Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2018, 09:51:29 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: What frequency works best for Antminer S7?  (Read 17918 times)
DRKMSTR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2015, 07:22:07 AM
 #1

Please post your results, there are a lot of frequencies and setups, so please post the following in this format.



Batch: Batch#
Frequency: Freq#
Hashrate: Hashrate#
Power consumption: PowerConsumption# (If possible)
Fan Speed: FanSpeedPercentage#
Avg Blade Temperature: TempInCelcius#
Hardware Errors Per Day: HWerrors#


For example:


Batch: 6
Frequency: 575
Hashrate: 3.82TH/s
Power consumption: N/A
Fan Speed: 35%
Avg Blade Temperature: 54C
Hardware Errors Per Day: 3/day


The MAD DOGE: http://maddoge.com/
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542577889
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542577889

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542577889
Reply with quote  #2

1542577889
Report to moderator
dimke_yu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
November 29, 2015, 10:03:14 AM
 #2

Batch: 4
Frequency: 575
Hashrate: 4.6TH/s
Power consumption: 1112W from the wall
Fan Speed: 45% fixed
Avg Blade Temperature: 45C
Hardware Errors Per Day: 0.0147%

Tupsu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1003



View Profile
November 29, 2015, 10:04:56 AM
 #3

Attention:

Below is the corresponding default frequency for S7 miners with hash rate and batch #.



With overclocking you lose the warranty.

DRKMSTR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2015, 02:38:48 PM
 #4

Batch: 4
Frequency: 575
Hashrate: 4.6TH/s
Power consumption: 1112W from the wall
Fan Speed: 45% fixed
Avg Blade Temperature: 45C
Hardware Errors Per Day: 0.0147%

How are those temperatures on your miner? Does it perform better at slightly higher temps?

Mine tends to gain an extra 100GH when it runs around 55C. I haven't tried going for below 50C yet though.

The MAD DOGE: http://maddoge.com/
rockyforever
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2015, 09:10:55 PM
 #5

Batch: 2
Frequency: 606.25
Hashrate: 4,905.24 (21 day average)
Power consumption: 1120
Fan Speed: standard - 4,080 (rpm) and 3,840 (rpm)
Avg Blade Temperature: 48
Hardware Errors Per Day: 0.0024%

Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1003



View Profile
November 29, 2015, 11:56:12 PM
 #6

No need to put down power consumption, their efficiency is basically fixed @ 0.25 W/GHs or 0.275 W/GHs ATW (depending on model) regardless of clock speed Edit: if your input voltage stays the same.  From Dogie's Antminer S7 setup thread, not sure who to give credit for it if not him: Edit: I assume this is at roughly +12V input





IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
RichBC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 30, 2015, 11:13:49 AM
 #7

No need to put down power consumption, their efficiency is basically fixed @ 0.25 W/GHs or 0.275 W/GHs ATW (depending on model) regardless of clock speed.

Efficiency is only fixed for a single supply voltage. If people are running at more or less than 12V it will change. An interesting measurement would be peoples actual supply voltage measured at the PCIe connector?


Rich

→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Hard-Disk Mineable Cryptocurrency !! B U R S T C O I N 💰 Cheap Price & Easy to Invest - CHECK IT OUT NOW! !! →→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Asset exchange, Automatic transactions, Escrow system & More !!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1377


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
November 30, 2015, 03:00:13 PM
 #8

No need to put down power consumption, their efficiency is basically fixed @ 0.25 W/GHs or 0.275 W/GHs ATW (depending on model) regardless of clock speed.

Efficiency is only fixed for a single supply voltage. If people are running at more or less than 12V it will change. An interesting measurement would be peoples actual supply voltage measured at the PCIe connector?


Rich

My batch one is pretty much a dog
My batch two is pretty much a unicorn.

That said both of them can do 5000gh if you give them 12.5 volts.

This gear loves a hot psu.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1003



View Profile
November 30, 2015, 07:31:01 PM
 #9

Efficiency is only fixed for a single supply voltage. If people are running at more or less than 12V it will change. An interesting measurement would be peoples actual supply voltage measured at the PCIe connector?
Rich

Of course, sorry I meant for a given input voltage.  I.E. if your power supply stays the same, over/under clocking will have little to no effect on YOUR unit's efficiency, only the heat generated/overall power usage. I'll take voltage measurements at the plugs when I get a chance to visit "My Friend".

It's interesting both how important actual voltage output of a PSU has become w/ string design, and how picky some of the new hardware can be about under-volting.

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
beffje
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 01, 2015, 03:49:17 PM
 #10

Batch: Batch 1
Frequency:  625
Hashrate: 5 th
Power consumption:  1225 at wall
Corsair RM1000 and RM650
Fan Speed: 30% 2760/2520 RPM
Avg Blade Temperature: 60
Hardware Errors: 0.0090%
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1377


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
December 01, 2015, 03:56:52 PM
 #11

Efficiency is only fixed for a single supply voltage. If people are running at more or less than 12V it will change. An interesting measurement would be peoples actual supply voltage measured at the PCIe connector?
Rich

Of course, sorry I meant for a given input voltage.  I.E. if your power supply stays the same, over/under clocking will have little to no effect on YOUR unit's efficiency, only the heat generated/overall power usage. I'll take voltage measurements at the plugs when I get a chance to visit "My Friend".

