Bitcoin Forum
August 19, 2017, 09:51:02 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: HOdlcoin CPU Solo Mining Guide  (Read 27068 times)
samsmith16
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2016, 07:36:39 AM
 #1



HOdlcoin Main thread
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1317918.0



Windows video walk-through

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_7CUiORCZGY



Windows written guide


https://github.com/HOdlcoin/HOdlcoin/blob/HODLCoin0.11.3/doc/README.md





Linux/Ubuntu 14.04 build guide

Enter each of these on your command line (you may need to Press [Y] or [enter] sometimes)
Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install checkinstall subversion git git-core
sudo apt-get install libssl-dev libminiupnpc-dev
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:bitcoin/bitcoin
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install libdb4.8-dev libdb4.8++-dev
sudo apt-get install build-essential libboost-all-dev automake libtool autoconf
sudo apt-get install pkg-config
git clone https://github.com/HOdlcoin/HOdlcoin
cd HOdlcoin
sudo ./autogen.sh && ./configure --without-gui
make
sudo make install
mkdir -p ~/.hodlcoin/
echo -e "rpcuser=rpc\nrpcpassword=1234\nserver=1\port=1989\nrpcport=11989\ndaemon=1\ngen=1\nminermemory=4\ngenproclimit=6\nminingaddress=yourwalletaddresshere" > ~/.hodlcoin/hodlcoin.conf

minermemory= the amount of Ram in 1gb increments (1,2,3)

genproclimit=   the number of threads per 1gb of ram from "minermemory" (this number must be a power of 2 so 2,4,8,16,)

miningaddress=yourwalletaddresshere this is the address all your mined blocks will be sent to (example "HodlDsNuts57MFNiN8CMrMjC2CYAy8pwi9")


NOTE
If you do not want to mine all your blocks to the same address Omit from above \nminingaddress=yourwalletaddresshere


This will start the wallet mining

Code:
hodlcoind



If this is your first time running this wallet wait 10 mins for the blockchain to sync then

Code:
hodlcoin-cli stop
wait a few seconds then
Code:
hodlcoind



To see your hashrate use this

Code:
cd ~/.hodlcoin/
tailf debug.log
To exit from this debug file
Press [Ctrl] + [C]



To monitor your Ram/CPUs install this
Code:
sudo apt-get install htop

Use it with this
Code:
htop
To exit Press [F10]

Insure the proper amount of CPUs are running at 100%


For Help or to Chat

We have an active Slack community use this link to join the chat

http://slack.hodlcoin.com

Also on IRC

#hodlcoin on freenode


Royalties
pays interest on Term Deposits up to 15%!! Yes even Cold Storage!!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503136262
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503136262

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503136262
Reply with quote  #2

1503136262
Report to moderator
1503136262
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503136262

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503136262
Reply with quote  #2

1503136262
Report to moderator
1503136262
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503136262

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503136262
Reply with quote  #2

1503136262
Report to moderator
merelcoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


View Profile
March 02, 2016, 07:39:49 AM
 #2

It has been a while since i last mined some alts, but i'm actually compiling your daemon on a test server right now  Grin
samsmith16
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2016, 07:41:42 AM
 #3

It has been a while since i last mined some alts, but i'm actually compiling your daemon on a test server right now  Grin

Nice!!  pop in Slack if you need any help


Royalties
pays interest on Term Deposits up to 15%!! Yes even Cold Storage!!
Waveform
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
March 02, 2016, 08:02:22 AM
 #4

I'm interested in mining HODL on a VPS, does vultr or digitalocean care about the constant 100% CPU usage?

Has any of you gotten a dispute over it? if not, how has the mining been going in terms of hashrate? I have $20 lying around to spend on a VPS.
samsmith16
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2016, 08:06:34 AM
 #5

I'm interested in mining HODL on a VPS, does vultr or digitalocean care about the constant 100% CPU usage?

Has any of you gotten a dispute over it? if not, how has the mining been going in terms of hashrate? I have $20 lying around to spend on a VPS.

