Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 06:55:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: CoinURL sold to the new owner  (Read 19421 times)
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 05:43:49 PM
 #41

So is there any reason why the server(s) handling ads needs to be the same one handling campaign management?

Good point, I was actually pondering this on my way to work.  I have a hosting package through Bravenet that is good until 2014, and as you can see I moved bitcointrading.com there last night, and it's like ridiculously fast now, so if I could move the campaign management files there, might be a good idea.


So when the site is running, and everyone requests withdrawls at once...  Be realistic.  Site is starting up with no funds and we have to work together on this one.  If you have a balance, use it for advertising like you had originally intended.  Publishers, I think I can handle the amounts that you are likely to be receiving.  I know with CoinURL I had the banners up for the whole 6 months, I got like a half million pageviews and I only netted like 0.20 BTC.

Epic. Just...epic.

25% fee for withdrawal is even more epic!! i tried to withdar 0.1 BTC today. 0.075 are in the queue now. but the real bitcoin transaction hasnt started yet Sad

Dude, the 25% fee was on CoinURL since the beginning.  I haven't changed anything.  In fact, I'll be more likely to eliminate the fee than anything, quit your bitching.  Even see this thread -> https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=129632.0

Ya, the 25% thing always seemed pretty ridiculous to me. Especially since most bitcoin sites seme to have a theme of really low percentages on any fees. Id expect like 1 or 2%, even 5% would be fine. not a quarter of your whole earnings.. just sayin

Yeah 25% is insane, especially when it's not very clear beforehands. 

I have configured CoinURL on the mc_lovin's server and it is ready to run right after DNS will be rewritten.

CoinURL will be up before you know it.  Waiting on the slow registrars to do their thing with the transfer.

cur.lv links are working.

I noticed the server started to dance a little bit with the extra load, and I doubled the memory and added a 3rd CPU core, I'll increase it further if need be, but I think it should be pretty spunky as is.  Tuning PHP and MySQL will probably go a long way too. 

Sorry for the delay!



Nice to hear that, don't forget about memcached! It reduces the server load around 45-50%.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78793.msg1316680#msg1316680

Already got memcached in there, but maybe it's not configured properly?

Found this last night -> http://php.net/manual/en/book.apc.php

Wonder if that will help?

1511463307
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511463307

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511463307
Reply with quote  #2

1511463307
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511463307
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511463307

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511463307
Reply with quote  #2

1511463307
Report to moderator
paraipan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Firstbits: 1pirata


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 06:06:30 PM
 #42

...

Nice to hear that, don't forget about memcached! It reduces the server load around 45-50%.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78793.msg1316680#msg1316680

Already got memcached in there, but maybe it's not configured properly?

Found this last night -> http://php.net/manual/en/book.apc.php

Wonder if that will help?


Allright!

Code:
memcached-tool 127.0.0.1:11211 stats

But to be sure here are some tricks:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/631903/how-do-you-know-if-memcached-is-doing-anything

It was implemented already by giantdragon at coinurls's code level, so it should work right away.

BTCitcoin: An Idea Worth Saving - Q&A with bitcoins on rugatu.com - Check my rep
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile
January 23, 2013, 06:19:32 PM
 #43

You messed up the links somewhere. The ad Stats link on the dropdown sends you here instead: https://http//coinurl.bitcointrading.com//stats-banner.php?id=400

Also, since the site went down my ads didn't get even a single view, and given that the site is working again for a couple days, you know what I mean...

mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 06:23:45 PM
 #44

You messed up the links somewhere. The ad Stats link on the dropdown sends you here instead: https://http//coinurl.bitcointrading.com//stats-banner.php?id=400



k that should be fixed.  I fixed it to point at coinurl.com last night I guess I fixed my offline copy lmao.  I don't know why the double http's are on there, that might be because the .bitcointrading didn't have the SSL redirect.

...

Nice to hear that, don't forget about memcached! It reduces the server load around 45-50%.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78793.msg1316680#msg1316680

Already got memcached in there, but maybe it's not configured properly?

Found this last night -> http://php.net/manual/en/book.apc.php

Wonder if that will help?


Allright!

Code:
memcached-tool 127.0.0.1:11211 stats

But to be sure here are some tricks:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/631903/how-do-you-know-if-memcached-is-doing-anything

It was implemented already by giantdragon at coinurls's code level, so it should work right away.

