Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:25:11 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 4 Radeon 5830s?  (Read 2259 times)
Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 04:47:54 PM
 #1

Hi, I'm about to join the mining craze and just wanted to know if this is a good system for $827 bucks. I could probably overclock each of the 5830s to reach 300 mil-hash/second. Which gives me a 1.2 bill-hash/second system.

Will a 950 watt power supply do?

1480839911
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480839911

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480839911
Reply with quote  #2

1480839911
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Freakin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 04:50:05 PM
 #2

What are the other specs?

I think it's a pretty good system for $827.  5830 is a great card for the value.

They pull about 200W (from what I've read), so with overclocking 950W is probably doable but doesn't leave you much wiggle room.

i got my cards running in windows @ 306MH/s without any problem
airdata
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 05:03:30 PM
 #3

What are you using / doing to get that speed on them?  I have some in the mail now.  Thanks.
Freakin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 05:08:23 PM
 #4

What are you using / doing to get that speed on them?  I have some in the mail now.  Thanks.

Win7 64-bit
Phoenix with Phatk

Trixx overclocked the cards to 990/330 at stock voltage

-v VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=12 WORKSIZE=256
lonestar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 05:09:42 PM
 #5

which motherboard?
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
June 06, 2011, 05:10:44 PM
 #6

What are you using / doing to get that speed on them?  I have some in the mail now.  Thanks.

Win7 64-bit
Phoenix with Phatk

Trixx overclocked the cards to 990/330 at stock voltage

-v VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=12 WORKSIZE=256
Do you have them crossfired?  If not, how did you get Trixx to overclock all of the cards?
Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 05:17:45 PM
 #7

Haha, that's just great. I was just about to buy them and they went out of stock...

lemosax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 06:39:15 PM
 #8

I just built two of these systems, so this may be helpful for you:
MSI 890FXA-GD70 with Sempron 140
CORSAIR 950TX P/S
HAF-X Case with 1 additional 200mm top fan, 1 additional 140mm inside
4 Saphire 5830 GPUs
1 7200 RPM HD

Overclocking the GPUs to 950MHz Core, 300MHz Memory results in 288Mhash/sec.

Power draw is 668 Watts while hashing, even with fans set at 100%.  At least according to the Kill-A-Watt.
Freakin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 06:50:40 PM
 #9

What are you using / doing to get that speed on them?  I have some in the mail now.  Thanks.

Win7 64-bit
Phoenix with Phatk

Trixx overclocked the cards to 990/330 at stock voltage

-v VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=12 WORKSIZE=256
Do you have them crossfired?  If not, how did you get Trixx to overclock all of the cards?

Sorry, not crossfired.  They are individual cards in non-dedicated machines.  I have one in my desktop, one in my media server and one in a temporary machine that is waiting for the proper RAM to be sent...
Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 11:20:46 PM
 #10

I just built two of these systems, so this may be helpful for you:
MSI 890FXA-GD70 with Sempron 140
CORSAIR 950TX P/S
HAF-X Case with 1 additional 200mm top fan, 1 additional 140mm inside
4 Saphire 5830 GPUs
1 7200 RPM HD

Overclocking the GPUs to 950MHz Core, 300MHz Memory results in 288Mhash/sec.

Power draw is 668 Watts while hashing, even with fans set at 100%.  At least according to the Kill-A-Watt.


I got the XFX 5830s from Tiger Direct. Do you think an antec 750watt PSU would work?

sirky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407



View Profile
June 06, 2011, 11:22:42 PM
 #11

I would run a little higher than that. That seems to be cutting it close.
Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 11:29:22 PM
 #12

I would run a little higher than that. That seems to be cutting it close.

850watt?

kr105
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile WWW
June 06, 2011, 11:36:10 PM
 #13

Yesterday i saw some 5830 on ebay for under $150, now they are all gone! Only $180+ remain Sad
bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 11:36:31 PM
 #14

I would run a little higher than that. That seems to be cutting it close.

850watt?

I'm glad to see someone not looking to immediately buy 1000Watts+ for no reason. First things first, "xxx watt" is not the only factor. There are plenty of "850 Watt" power supplies out there that will almost 100% for sure die a gruesome death running 4x 5830s.

I would recommend an 850Watt PSU not because it's necessary, but because unless you know enough about power trimming, it might become necessary. Get something simple like a http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139022 and you will be golden. It's pretty cheap for what you get. You can get cheaper but you'll need to do research.

bcpokey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 11:37:14 PM
 #15

Yesterday i saw some 5830 on ebay for under $150, now they are all gone! Only $180+ remain Sad

Don't buy 5830s for $150, that's a bad bad deal. You'd be better off buying 6870s for around that price. 5830s are only sought after because they retail for ~$100.
Freakin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 11:40:46 PM
 #16

Or go with something like an Antec 900W.

Antec are reliable and have great warranties
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371050

BitCointransfers
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 11:45:47 PM
 #17

I'm running a box with 4 x 5830 using quality cooler master 850W Silent Pro Supply. No probs
Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 11:47:59 PM
 #18

I would run a little higher than that. That seems to be cutting it close.

850watt?

I'm glad to see someone not looking to immediately buy 1000Watts+ for no reason. First things first, "xxx watt" is not the only factor. There are plenty of "850 Watt" power supplies out there that will almost 100% for sure die a gruesome death running 4x 5830s.

I would recommend an 850Watt PSU not because it's necessary, but because unless you know enough about power trimming, it might become necessary. Get something simple like a http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139022 and you will be golden. It's pretty cheap for what you get. You can get cheaper but you'll need to do research.



Thanks, I know Corsair makes quality PSUs. Smiley

Ooh, the free 2 day shipping trial is very nice!

Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 06, 2011, 11:51:01 PM
 #19

Yesterday i saw some 5830 on ebay for under $150, now they are all gone! Only $180+ remain Sad

Don't buy 5830s for $150, that's a bad bad deal. You'd be better off buying 6870s for around that price. 5830s are only sought after because they retail for ~$100.

Bought them from TigerDirect because I can get two $30 rebates.

Plus, they each come with a game code worth $20!

Guess I'm going to keep one of the codes to myself and sell the other 3.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!