I haven't seen too much back lash from mining on these services.. but you should read all the terms.. that out of the way.. your best bet would be Vultr.. Hash is subjective.. so I cant give you a nice chart but on avg. we are seeing ~15h/s per vCPU/core


Royalties
pays interest on Term Deposits up to 15%!! Yes even Cold Storage!!
bRitzST9617
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
March 02, 2016, 08:14:45 AM
 #6

I'm interested in mining HODL on a VPS, does vultr or digitalocean care about the constant 100% CPU usage?

Has any of you gotten a dispute over it? if not, how has the mining been going in terms of hashrate? I have $20 lying around to spend on a VPS.

I have had 7 instances running in DigitalOcean for 3 days straight getting 25-30h/s each and haven't had any issues.  Between all 7 I have only found 2 blocks so I guess you can decide if that's worth it or not. I'm only running so many because I have $10 referral bonus on top of what I deposited and am going to stop once my funds are out.  I recommend Google's compute engine free trial. You can run 4 instances at about 100h/s each.
merelcoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


View Profile
March 02, 2016, 08:19:10 AM
 #7

It has been a while since i last mined some alts, but i'm actually compiling your daemon on a test server right now  Grin

Nice!!  pop in Slack if you need any help

I always try to be as unbiased as possible, so i tried the tutorial on a completely clean, fresh, ubuntu install (Ubuntu Server 14.04.4 LTS).

Here are my remarks:
nothing so far, i did try it on my debian vps first, but had some problems with the add-apt-repository (you have to install it seperately). Afterwards, i saw the guide was written for ubuntu, so to keep things simple, i've switched OS's Wink

Following this tutorial on a clean ubuntu server, results in a working installation without hiccups Smiley
Thanks!
shintosai
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588



View Profile
March 02, 2016, 08:20:34 AM
 #8

Sorry to interrupt OP but I just want to know if this alt mining can work with a laptop? is this profitable or not? I wanted to try this but First I want an honest opinion with you or with someone who already dealing with is, btc mining with my laptop is no longer profitable so I'm looking forward to try mining alt if possible, thanks for the reply OP.

samsmith16
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2016, 08:24:34 AM
 #9

Sorry to interrupt OP but I just want to know if this alt mining can work with a laptop? is this profitable or not? I wanted to try this but First I want an honest opinion with you or with someone who already dealing with is, btc mining with my laptop is no longer profitable so I'm looking forward to try mining alt if possible, thanks for the reply OP.

We have seen guys with as little as 8h/s get blocks.. luck plays a part with that hashrate.. but if you cruse through the main thread.. you will see ppl mining with laptops..

For anyone who thinks Mining a block is too hard the 5 year old crappy laptop hit 2 block last night. My desktop 2x times faster 2 x the threads nothing. old hp lappy hits 2 overnight this shit should go in the newspapers. Anyway Miners keep your chin up it happens. Happy day.


Royalties
pays interest on Term Deposits up to 15%!! Yes even Cold Storage!!
Waveform
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
March 02, 2016, 08:24:55 AM
 #10

I'm interested in mining HODL on a VPS, does vultr or digitalocean care about the constant 100% CPU usage?

Has any of you gotten a dispute over it? if not, how has the mining been going in terms of hashrate? I have $20 lying around to spend on a VPS.

I haven't seen too much back lash from mining on these services.. but you should read all the terms.. that out of the way.. your best bet would be Vultr.. Hash is subjective.. so I cant give you a nice chart but on avg. we are seeing ~15h/s per vCPU/core

Ah, so it'd be similar to mining HODL on my i5-4590. I get around 80 h/sec with 1GB assigned, I have tried running with 2GB, I did not see an improvement even after adding up the halved hashrate.
So far I've found two blocks within a day and that was two weeks ago (CPU was running at 80C)  Grin
Since then I've ordered a heatsink and it's been running at 40C at full load, I could keep my PC running all day long mining HODL, I'm interested what are the chances of finding a block with such hardware, I've read that you guys were sometimes really lucky to find 6 blocks in a day with a VPS.

Though it's fun being part of a fair mining competition, compared to an altcoin launch that uses a SHA256/SCRYPT POW.

Adding up all the costs, I'd say mining HODL is profitable in the long run, though I'm really new to all of this.

