Bitcoin Forum
June 23, 2018, 04:30:01 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Replacing a S5 that went bad in the same controller. Good or bad idea?  (Read 633 times)
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1025



View Profile
November 01, 2015, 08:11:43 PM
 #1

In short, i have a S5 that i got half working (got it cheap), then second blade is dead and the FAN2 has no reading

I could put a new working blade in the controller, but would such history warrant against doing this? It seem like the controller is not working as well as it should, i'm just wondering if doing this could damage the new blade?

We are the Mineority @ https://mineority.io
Currently not accepting commissions for Custom BIOS work @OhGodACompany
OhGodAnAi@gmail.com / virosabios@gmail.com
1529771401
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529771401

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529771401
Reply with quote  #2

1529771401
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529771401
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529771401

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529771401
Reply with quote  #2

1529771401
Report to moderator
gecox22
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 502


View Profile
November 03, 2015, 10:46:12 AM
 #2

In short, i have a S5 that i got half working (got it cheap), then second blade is dead and the FAN2 has no reading

I could put a new working blade in the controller, but would such history warrant against doing this? It seem like the controller is not working as well as it should, i'm just wondering if doing this could damage the new blade?

I don't know to much about the s5's But if it is anything like the s3 replacing the controller will not damage the other board. If the controller is already faulty might as well change it out for a working one.
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1025



View Profile
November 03, 2015, 11:07:56 AM
 #3

In short, i have a S5 that i got half working (got it cheap), then second blade is dead and the FAN2 has no reading

I could put a new working blade in the controller, but would such history warrant against doing this? It seem like the controller is not working as well as it should, i'm just wondering if doing this could damage the new blade?

I don't know to much about the s5's But if it is anything like the s3 replacing the controller will not damage the other board. If the controller is already faulty might as well change it out for a working one.

I don't have a replacement and its mining fine, but the Fan2 has no reading no matter what, and its previous second board died. So i'm wondering about replacing the mining board, not the controller.

We are the Mineority @ https://mineority.io
Currently not accepting commissions for Custom BIOS work @OhGodACompany
OhGodAnAi@gmail.com / virosabios@gmail.com
MarkAz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 674
Merit: 509



View Profile
November 09, 2015, 08:35:13 AM
 #4

When I've had problems in the past I've swapped parts without any ill effects in order to figure out what was the culprit.  This should be safe in most cases, unless there is something electrically unsound with some part of the hardware... So as with most things, nothing is 100% but just do things one at a time and in my experience you won't make things worse.
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1025



View Profile
November 10, 2015, 01:22:19 AM
 #5

When I've had problems in the past I've swapped parts without any ill effects in order to figure out what was the culprit.  This should be safe in most cases, unless there is something electrically unsound with some part of the hardware... So as with most things, nothing is 100% but just do things one at a time and in my experience you won't make things worse.

Turns out it work fine today. The fan reading on FAN2 enabled, even though it would not before, i'm wondering if its because FAN2 only read if there are 2 blades mining on the controller.

I also put the 16pins blade in the 18 pins controller with no problem. However the oldest 16 pins v1.1 boards does not handle 650GH/s, seem to cap out at 580~

We are the Mineority @ https://mineority.io
Currently not accepting commissions for Custom BIOS work @OhGodACompany
OhGodAnAi@gmail.com / virosabios@gmail.com
RichBC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 10, 2015, 07:17:27 AM
 #6

When I've had problems in the past I've swapped parts without any ill effects in order to figure out what was the culprit.  This should be safe in most cases, unless there is something electrically unsound with some part of the hardware... So as with most things, nothing is 100% but just do things one at a time and in my experience you won't make things worse.

Turns out it work fine today. The fan reading on FAN2 enabled, even though it would not before, i'm wondering if its because FAN2 only read if there are 2 blades mining on the controller.

I also put the 16pins blade in the 18 pins controller with no problem. However the oldest 16 pins v1.1 boards does not handle 650GH/s, seem to cap out at 580~

Yes Fan2 will be controlled but only give an RPM reading if the second Blade is fitted. Good result on 16 Pin Blade 18 Pin Controller compatibility.


Rich

→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Hard-Disk Mineable Cryptocurrency !! B U R S T C O I N 💰 Cheap Price & Easy to Invest - CHECK IT OUT NOW! !! →→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Asset exchange, Automatic transactions, Escrow system & More !!
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1025



View Profile
November 10, 2015, 05:20:50 PM
 #7

When I've had problems in the past I've swapped parts without any ill effects in order to figure out what was the culprit.  This should be safe in most cases, unless there is something electrically unsound with some part of the hardware... So as with most things, nothing is 100% but just do things one at a time and in my experience you won't make things worse.

Turns out it work fine today. The fan reading on FAN2 enabled, even though it would not before, i'm wondering if its because FAN2 only read if there are 2 blades mining on the controller.

I also put the 16pins blade in the 18 pins controller with no problem. However the oldest 16 pins v1.1 boards does not handle 650GH/s, seem to cap out at 580~

Yes Fan2 will be controlled but only give an RPM reading if the second Blade is fitted. Good result on 16 Pin Blade 18 Pin Controller compatibility.


Rich

Yes, thank you for helping with the pinout. I had to saw off 2 pins(has to be the right one of course) off a 18 pins cable, to make it fail proof, i left the 2 empty pins on the 18 pin side, so i don't need to remember which side to put it on every times.

Just plug the 16 pin end into a 16 pin whatever and the 18 pin with only 16 pins connected in the 18 pin slot. A 18 pin blade might work in a 16 controller but i did not test.

I had issue with the custom long cables where their clamp that hold the connector in is larger than the stock one, so if you do this with the custom long cable going around you need to remove it.

We are the Mineority @ https://mineority.io
Currently not accepting commissions for Custom BIOS work @OhGodACompany
OhGodAnAi@gmail.com / virosabios@gmail.com
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!