Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 02:22:57 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Solo mining with bitcoin-qt  (Read 3056 times)
Envite
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
January 30, 2013, 05:18:30 PM
 #1

Hi all

What can I expect by using bitcoin-qt for mining? Is it possible? I think I just need to start it with -gen option, is it that simple?

Thanks
1511403777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511403777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511403777
Reply with quote  #2

1511403777
Report to moderator
1511403777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511403777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511403777
Reply with quote  #2

1511403777
Report to moderator
1511403777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511403777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511403777
Reply with quote  #2

1511403777
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511403777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511403777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511403777
Reply with quote  #2

1511403777
Report to moderator
1511403777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511403777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511403777
Reply with quote  #2

1511403777
Report to moderator
1511403777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511403777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511403777
Reply with quote  #2

1511403777
Report to moderator
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
January 30, 2013, 08:41:12 PM
 #2

Of course it is possible, but...

Quote
I think I just need to start it with -gen option, is it that simple?
What? About what option are you speaking about?

To solo mine (bad idea anyway lol) you need to run qt as server
Foxpup
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016



View Profile
January 30, 2013, 09:13:17 PM
 #3

Yes, but it only uses your CPU, not your graphics card, and is therefore completely useless (which is why the option was removed from the GUI). It will take you many years or even decades to find a block this way, if ever. If you actually hope to ever make even a small amount of bitcoins, download a real miner such as cgminer and join a pool.

What? About what option are you speaking about?

To solo mine (bad idea anyway lol) you need to run qt as server
He's talking about Bitcoin-Qt's rarely-used (and for good reason) built-in miner. Running as a server is not required when mining this way, though it is an astoundingly bad idea.

Will pretend to do unverifiable things (while actually eating an enchilada-style burrito) for bitcoins: 1K6d1EviQKX3SVKjPYmJGyWBb1avbmCFM4
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
January 30, 2013, 09:24:02 PM
 #4

Quote
He's talking about Bitcoin-Qt's rarely-used (and for good reason) built-in miner
It was removed more than a year ago if i remember well.
Foxpup
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016



View Profile
January 30, 2013, 11:46:18 PM
 #5

Quote
He's talking about Bitcoin-Qt's rarely-used (and for good reason) built-in miner
It was removed more than a year ago if i remember well.
You remember incorrectly. Only the option in the GUI was removed, due to its uselessness. The miner is still present, presumably for the sake of being a complete implementation of everything needed to run the Bitcoin network, and can be invoked by starting Bitcoin-Qt or bitcoind with the gen option (either as a command line argument or in the configuration file), or with the RPC command setgenerate true (and setgenerate false stops mining, of course).

Will pretend to do unverifiable things (while actually eating an enchilada-style burrito) for bitcoins: 1K6d1EviQKX3SVKjPYmJGyWBb1avbmCFM4
Envite
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
January 30, 2013, 11:58:01 PM
 #6

I have version v0.7.2.0-g32a928e-beta and -gen option seems to be there.

I will try it, just to see if I'm lucky, but many thanks for the comments about the very very low probability.

Which tool would you recommend for solo mining in Linux (nVidia card)?

I just want to give it some use, as the computer is always switched on for other tasks.

I want to test solo to get the feel of it before considering joining a pool. I want to learn about bitcoin, not just to make BTCs with it.

Many thanks
koin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 874


View Profile
January 31, 2013, 10:33:34 AM
 #7

I want to test solo to get the feel of it before considering joining a pool. I want to learn about bitcoin, not just to make BTCs with it.

try mining on the testnet instead then, at least you could see some results that way.
Envite
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
January 31, 2013, 11:22:51 AM
 #8

Hi koin

Many thanks, but question still is which tool should I use for GPU solo mining in Linux?

I'll test it in the testnet as you suggest  Smiley
koin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 874


View Profile
January 31, 2013, 11:48:56 AM
 #9

Many thanks, but question still is which tool should I use for GPU solo mining in Linux?

here:

bitcoind.exe -testnet
and then
cgminer.exe -u name -p password -o http://localhost:8332

Takes only a few seconds to find a block if you are lucky.
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


If you want to walk on water, get out of the boat


View Profile
January 31, 2013, 01:20:57 PM
 #10

You are right Foxpup!

Envite, note that the built-in miner is a CPU miner, nothing more. You cannot GPU mine with it. So, get cgminer like koin said.
Envite
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
January 31, 2013, 01:31:07 PM
 #11

Thanks Gabi and koin

I see there "cgminer.exe". That indicates a Windows program. Is there a cgminer for Linux?
Foxpup
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016



View Profile
January 31, 2013, 02:34:58 PM
 #12

I see there "cgminer.exe". That indicates a Windows program. Is there a cgminer for Linux?
Yes.

Will pretend to do unverifiable things (while actually eating an enchilada-style burrito) for bitcoins: 1K6d1EviQKX3SVKjPYmJGyWBb1avbmCFM4
Envite
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 02, 2013, 10:50:08 AM
 #13

I have downloaded, compiled and installed it, but when running it it asked for pool username and password. Can it be used for solo?
sounds
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

1221iZanNi5igK7oAA7AWmYjpsyjsRbLLZ


View Profile
February 02, 2013, 02:00:48 PM
 #14

Please google for more information.
Vircurex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
February 02, 2013, 02:57:44 PM
 #15

Solomining BTC? What hardware do you have?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!