If anyone is mining on a laptop or desktop, a high CPU temperature is what you should be worried about, get a cheap heatsink for your PC, if you're on a laptop, clean the dust out and make sure it has a good airflow so it doesn't overheat.
samsmith16
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2016, 08:36:34 AM
 #11

I'm interested in mining HODL on a VPS, does vultr or digitalocean care about the constant 100% CPU usage?

Has any of you gotten a dispute over it? if not, how has the mining been going in terms of hashrate? I have $20 lying around to spend on a VPS.

I haven't seen too much back lash from mining on these services.. but you should read all the terms.. that out of the way.. your best bet would be Vultr.. Hash is subjective.. so I cant give you a nice chart but on avg. we are seeing ~15h/s per vCPU/core

Ah, so it'd be similar to mining HODL on my i5-4590. I get around 80 h/sec with 1GB assigned, I have tried running with 2GB, I did not see an improvement even after adding up the halved hashrate.
So far I've found two blocks within a day and that was two weeks ago (CPU was running at 80C)  Grin
Since then I've ordered a heatsink and it's been running at 40C at full load, I could keep my PC running all day long mining HODL, I'm interested what are the chances of finding a block with such hardware, I've read that you guys were sometimes really lucky to find 6 blocks in a day with a VPS.

Though it's fun being part of a fair mining competition, compared to an altcoin launch that uses a SHA256/SCRYPT POW.

Adding up all the costs, I'd say mining HODL is profitable in the long run, though I'm really new to all of this.

If anyone is mining on a laptop or desktop, a high CPU temperature is what you should be worried about, get a cheap heatsink for your PC, if you're on a laptop, clean the dust out and make sure it has a good airflow so it doesn't overheat.

Well 6 blocks per day right now is running many servers.. like 56 vCPU

Edit: sry I was a way off.. 56 vCPU is more like 13 blocks per day


Royalties
pays interest on Term Deposits up to 15%!! Yes even Cold Storage!!
casinobonus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124



View Profile
March 02, 2016, 11:29:03 AM
 #12

T.T 22HPS so one block per day is my lucky Sad

BigBoom3599
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
March 02, 2016, 04:17:30 PM
 #13

Is it possible to change the RAM usage on a windows wallet, if so how?
samsmith16
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2016, 04:59:07 PM
 #14

Is it possible to change the RAM usage on a windows wallet, if so how?



If you missed it and don't feel like reading through the thread to use -miningaddress="address" and or optimize your miner see below

1. Make sure your wallet is closed

2. Make sure your Hodlcoin-qt.exe is on your Desktop

3. Bring up Run (Press [Window] + [R] on your keyboard)

4. Paste below in Run
%userprofile%\Desktop\HOdlcoin-qt.exe  -gen=1 -minermemory=2 -genproclimit=4 -miningaddress="address"

*Note put your address in place of "address" like this "HEX8QLWqQ7p7MFNiN8CMrMjC2CYAy8pwi9"
**Note minermemory should be "1" or "2" on windows any higher and you ger a Runtime error
***Note minermemory is the amount of Ram your using and must be multiplied by genproclimit to equal totale Threads you would like to use example (-minermemory=2 -genproclimit=4 is 8 Threads)


Royalties
pays interest on Term Deposits up to 15%!! Yes even Cold Storage!!
BigBoom3599
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
March 02, 2016, 05:05:48 PM
 #15

Is it possible to change the RAM usage on a windows wallet, if so how?



If you missed it and don't feel like reading through the thread to use -miningaddress="address" and or optimize your miner see below

1. Make sure your wallet is closed

2. Make sure your Hodlcoin-qt.exe is on your Desktop

3. Bring up Run (Press [Window] + [R] on your keyboard)

4. Paste below in Run
%userprofile%\Desktop\HOdlcoin-qt.exe  -gen=1 -minermemory=2 -genproclimit=4 -miningaddress="address"

*Note put your address in place of "address" like this "HEX8QLWqQ7p7MFNiN8CMrMjC2CYAy8pwi9"
**Note minermemory should be "1" or "2" on windows any higher and you ger a Runtime error
***Note minermemory is the amount of Ram your using and must be multiplied by genproclimit to equal totale Threads you would like to use example (-minermemory=2 -genproclimit=4 is 8 Threads)


I see now, thanks! Cheesy
bRitzST9617
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
March 02, 2016, 05:15:08 PM
 #16

Is it possible to change the RAM usage on a windows wallet, if so how?



