Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2018, 02:46:46 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Thoughts on using AM Tubes for heating this winter, any info about undervolting?  (Read 547 times)
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1063



View Profile
November 06, 2015, 01:31:32 AM
 #1

I been trying to find information about this, the most relevant post i found was sidehack saying he would try to hack it, see what the efficiency it gets at different voltage and would then post the performance sheets at different voltage, i did not see any followup to this.

I dont feel like bothering Sidehack in private, so does anyone have information about this miner's design that could allow me to undervolt it?
1542638806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542638806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542638806
Reply with quote  #2

1542638806
Report to moderator
1542638806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542638806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542638806
Reply with quote  #2

1542638806
Report to moderator
1542638806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542638806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542638806
Reply with quote  #2

1542638806
Report to moderator
"Governments are good at cutting off the heads of a centrally controlled networks like Napster, but pure P2P networks like Gnutella and Tor seem to be holding their own." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542638806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542638806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542638806
Reply with quote  #2

1542638806
Report to moderator
1542638806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542638806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542638806
Reply with quote  #2

1542638806
Report to moderator
1542638806
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542638806

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542638806
Reply with quote  #2

1542638806
Report to moderator
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1259

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 06, 2015, 01:37:27 AM
 #2

I spent some time starting to plot curves, but to get the kind of data I wanted was taking forever and I had other stuff to do.

I do have three Tubes running right now, undervolted to about 0.73 and 180MHz. I couldn't get much stable below 730mV but it could have been a software limitation. I only spent one evening testing what I currently have running.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1003



View Profile
November 06, 2015, 03:50:21 AM
 #3

Hey Virosa,

I'll include some extra rosewill 120mm fans for it.  The factory fans are REALLY annoying, push-pull is the way to go with these but you may have to replace the main fans.

Sidehack I remember you posting a flat efficiency chart over a large frequency chart?

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1063



View Profile
November 06, 2015, 04:11:34 AM
 #4

Hey Virosa,

I'll include some extra rosewill 120mm fans for it.  The factory fans are REALLY annoying, push-pull is the way to go with these but you may have to replace the main fans.

Sidehack I remember you posting a flat efficiency chart over a large frequency chart?

Aweh man, you're the best, thanks. Cheesy
I intend on running them with the outside hair blowing in them to cool them off for a while but when it get colder, i thought it would be nice to mess around with volt, especially for efficiency.

I spent some time starting to plot curves, but to get the kind of data I wanted was taking forever and I had other stuff to do.

I do have three Tubes running right now, undervolted to about 0.73 and 180MHz. I couldn't get much stable below 730mV but it could have been a software limitation. I only spent one evening testing what I currently have running.

Does that mean the machine take -vddc voltage command or such? Because gaining a bit of efficiency i could run 2 or 3 on one 15a 120v, would be nice. So if the machine has a easy way to down volt, that would be very nice.
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1003



View Profile
November 06, 2015, 05:10:02 AM
 #5

I'm pretty sure that voltage control is only possible by using the USB-UART adapters GekkoSci were making along with a custom version of BFGminer if I'm not mistaken.  The BE controllers that come with it are archaic and finnicky at best (and can only run on GHash pool from what I remember).  In summary, the controller/firmware that came with it is a real P.O.S.

Edit: it's CGminer.  Here's the thread for the adapters: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857048.0

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
helipotte
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 636
Merit: 500


Pick and place? I need more coffee.


View Profile
November 06, 2015, 05:32:14 AM
 #6

Voltage control on these means pencil modding, or changing resistors, or adding pots.  Can't be done in software.  At least not one that I know of.

I have one that does 300gh@300w.  The BE200 seems to be linear at 1w/GH.

The tube I modded bottomed out at 0.75V.  Below this too many chips where turned off.  Had to change each regulator individually, 8 per board. Tongue
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1778
Merit: 1102



View Profile
November 06, 2015, 05:39:46 AM
 #7

Is this that miner that's very wide and prone to starting fires?


.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1259

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 06, 2015, 05:53:35 AM
 #8

All three of mine light up every chip at 730-740mV.  Everything 720mV or lower and somewhere between a bunch and every chip was turned off. I soldered a 6.34K resistor over top of the 3.3K in the feedback divider which takes the core voltage down from 800mV. It's a TPS53355 (same as on the AM Cube, BTCGarden AMV2, S1, S2 and pretty much everything Rockminer) so the voltage is fixed by a resistor divider and internal reference. No software control, no manual adjustment without altering hardware.

The BE controllers have a botched stratum implementation that is hosed on most pools. It works on slush and mmpool, that I know of. My three are running off one of those controllers.

The burninating miner is the Prisma. Same ASIC, different topology.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
VirosaGITS
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1063



View Profile
November 06, 2015, 07:03:15 AM
 #9

Voltage control on these means pencil modding, or changing resistors, or adding pots.  Can't be done in software.  At least not one that I know of.

I have one that does 300gh@300w.  The BE200 seems to be linear at 1w/GH.

The tube I modded bottomed out at 0.75V.  Below this too many chips where turned off.  Had to change each regulator individually, 8 per board. Tongue

Pen modding would not be a problem, is that actually doable? If someone would kindly point me to the information i need to do this. If not, i'm not very familiar with soldering stuff, but i have a soldering iron, maybe i could do it?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!