Weird, memcached-tool doesn't respond from the command line like a global app.  Either it's not in there or I need to go to the memcache directory to use it.  I'll poke around, but I have "memcached" and "php5-memcached" in there..

Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile
January 23, 2013, 06:39:33 PM
 #45

errrmmm, are you aware that memcache and memcached are 2 different implementations of the same thing? Maybe your problem lies in that little detail?

mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 06:55:08 PM
 #46

errrmmm, are you aware that memcache and memcached are 2 different implementations of the same thing? Maybe your problem lies in that little detail?


Probably..

# ps aux | grep memcache
memcache   675  0.0  1.1 354784 23572 ?        Sl   22:27   0:00 /usr/bin/memcached -m 256 -p 11211 -u memcache -l 127.0.0.1

so my process is called memcache and the file it's running is called mecached...  I has the right one?   edit: memcache is the user memcached was running as i have discovered

mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 06:57:44 PM
 #47

Code:
# echo "stats settings" | nc localhost 11211
STAT maxbytes 268435456
STAT maxconns 1024
STAT tcpport 11211
STAT udpport 11211
STAT inter 127.0.0.1
STAT verbosity 0
STAT oldest 0
STAT evictions on
STAT domain_socket NULL
STAT umask 700
STAT growth_factor 1.25
STAT chunk_size 48
STAT num_threads 4
STAT num_threads_per_udp 4
STAT stat_key_prefix :
STAT detail_enabled no
STAT reqs_per_event 20
STAT cas_enabled yes
STAT tcp_backlog 1024
STAT binding_protocol auto-negotiate
STAT auth_enabled_sasl no
STAT item_size_max 1048576
STAT maxconns_fast no
STAT hashpower_init 0
STAT slab_reassign no
STAT slab_automove no
END

Compared to the output on this page:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/631903/how-do-you-know-if-memcached-is-doing-anything

it doesn't look like mine is really doing much.

K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


/dev/null


View Profile
January 23, 2013, 07:28:07 PM
 #48

errrmmm, are you aware that memcache and memcached are 2 different implementations of the same thing? Maybe your problem lies in that little detail?


Probably..

# ps aux | grep memcache
memcache   675  0.0  1.1 354784 23572 ?        Sl   22:27   0:00 /usr/bin/memcached -m 256 -p 11211 -u memcache -l 127.0.0.1

so my process is called memcache and the file it's running is called mecached...  I has the right one? 
wrong, first row is the username of the process (since u specified u as parameter) and u use memcached

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
paraipan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Firstbits: 1pirata


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 07:35:35 PM
 #49

errrmmm, are you aware that memcache and memcached are 2 different implementations of the same thing? Maybe your problem lies in that little detail?


Probably..

# ps aux | grep memcache
memcache   675  0.0  1.1 354784 23572 ?        Sl   22:27   0:00 /usr/bin/memcached -m 256 -p 11211 -u memcache -l 127.0.0.1

so my process is called memcache and the file it's running is called mecached...  I has the right one? 
wrong, first row is the username of the process (since u specified u as parameter) and u use memcached

It seems to be working fine, no problem there. Now you can ask giandragon to take a look at it, and see if it needs some last code tweaks. If it all works, you should be able withstand a great deal of traffic with a low end VPS just fine.

BTCitcoin: An Idea Worth Saving - Q&A with bitcoins on rugatu.com - Check my rep
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 08:03:45 PM
 #50

errrmmm, are you aware that memcache and memcached are 2 different implementations of the same thing? Maybe your problem lies in that little detail?


Probably..

# ps aux | grep memcache
memcache   675  0.0  1.1 354784 23572 ?        Sl   22:27   0:00 /usr/bin/memcached -m 256 -p 11211 -u memcache -l 127.0.0.1

so my process is called memcache and the file it's running is called mecached...  I has the right one? 
wrong, first row is the username of the process (since u specified u as parameter) and u use memcached

I realized that when I was looking in the memcached conf and it showed the memcached default user is memcache.  you must have posted that the exact time I edited the post lmao.

errrmmm, are you aware that memcache and memcached are 2 different implementations of the same thing? Maybe your problem lies in that little detail?


Probably..

