Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 01:26:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: cgminer 2.10.0 + Radeon HD 4550  (Read 4694 times)
AwkwardSituation
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
February 07, 2013, 03:13:53 PM
 #1

I think I may have already read somewhere that the 4000 series isn't supported by cgminer anymore, I know it has weak ass hash rate, but given that I have one in the systems I'm CPU mining in, I'd like to at least get a few MH out of it if possible.  Anyone know if cgminer will work with a Radeon HD 4550?  I haven't been able to get it to run.  I'm running 2.5 SDK but when I run cgminer the program immediately quits and Windows 7 x64 gives me the generic windows error that the program has stopped working.

Using --verbose doesn't help it crashes before it starts logging.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
The Bitcoin software, network, and concept is called "Bitcoin" with a capitalized "B". Bitcoin currency units are called "bitcoins" with a lowercase "b" -- this is often abbreviated BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511443571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511443571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511443571
Reply with quote  #2

1511443571
Report to moderator
1511443571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511443571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511443571
Reply with quote  #2

1511443571
Report to moderator
1511443571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511443571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511443571
Reply with quote  #2

1511443571
Report to moderator
Rawted
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
February 07, 2013, 07:39:59 PM
 #2

Typically cgminer dying instantly when starting up means your settings are incorrect. i would make sure i have the latest amd/catalyst drivers (with open cl) first. Feel free to post your CONF here (edit out your user/pass for the pool you're working on please). I'll help as much as i can.

the 4550 uses 80 shader stream processing units. However, i don't think it supports the new opencl (the 4450 was released with opengl, and prior to the first stable version of opencl). Could be a complete hardware incompatibility, or could just be a setting.

AwkwardSituation
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
February 07, 2013, 09:42:07 PM
 #3

Okay right now I'm downloading AMD Catalyst 13.1 and I will install the AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5-Windows-641 drivers and see what happens.
AwkwardSituation
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
February 08, 2013, 04:23:17 AM
 #4

Bah, I tried the latest Catalyst drivers and 2.5 sdk install and it still craps out on me immediately.  Here is my cgminer.conf file.  I am calling it from a command line by navigating to the directory containing cgminer and then entering cgminer -c cgminer.conf

Code:
{
"pools" : [
{
"url" : "http://api2.bitcoin.cz:8332",
"user" : "myWorker",
"pass" : "123456789"
}
],

"intensity" : "d,9,9,9",
"gpu-engine" : "0-985,0-950,0-960,0-1000",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85,0-85,0-85,0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "860,825,835,875",
"gpu-powertune" : "20,20,20,20",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,95,95,95",
"temp-overheat" : "85,85,85,85",
"temp-target" : "75,75,75,75",

"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : true,
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"log" : "5",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "60",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",

"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}
Rawted
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
February 08, 2013, 02:04:23 PM
 #5

in your conf file, slush's pool hostname is incorrect (you have a 2 after api). im betting this is why it crashes instantly.

slush's pool settings:

http://api.bitcoin.cz:8332
(Default URL for Stratum and Getwork miners. If you're unsure, use this URL.)

or
stratum+tcp://ipv6.stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333
(IPv6, only for Stratum miners)
or
http://pool57wkuu5yuhzb.onion:8332
(anonymous mining over Tor network)

AwkwardSituation
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
February 08, 2013, 03:49:09 PM
 #6

Nah the pool URL didn't fix it.  Must just be incompatible with CGMiner....Oh well, thanks for the efforts bud.
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
February 09, 2013, 03:36:51 AM
 #7

Nah the pool URL didn't fix it.  Must just be incompatible with CGMiner....Oh well, thanks for the efforts bud.

I assure you cgminer is compatible with slush.

Do you really have 4 GPU's in your system?

Parazyd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


Space Lord


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2013, 08:15:50 PM
 #8

I managed to mine with Phoenix 2 on this GPU.
Try that.
AwkwardSituation
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
February 15, 2013, 06:45:05 PM
 #9

Quote
I managed to mine with Phoenix 2 on this GPU.
Try that.

Okay I will try Phoenix 2.  What version?  And what MH/s rate were you getting?
Parazyd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


Space Lord


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2013, 06:52:44 PM
 #10

Just try. There are various configs. Write your own and see what you'll get.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!