Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2017, 09:23:55 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S7 turned off automatically  (Read 2895 times)
sam-j
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
February 02, 2016, 03:31:05 PM
 #1

before asking the question it is better to interduce what i am using in

Antminer S7 (Bought from BitMain)

BitMain PSU (Bought from BitMain)

220V & 10-16A & 3*0.75mm^2 Power Cord for the PSU

A DAIYO laptop power protector which supports 10-16A & 250V (http://www.daiyo.com.sg/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=110)


Yesterday I recived my antminer S7 so when I had connected PCI pins i connected the PSU's power cord with that laptop power adapter i said.

Then the antminer powered up with variable fan speed. Then i connected the network cable then when i was going to sit in front of my pc to config the antminer it just powered off and i didn't understand which one powered off first PSU or Antminer but they both had turned off.

i ran and unplug the Power Cord (It was very hat) so that i thought that the pwoer cord may has burned so to test that i connected that to my compuetr psu and my computer didn't powered up so then i knew it that it was burned but 30min after my father test that again and this time my computer powered up .

what is the problem ?? Pleas help

What made Antminer to turn off automatically ??

Have i done anything wrong ?

Someone told me i should have used a 3*1.5mm^2 Power Cord is that the answer ?

Has the antminer been damaged ??

here is a picture of my antminer
http://i.stack.imgur.com/K59Jz.jpg
1508707435
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508707435

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508707435
Reply with quote  #2

1508707435
Report to moderator
1508707435
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508707435

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508707435
Reply with quote  #2

1508707435
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508707435
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508707435

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508707435
Reply with quote  #2

1508707435
Report to moderator
1508707435
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508707435

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508707435
Reply with quote  #2

1508707435
Report to moderator
1508707435
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508707435

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508707435
Reply with quote  #2

1508707435
Report to moderator
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
February 02, 2016, 03:40:28 PM
 #2

before asking the question it is better to interduce what i am using in

Antminer S7 (Bought from BitMain)

BitMain PSU (Bought from BitMain)

220V & 10-16A & 3*0.75mm^2 Power Cord for the PSU

A DAIYO laptop power protector which supports 10-16A & 250V (http://www.daiyo.com.sg/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=110)


Yesterday I recived my antminer S7 so when I had connected PCI pins i connected the PSU's power cord with that laptop power adapter i said.

Then the antminer powered up with variable fan speed. Then i connected the network cable then when i was going to sit in front of my pc to config the antminer it just powered off and i didn't understand which one powered off first PSU or Antminer but they both had turned off.

i ran and unplug the Power Cord (It was very hat) so that i thought that the pwoer cord may has burned so to test that i connected that to my compuetr psu and my computer didn't powered up so then i knew it that it was burned but 30min after my father test that again and this time my computer powered up .

what is the problem ?? Pleas help

What made Antminer to turn off automatically ??

Have i done anything wrong ?

Someone told me i should have used a 3*1.5mm^2 Power Cord is that the answer ?

Has the antminer been damaged ??

here is a picture of my antminer


Where do you get stats for the surge protector/adapter.   Just looking at that thing it looks pretty cheap.   Is it truly rated for this kinda power? *read the stats on back of packaging.  Have you tried without that adapter even though it say's up to 16a just looks cheap?

And I could be off base and it is perfect.  Just have not seen anyone post before that I know of using a 8 dollar dollar adapter for so many watts.
sam-j
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
February 02, 2016, 03:43:32 PM
 #3


Where do you get stats for the surge protector/adapter.   Just looking at that thing it looks pretty cheap.   Is it truly rated for this kinda power?

And I could be off base and it is perfect.  Just have not seen anyone post before that I know of using a 8 dollar dollar adapter for so many watts.

it was the only adapter availibale in local markets . the questions is do you think thats the problem ??
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
February 02, 2016, 03:51:44 PM
 #4


Where do you get stats for the surge protector/adapter.   Just looking at that thing it looks pretty cheap.   Is it truly rated for this kinda power?

And I could be off base and it is perfect.  Just have not seen anyone post before that I know of using a 8 dollar dollar adapter for so many watts.

it was the only adapter availibale in local markets . the questions is do you think thats the problem ??

The other thing is it sounds like your using your power cable from a PC for the bitmain server PSU?  I personally use a nicer heavier gauge cable for my bitmain PSU's that goes into a PDU.

If your using a cheap power cable i could see that as a reason for it to heat up possibly.  Don't know enough to say since don't know what your using.  There are different AWG cables.  Some are much nicer then others.
sam-j
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
February 02, 2016, 04:11:24 PM
 #5

The other thing is it sounds like your using your power cable from a PC for the bitmain server PSU?  I personally use a nicer heavier gauge cable for my bitmain PSU's that goes into a PDU.

If your using a cheap power cable i could see that as a reason for it to heat up possibly.  Don't know enough to say since don't know what your using.  There are different AWG cables.  Some are much nicer then others.
http://imgur.com/yzZyHsm

that is what i'm using 220V & 10-16A & 3*0.75mm^2  it was very hard to find a cable which support 16A and the yes it was very cheap but the was the most expensive in those cheap cable  Undecided

and it is impossible for me to buy a PDU

do you think the antminer has been damaged ?
OrangeGator
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
February 02, 2016, 05:50:15 PM
 #6

If the power cord got very hot, then that means it's either faulty or too small or gauge to handle to power being pulled through it.  You need to get a new, bigger gauge cable to start.  Then you can determine if there was damage to the miner or psu (probably not).  The miner likely shut down due to lack of power due to the crappy cable.

