to pay via BTC or Paypal

thank you

No that is a good deal take it.  Some reported not being able to get them.  So guess it's luck of draw.  But at 31 dollars shipped you can't go wrong with that.

Best of luck on it let us know how it goes.
epichaberdasher
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 08, 2015, 08:20:11 PM
 #9

I also need an S3+ controller board, one of mine is bricked. Im not sure how to recover it, i was going to try and buy a new one from Bitmain but i heard they dont even have S5 controller boards at the moment.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 08, 2015, 08:25:09 PM
 #10

I also need an S3+ controller board, one of mine is bricked. Im not sure how to recover it, i was going to try and buy a new one from Bitmain but i heard they dont even have S5 controller boards at the moment.

Put in a ticket/email to bitmain.  They will give you instructions if you ask for un-bricking a S3 controller.  You need a usb to serial cable.

I don't have the instructions but they have provided them to other people before.  I think they will do the same.
sloopy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=905210.msg


View Profile
November 08, 2015, 09:24:36 PM
 #11


There is a thread somewhere I have read several times, but bitmain was kind enough to reflash mine. I purchased them with 10-24-14 firmware and that firmware did not support the reset button. I should say, the reset button functionality was broken with that version of firmware.

If you are into doing it yourself there is a JTAG connection on the control board where you may establish a serial connection and follow 1,2,3 to get her running again. I did not perform this procedure with my S3 boards, but I have done this many times with many different pieces of equipment, routers, etc and it is not difficult if you have the USB to Serial converter or a PC with a serial port.

 Try searching for Jtag in the S3 threads and at the end of the thread the OP provides a nice summary of the exact steps.

Transaction fees go to the pools and the pools decide to pay them to the miners. Anything else, including off-chain solutions are stealing and not the way Bitcoin was intended to function.
Make the block size set by the pool. Pool = miners and they get the choice.
OneInchWonder
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 10, 2015, 05:07:11 AM
 #12

Thanks for the info Sloopy i will look into it.

This is where i am with Bitmain so far.

sale
 Today at 09:25 AM
trying to locate a stock for the S3+ control PCB. Please wait while we confirm the parts in stock.

thank you

get.uber.com/drive/?invite_code=brianp6308ue
RichBC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 10, 2015, 07:29:54 AM
 #13


There is a thread somewhere I have read several times, but bitmain was kind enough to reflash mine. I purchased them with 10-24-14 firmware and that firmware did not support the reset button. I should say, the reset button functionality was broken with that version of firmware.

If you are into doing it yourself there is a JTAG connection on the control board where you may establish a serial connection and follow 1,2,3 to get her running again. I did not perform this procedure with my S3 boards, but I have done this many times with many different pieces of equipment, routers, etc and it is not difficult if you have the USB to Serial converter or a PC with a serial port.

 Try searching for Jtag in the S3 threads and at the end of the thread the OP provides a nice summary of the exact steps.

This thread seems to cover it quite well. I appears that the port is not JTAG but a 3.3V level Serial Port.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=775662.0


Rich

→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Hard-Disk Mineable Cryptocurrency !! B U R S T C O I N 💰 Cheap Price & Easy to Invest - CHECK IT OUT NOW! !! →→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Asset exchange, Automatic transactions, Escrow system & More !!
pinhead666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 260
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 10, 2015, 09:08:34 AM
 #14


There is a thread somewhere I have read several times, but bitmain was kind enough to reflash mine. I purchased them with 10-24-14 firmware and that firmware did not support the reset button. I should say, the reset button functionality was broken with that version of firmware.

If you are into doing it yourself there is a JTAG connection on the control board where you may establish a serial connection and follow 1,2,3 to get her running again. I did not perform this procedure with my S3 boards, but I have done this many times with many different pieces of equipment, routers, etc and it is not difficult if you have the USB to Serial converter or a PC with a serial port.

 Try searching for Jtag in the S3 threads and at the end of the thread the OP provides a nice summary of the exact steps.

This thread seems to cover it quite well. I appears that the port is not JTAG but a 3.3V level Serial Port.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=775662.0


Rich

Via serial port you can update openwrt module (ar9331) files. Jtag connector is used to program pic.
epichaberdasher
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 15, 2015, 09:21:53 PM
 #15

Sent a support ticket to bitmain over a week ago and still no response. Im going to have to try and fix it myself somehow...thanks bitmain  Roll Eyes
pinhead666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 260
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 15, 2015, 11:08:23 PM
 #16

Bitmain seems to be very selective for whom they sell. Some get spare-parts and pretty cheap, other-ones get response "we don't have parts anymore". I have tried to buy S3,C1 and S5 controllers and guess what I got? Nothing. That's why I made that adapter. Now I went a step further and made a whole controller which is my own design. It has also those two extra connectors which are missing from original controller design. I'm waiting pcb's from factory now.
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 16, 2015, 01:17:06 AM
 #17

Bitmain seems to be very selective for whom they sell. Some get spare-parts and pretty cheap, other-ones get response "we don't have parts anymore". I have tried to buy S3,C1 and S5 controllers and guess what I got? Nothing. That's why I made that adapter. Now I went a step further and made a whole controller which is my own design. It has also those two extra connectors which are missing from original controller design. I'm waiting pcb's from factory now.

at first they gave me really nice prices then one day i needed some thing they wanted to charge me out the but for it , so now I rely on people like you to make the stuff,I'm willing to test it even pay to help test it til the final product is released if i have to buy it then i will that how much they wanted to over charge me , which btw seems to work even better then the upgrade power board you get in the Kit, ty .

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
pinhead666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 260
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 16, 2015, 02:32:13 AM
 #18

My design uses more suitable values for level-shifting resistors. Their solution attenuates signal much more. BM never answered me about releasing source code for that pic. But it can be read out of it and I hope that somebody with better programming skills could alter it. I have that code open in MPlab-x and I've already found some interesting things in it...
Xeelee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 166
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 16, 2015, 08:52:27 AM
 #19

Is it still worth to mine with an Antminer S3? Is this not a waste of electricity?

NXT-Wallet: NXT-UBDL-3XU4-NQBZ-FT33G
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 16, 2015, 09:05:20 AM
 #20

Is it still worth to mine with an Antminer S3? Is this not a waste of electricity?


depending on your electricity cost .



For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!