# ps aux | grep memcache
memcache   675  0.0  1.1 354784 23572 ?        Sl   22:27   0:00 /usr/bin/memcached -m 256 -p 11211 -u memcache -l 127.0.0.1

so my process is called memcache and the file it's running is called mecached...  I has the right one? 
wrong, first row is the username of the process (since u specified u as parameter) and u use memcached

It seems to be working fine, no problem there. Now you can ask giandragon to take a look at it, and see if it needs some last code tweaks. If it all works, you should be able withstand a great deal of traffic with a low end VPS just fine.

Yeah maybe it's in the codes.  And if a low-end VPS can do it, this mid-end VPS should be able to dominate and I'm going to keep begging my boss to let me leave my dual-quad-771 xeon box at the datacenter so the site can have unlimited power.

wachtwoord
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


View Profile
January 23, 2013, 08:07:41 PM
 #51

Wow there is a lot of text there. I just like to report the site is up but my ad slot is timing out (http://coinurl.com/get.php?id=2572 ). If this is known (intentionally disabled or something) ignore this message.

mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 08:49:31 PM
 #52

Wow there is a lot of text there. I just like to report the site is up but my ad slot is timing out (http://coinurl.com/get.php?id=2572 ). If this is known (intentionally disabled or something) ignore this message.

We're trying to make it happen.  The server is just going bananas and it looks like it should be working but it's not. 

Server load is like bandwidth is @ 2%, CPU at 2%, memory free and everything is beyond crawling. 

Memcache will increase the power tremendously if we can get it working.  It's "working" but not doing anything with the site.

K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


/dev/null


View Profile
January 23, 2013, 09:54:30 PM
 #53

Wow there is a lot of text there. I just like to report the site is up but my ad slot is timing out (http://coinurl.com/get.php?id=2572 ). If this is known (intentionally disabled or something) ignore this message.

We're trying to make it happen.  The server is just going bananas and it looks like it should be working but it's not. 

Server load is like bandwidth is @ 2%, CPU at 2%, memory free and everything is beyond crawling. 

Memcache will increase the power tremendously if we can get it working.  It's "working" but not doing anything with the site.
normal, u have to develop the site for memcached, u cant just install memcached and everything is done.

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 10:13:31 PM
 #54

Wow there is a lot of text there. I just like to report the site is up but my ad slot is timing out (http://coinurl.com/get.php?id=2572 ). If this is known (intentionally disabled or something) ignore this message.

We're trying to make it happen.  The server is just going bananas and it looks like it should be working but it's not. 

Server load is like bandwidth is @ 2%, CPU at 2%, memory free and everything is beyond crawling. 

Memcache will increase the power tremendously if we can get it working.  It's "working" but not doing anything with the site.
normal, u have to develop the site for memcached, u cant just install memcached and everything is done.

There is one file that is memcached-enabled, the one that does the banner-ads.  So, my theory on why no one can see any ads being served, is because the site is trying to load them into memcached and it's not working. 

mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 10:42:21 PM
 #55

Just realized I had taken the command of showing the memcached stats there from a site and it was for the "settings".. here's the more complete output:

Code:
STAT pid 3974
STAT uptime 11070
STAT time 1358980432
STAT version 1.4.13
STAT libevent 2.0.16-stable
STAT pointer_size 64
STAT rusage_user 1.021844
STAT rusage_system 2.870563
STAT curr_connections 5
STAT total_connections 2747
STAT connection_structures 8
STAT reserved_fds 20
STAT cmd_get 48640
STAT cmd_set 15223
STAT cmd_flush 0
STAT cmd_touch 0
STAT get_hits 37446
STAT get_misses 11194
STAT delete_misses 0
STAT delete_hits 2
STAT incr_misses 4
STAT incr_hits 19
STAT decr_misses 0
STAT decr_hits 0
STAT cas_misses 0
STAT cas_hits 0
STAT cas_badval 0
STAT touch_hits 0
STAT touch_misses 0
STAT auth_cmds 0
STAT auth_errors 0
STAT bytes_read 55522928
STAT bytes_written 191612404
STAT limit_maxbytes 268435456
STAT accepting_conns 1
STAT listen_disabled_num 0
STAT threads 4
STAT conn_yields 0
STAT hash_power_level 16
STAT hash_bytes 524288
STAT hash_is_expanding 0
STAT expired_unfetched 1425
STAT evicted_unfetched 0
STAT bytes 7287761
STAT curr_items 5475
STAT total_items 15242
STAT evictions 0
STAT reclaimed 1884

So maybe memcached is in fact working.  Wow.  But it's still only 100-300 kb/s load where we can handle 6 MB/s+.

