Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2018, 11:14:43 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer s3  (Read 4932 times)
talks_cheep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 25, 2016, 03:02:00 AM
 #21

Antminer S3 is still a viable option because bitcoin price is going up this year, it's perfect for those who HODL. If you need to sell your bitcoins right away, it's probably not a good miner to run.

PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544829283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544829283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544829283
Reply with quote  #2

1544829283
Report to moderator
1544829283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544829283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544829283
Reply with quote  #2

1544829283
Report to moderator
baazju
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 25, 2016, 03:07:18 AM
 #22

I still mine with my S3+. Thinking about switching them toSolo and hope to get lucky.

Beware of scammers.
tblake05
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 25, 2016, 03:04:03 PM
 #23

Thanks for the reply!  I put them both back to normal for now.  The EVGA PSU came with 4 pcie dedicated cables and 2 pcie cables that split into two each.  So 8 total.  I have each miner hooked to a split cable with each branch of the cable going to a different bank, then each miner also has 2 dedicated pcie cables going to individual banks.  So each bank gets one dedicated and one split pcie cable.  If that makes sense.  I know its not ideal, but its all ive got.

Suggestions?
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 25, 2016, 05:33:20 PM
 #24

Thanks for the reply!  I put them both back to normal for now.  The EVGA PSU came with 4 pcie dedicated cables and 2 pcie cables that split into two each.  So 8 total.  I have each miner hooked to a split cable with each branch of the cable going to a different bank, then each miner also has 2 dedicated pcie cables going to individual banks.  So each bank gets one dedicated and one split pcie cable.  If that makes sense.  I know its not ideal, but its all ive got.

Suggestions?

Did normal freq make miner go back to all O's?   That is the big thing is that you get rid of those X's as you will lose speed.   

So i'm guessing best suggestion is just leave as normal freq.  Having 2 PCIE and splitting them into 2 each is not like having 4 different PCIe cables per miner, which some OC needs.   
RustyNoman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 189
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 26, 2016, 10:41:47 AM
 #25

I still mine with my S3+. Thinking about switching them toSolo and hope to get lucky.

If you do not mind the electricity cost and want to mine. Then it is OK to mine with S3+. You might be able to make it more efficient by reducing the voltage.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!