If the power cable got hot where it plugs into your adapter, then it could also be caused by the adapter.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
February 02, 2016, 05:58:48 PM
 #7

If the power cord got very hot, then that means it's either faulty or too small or gauge to handle to power being pulled through it.  You need to get a new, bigger gauge cable to start.  Then you can determine if there was damage to the miner or psu (probably not).  The miner likely shut down due to lack of power due to the crappy cable.

If the power cable got hot where it plugs into your adapter, then it could also be caused by the adapter.

That is the problem it could be either of these.   The adapter just does not appear to be something I would send 1300 or more watts through.

The cable I think is to small of gauge most likely.  Getting hot is a pretty good indicator of this.  The best of "local markets" might not be good enough I order a decent PSU cable from amazon when I'm getting one for a server PSU like the bitmain one.  I have a feeling most local markets unless you have a good computer store is not good enough.
sam-j
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
February 02, 2016, 06:05:17 PM
 #8

i just tried to test the PSU

unpluged all PCI's then pluged it to power but the fan didn't run

is iit ok ? or the fan should start ?
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
February 02, 2016, 06:11:41 PM
 #9

i just tried to test the PSU

unpluged all PCI's then pluged it to power but the fan didn't run

is iit ok ? or the fan should start ?


I would first try eliminating things.  Can you try without adapter?

See if it powers up without it go to the IP and access it and see what miner say's.  If it works without adapter then look at cable next and see if it get's hot.  If so stop using it if truly hot to touch and get a better cable.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
February 03, 2016, 03:18:27 AM
 #10

i just tried to test the PSU

unpluged all PCI's then pluged it to power but the fan didn't run

is iit ok ? or the fan should start ?


that cable for your power cord is totally and completely not acceptable.

1.4mm is good .75mm is a fucking joke.

FIRE FIRE FIRE!!!!   can I make it any clearer then that?

 tell me your country and I will search a proper power cord  for you.  As dying for mining coins is not acceptable.

DO NOT PLUG IT IN WAIT FOR A NEW CORD!!!!!!!!

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sam-j
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
February 03, 2016, 11:53:01 AM
 #11

that cable for your power cord is totally and completely not acceptable.

1.4mm is good .75mm is a fucking joke.

FIRE FIRE FIRE!!!!   can I make it any clearer then that?

 tell me your country and I will search a proper power cord  for you.  As dying for mining coins is not acceptable.

DO NOT PLUG IT IN WAIT FOR A NEW CORD!!!!!!!!
I'm in Iran

just fucking cheap chinese cables are availibale here

I told the sellers houndred of time that i'm gonna use a 16A device which is going to be 24/7 on, and they all gave me this fucking cable
zOU
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
February 03, 2016, 01:19:27 PM
 #12

I have a couple of spare power cables with 1mm2 internal wires that I can try to send you from France if you want.

I'm using 18AWG (0.824mm2) for my S3 power suppply (850W)

and as they have a EU plug, you won't need the travel adapter Wink

sam-j
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
February 03, 2016, 07:21:04 PM
 #13

After 4 hour of looking in stores to find a 1.5mm^2 cable

Finally I bought two cable

1.5mm^2  250V   10A

1mm^2 250V   10-16A

Which one I should use ??
zOU
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
February 03, 2016, 07:28:27 PM
 #14

I don't see why the 1,5mm2 would only be rated 10A.

I would use this one.

sam-j
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
February 03, 2016, 08:13:54 PM
 #15

I don't see why the 1,5mm2 would only be rated 10A.

Yes, that's strange  Huh
sam-j
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
February 03, 2016, 08:21:08 PM
 #16

Before powering it up again it was very emphasized on antminer s7 to give a shake to it and check if any of tge heat sniks have become losse or fallen

I gave a shake to it and I felt a little that there is something in device which makes sound. Do you think I should open fans and take a closer look at hashboards ??
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
February 03, 2016, 09:32:40 PM
 #17

Before powering it up again it was very emphasized on antminer s7 to give a shake to it and check if any of tge heat sniks have become losse or fallen

I gave a shake to it and I felt a little that there is something in device which makes sound. Do you think I should open fans and take a closer look at hashboards ??

Yes but get a strong flashlight do both fans and look all the way through the miner

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Alifali
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
February 03, 2016, 11:20:23 PM
 #18

Is this good enough?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1M-EU-Plug-Main-Power-Cable-Silver-Plated-Audiophile-Hi-end-4N-OFC-15A-250V-Pro-/231833122229?hash=item35fa54b5b5:g:hPUAAOSwdpxUUzgA
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
February 04, 2016, 01:39:07 AM
 #19


I think the end that goes into the miner is wrong  but it is a very good cable


http://www.ebay.com/itm/PDU-PSU-IEC-C14-male-to-C19-adapter-IEC-C19-to-C14-adapter-/151851542263?

that cable with this adapter would be good.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
zOU
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
February 04, 2016, 06:49:53 AM
 #20


The power cable is fine, you do not need a C19 adapter.

https://bitmaintech.com/productDetail.htm?pid=000201505040743496917U7kGsCm0694
Interface Type
IEC320-C13


Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!