Found this page:

http://serverfault.com/questions/357799/improving-tcp-performance-over-a-gigabit-network-with-lots-of-connections-and-hi

He has a very customized /etc/sysctl.conf ...  I have never even looked at that before.

My (default) sysctl.conf:

Code:
#
# /etc/sysctl.conf - Configuration file for setting system variables
# See /etc/sysctl.d/ for additional system variables
# See sysctl.conf (5) for information.
#

#kernel.domainname = example.com

# Uncomment the following to stop low-level messages on console
#kernel.printk = 3 4 1 3

##############################################################3
# Functions previously found in netbase
#

# Uncomment the next two lines to enable Spoof protection (reverse-path filter)
# Turn on Source Address Verification in all interfaces to
# prevent some spoofing attacks
#net.ipv4.conf.default.rp_filter=1
#net.ipv4.conf.all.rp_filter=1

# Uncomment the next line to enable TCP/IP SYN cookies
# See http://lwn.net/Articles/277146/
# Note: This may impact IPv6 TCP sessions too
#net.ipv4.tcp_syncookies=1

# Uncomment the next line to enable packet forwarding for IPv4
#net.ipv4.ip_forward=1

# Uncomment the next line to enable packet forwarding for IPv6
#  Enabling this option disables Stateless Address Autoconfiguration
#  based on Router Advertisements for this host
#net.ipv6.conf.all.forwarding=1


###################################################################
# Additional settings - these settings can improve the network
# security of the host and prevent against some network attacks
# including spoofing attacks and man in the middle attacks through
# redirection. Some network environments, however, require that these
# settings are disabled so review and enable them as needed.
#
# Do not accept ICMP redirects (prevent MITM attacks)
#net.ipv4.conf.all.accept_redirects = 0
#net.ipv6.conf.all.accept_redirects = 0
# _or_
# Accept ICMP redirects only for gateways listed in our default
# gateway list (enabled by default)
# net.ipv4.conf.all.secure_redirects = 1
#
# Do not send ICMP redirects (we are not a router)
#net.ipv4.conf.all.send_redirects = 0
#
# Do not accept IP source route packets (we are not a router)
#net.ipv4.conf.all.accept_source_route = 0
#net.ipv6.conf.all.accept_source_route = 0
#
# Log Martian Packets
#net.ipv4.conf.all.log_martians = 1
#

It seems like the whole file is commented out.  And the guy in the article says he can handle 50,000 connections with his conf.  I'm going to try playing around with that, and apache and php could probably use some tweaking.  I think that's all I can really do. 

paraipan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Firstbits: 1pirata


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 10:46:34 PM
 #56

Keep up the good work @mc_lovin, and hope you get Coinurl to new heights!

BTCitcoin: An Idea Worth Saving - Q&A with bitcoins on rugatu.com - Check my rep
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 10:57:23 PM
 #57

Keep up the good work @mc_lovin, and hope you get Coinurl to new heights!

Thanks, paraipan!  Served 20,000 banners this afternoon, that is crazyness!  I think a few tweaks and/or moving to a dedi is the alternative.  giantdragon had it running on a vps I wish I knew what settings he used.

thaayb
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2013, 06:19:34 PM
 #58

Hmm i can't reach the site via www.coinurl.com

so I tried http://coinurl.bitcointrading.com ... That worked, but the connection was veeeeeeery slow ...

EDIT:
OK now its working Grin

SlickTheNick
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221


View Profile
February 05, 2013, 07:22:37 AM
 #59

Nice work getting it back up and running. Iv actually been receiving ad money alot faster than I was before. Any time-frame on when the 25% withdrawal fee will be removed?

Looking for a way to get some bitcoins for free? Check out http://earnfreebitcoins.com !
Get easy bitcoins at  https://coincontroller.com?r=eaef398b5 !
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile
February 05, 2013, 09:38:41 AM
 #60

Is it just me or is the accounting wrong?
I should have 0,142339, yet, my balance says I only have 0.01951980 and that balance plus what shows up on the your clicks today doesn't add up. Also, it tells me all clicks are already paid, so I really should have 0.142339 BTC and not 0.01951980.
It looks to me that it is adding only the average daily CPC to the balance instead of adding the average daily CPC x the number of clicks.

Can you please have a look into it? I sent an email yesterday, but your contact form submission took me to the homepage without even telling me if the message was sent or not.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!