It's interesting both how important actual voltage output of a PSU has become w/ string design, and how picky some of the new hardware can be about under-volting.

 It is good for you as the 4000 watt 2x psu you sell has the ability to do more then one voltage.

In fact I no longer think atx psu's are worth using on the s-7 or the avalon 6  unless you have 120 volt power.

I think your adjustable units that you are selling for j4bberwock  are the way to go.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1003



View Profile
December 01, 2015, 04:43:40 PM
 #12


 It is good for you as the 4000 watt 2x psu you sell has the ability to do more then one voltage.

In fact I no longer think atx psu's are worth using on the s-7 or the avalon 6  unless you have 120 volt power.

I think your adjustable units that you are selling for j4bberwock  are the way to go.


Yes I am excited to produce some and try them out.  The one demo model I got from him I had to send out to get the side/front panels figured out.  Should be receiving the PCB's and start soldering this week.

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282
Merit: 1377


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
December 01, 2015, 08:46:39 PM
 #13


 It is good for you as the 4000 watt 2x psu you sell has the ability to do more then one voltage.

In fact I no longer think atx psu's are worth using on the s-7 or the avalon 6  unless you have 120 volt power.

I think your adjustable units that you are selling for j4bberwock  are the way to go.


Yes I am excited to produce some and try them out.  The one demo model I got from him I had to send out to get the side/front panels figured out.  Should be receiving the PCB's and start soldering this week.

yeah both the s-7 and avalon 6 have show they want a hot psu  12.2 12.4 12.6

your new 2000 2x setup will be very good for them. better then the 2880 units.  I want one when you get them in.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
geotete
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 03, 2015, 09:42:40 PM
 #14

Hi Everybody,

What batch is mine? Since the seller didn't specified?
What I have in the sticker is:
AntMiner S7 Submodel:S7_4.86

Model: S7 Version:V2.01

All the best,

Geotete
hodedowe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 251


View Profile
December 03, 2015, 09:45:39 PM
 #15

Hi Everybody,

What batch is mine? Since the seller didn't specified?
What I have in the sticker is:
AntMiner S7 Submodel:S7_4.86

Model: S7 Version:V2.01

All the best,

Geotete


That's batch 3, 5, or 1. That's the best I can do at narrowing it down.

Solo mining is alive and profitable!
Helped? Thanks! 1CXRFh4bDVFBsUzoHMMDbTMPcBP14RUTus
Tupsu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1003



View Profile
December 03, 2015, 10:54:09 PM
 #16

Hi Everybody,

What batch is mine? Since the seller didn't specified?
What I have in the sticker is:
AntMiner S7 Submodel:S7_4.86

Model: S7 Version:V2.01

All the best,

Geotete

late Batch 5

Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1079


View Profile
December 04, 2015, 04:30:40 AM
 #17


 It is good for you as the 4000 watt 2x psu you sell has the ability to do more then one voltage.

In fact I no longer think atx psu's are worth using on the s-7 or the avalon 6  unless you have 120 volt power.

I think your adjustable units that you are selling for j4bberwock  are the way to go.


Yes I am excited to produce some and try them out.  The one demo model I got from him I had to send out to get the side/front panels figured out.  Should be receiving the PCB's and start soldering this week.

a naive question, perhaps, but are 2880W PSUs capable of slightly more than 12V or only 4000w "beasts" can do it?
I am just curious.
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1003



View Profile
December 04, 2015, 06:37:10 AM
 #18


 It is good for you as the 4000 watt 2x psu you sell has the ability to do more then one voltage.

In fact I no longer think atx psu's are worth using on the s-7 or the avalon 6  unless you have 120 volt power.

I think your adjustable units that you are selling for j4bberwock  are the way to go.


Yes I am excited to produce some and try them out.  The one demo model I got from him I had to send out to get the side/front panels figured out.  Should be receiving the PCB's and start soldering this week.

a naive question, perhaps, but are 2880W PSUs capable of slightly more than 12V or only 4000w "beasts" can do it?
I am just curious.

The IBM 2880's typically put out slightly over 12V, but only the 4K boards will have the option to under or over volt at this time. I believe J4bberwock has plans for more server PSU's that allow voltage control, but I'll leave that up to him when he's ready.

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
geotete
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 04, 2015, 08:17:13 AM
 #19

Hi, again,

Since mine is a late batch 5, here it goes:
All the values, are in a controlled temperature room, at a steady 14ºC all year around, with a humidity of 60%.
I don't know the power consumption, but I have 2x 1250w HP PSU, powering the S7.
The values, are a average calculated, at 48 hours each.
http://www.dfagundes.com/Foruns/value.jpg
Since, I don't know how to interpreter this values, your help is appreciated!
I don't know if have any gain in going at more than 625...


All the Best,

Geotete
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1000


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
December 04, 2015, 02:50:14 PM
 #20

S7 B7


Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!