Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2018, 06:26:06 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Need Recommendation What's the quietest, most power miner for use in home-office  (Read 708 times)
mike029
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 01:16:53 PM
 #1

Hello all. I've seen this question asked over a year ago https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=914006.0 and was hoping that there is a newer solution to this question.  I'm looking to buy a miner and want to know what miner can I run in my home-office that will be quite?  It needs to run on 110 volt as I"m in the US.  A friend is running a SP20 down-clocked to 1.3 and it is still a bit loud.  I'm running two Rockminer R-box 100's.  They are quite by not producing much. 
Thank you in advanced for your recommendations.
1542479166
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542479166

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542479166
Reply with quote  #2

1542479166
Report to moderator
1542479166
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542479166

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542479166
Reply with quote  #2

1542479166
Report to moderator
1542479166
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542479166

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542479166
Reply with quote  #2

1542479166
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542479166
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542479166

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542479166
Reply with quote  #2

1542479166
Report to moderator
1542479166
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542479166

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542479166
Reply with quote  #2

1542479166
Report to moderator
1542479166
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542479166

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542479166
Reply with quote  #2

1542479166
Report to moderator
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 04, 2015, 01:34:28 PM
 #2

Hello all. I've seen this question asked over a year ago https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=914006.0 and was hoping that there is a newer solution to this question.  I'm looking to buy a miner and want to know what miner can I run in my home-office that will be quite?  It needs to run on 110 volt as I"m in the US.  A friend is running a SP20 down-clocked to 1.3 and it is still a bit loud.  I'm running two Rockminer R-box 100's.  They are quite by not producing much.  
Thank you in advanced for your recommendations.

SP20 is not really a quiet miner.   Avalon 4.1 is most quiet factory made and you can down clock it a lot, but it's a little higher priced miner the say S5.   Some run S5's on lower freq and do fan mod's.

It really depends on if you are willing to mod.  Phil has a thread on making S7's quiet.  So really all depends.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1377


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
November 04, 2015, 01:56:35 PM
 #3

buy the s-7 right now

batch 4 trust me


 https://www.bitmaintech.com/productDetail.htm?pid=00020151103025959757w0qDEGfK0697


I will teach you how to get it to be quiet.

if you are usa based I can send you some muffler material. I have a lot left over.

and the s-7 batch 4  is a screaming bargain at 3.43 coins plus a bit more for shipping.

you can under clock them to  3600gh- 4000gh lower the fans use the muffler and they are very quiet.


soundproofing info thread

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1188217.0

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mike029
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 08, 2015, 03:41:44 PM
 #4

Thanks for the replies. I have 2 Evga 1300 G2 psu's laying around that I could use.  Will the S-7 Batch 4 run on 110?  
-droid-
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1001



View Profile
November 08, 2015, 04:20:24 PM
 #5

Thanks for the replies. I have 2 Evga 1300 G2 psu's laying around that I could use.  Will the S-7 Batch 4 run on 110?  

Yes it will
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1377


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
November 08, 2015, 04:48:55 PM
 #6

did you put the order in when I said to?

the s-7 batch 4 sold out and now you have the

the s-7 batch 6  it cost more btc 4.00 vs 3.43 and it ships on  dec 17 the batch 4 was shipping in nov.

I really hope you listened and ordered the  batch 4 when  I said to .

Basically if you did you saved about .6 btc and the s-7 batch 4  will hash at 4660gh

the s-7 from batch 6  is a different design and will hash at 4050gh.


I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mike029
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 08, 2015, 05:11:55 PM
 #7

did you put the order in when I said to?

the s-7 batch 4 sold out and now you have the

the s-7 batch 6  it cost more btc 4.00 vs 3.43 and it ships on  dec 17 the batch 4 was shipping in nov.

I really hope you listened and ordered the  batch 4 when  I said to .

Basically if you did you saved about .6 btc and the s-7 batch 4  will hash at 4660gh

the s-7 from batch 6  is a different design and will hash at 4050gh.


No
I did not.  I just got back into town and just read the post.  Cry  Should I be concerned about the different design for batch 6 and does it change anything with respect to noise and modifying?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!