If you missed it and don't feel like reading through the thread to use -miningaddress="address" and or optimize your miner see below

1. Make sure your wallet is closed

2. Make sure your Hodlcoin-qt.exe is on your Desktop

3. Bring up Run (Press [Window] + [R] on your keyboard)

4. Paste below in Run
%userprofile%\Desktop\HOdlcoin-qt.exe  -gen=1 -minermemory=2 -genproclimit=4 -miningaddress="address"

*Note put your address in place of "address" like this "HEX8QLWqQ7p7MFNiN8CMrMjC2CYAy8pwi9"
**Note minermemory should be "1" or "2" on windows any higher and you ger a Runtime error
***Note minermemory is the amount of Ram your using and must be multiplied by genproclimit to equal totale Threads you would like to use example (-minermemory=2 -genproclimit=4 is 8 Threads)


I see now, thanks! Cheesy

If you don't want to type it out every time you start the wallet you can just make a batch file in the same location as your wallet that says the same thing and just click the batch file to start your miner.  If you don't know how, just make a .txt file with notepad and once you save it, change the file extension type to .bat
samsmith16
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2016, 06:24:40 PM
 #17

Is it possible to change the RAM usage on a windows wallet, if so how?



If you missed it and don't feel like reading through the thread to use -miningaddress="address" and or optimize your miner see below

1. Make sure your wallet is closed

2. Make sure your Hodlcoin-qt.exe is on your Desktop

3. Bring up Run (Press [Window] + [R] on your keyboard)

4. Paste below in Run
%userprofile%\Desktop\HOdlcoin-qt.exe  -gen=1 -minermemory=2 -genproclimit=4 -miningaddress="address"

*Note put your address in place of "address" like this "HEX8QLWqQ7p7MFNiN8CMrMjC2CYAy8pwi9"
**Note minermemory should be "1" or "2" on windows any higher and you ger a Runtime error
***Note minermemory is the amount of Ram your using and must be multiplied by genproclimit to equal totale Threads you would like to use example (-minermemory=2 -genproclimit=4 is 8 Threads)


I see now, thanks! Cheesy

If you don't want to type it out every time you start the wallet you can just make a batch file in the same location as your wallet that says the same thing and just click the batch file to start your miner.  If you don't know how, just make a .txt file with notepad and once you save it, change the file extension type to .bat



In note pad type this

Code:
rpcuser=username
rpcpassword=password
rpcport=11989
gen=1
minermemory=2
genproclimit=4
miningaddress=yourwalletaddresshere

Then Save like this
1. In the Save as type dropdown box Select: All Files
2. File name: hodlcoin.conf
3. Save it to hodlcoin folder

Note: if you need help finding the folder just save it to the Desktop, then Search for %appdata%\hodlcoin Drag/Drop new hodlcoin.conf from Desktop to hodlcoin folder


Royalties
pays interest on Term Deposits up to 15%!! Yes even Cold Storage!!
merelcoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


View Profile
March 03, 2016, 01:59:26 PM
 #18

I have mined for almost 24 hours on my server (XEON, octacore) + my desktop pc (i5), but didn't find a single block  Sad

I can verify the miner works, but the diff seems to high.
Thanks for the tutorial.
robelneo
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 784



View Profile
March 05, 2016, 07:23:04 AM
 #19

I have mined for almost 24 hours on my server (XEON, octacore) + my desktop pc (i5), but didn't find a single block  Sad

I can verify the miner works, but the diff seems to high.
Thanks for the tutorial.

It's still best to mine on mining pool that solo mining I thought the this coin difficulty is still low and can be mine on normal cpu I have the wallet installed and mining also but no luck yet to make some few HOdlcoin..

██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
The first Decentralized Autonomous Job market (DAJ)
★★ VISIT US ! ★★ JOIN BOUNTY ★★
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
Freelance on the Blockchain

ek3nk4r
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
March 05, 2016, 08:49:03 AM
 #20

 Grin i mine 1 block after 8 or 10h  with my laptob   cor i7
after that nothing ...   config chang to 2g ram  see what  happens :d

-----------------
2g for me its bad  rate is 64
1 g  rate  120
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!