Bitcoin Forum
May 21, 2018, 07:17:12 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bug: Incorrect datadir location on Windows  (Read 2525 times)
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3024
Merit: 3117


View Profile
February 17, 2013, 04:42:33 AM
 #1

On Windows, Electrum puts its data directory in %LOCALAPPDATA%. This is incorrect. %LOCALAPPDATA% is for non-critical files such as temporary files. This directory is usually not backed up by backup software, and it is sometimes scheduled to be reset regularly. Clearly not a good place for wallet files.

The correct location is %APPDATA%.

HOWEYCOINS   ▮      Excitement and         ⭐  ● TWITTER  ● FACEBOOK   ⭐       
  ▮    guaranteed returns                 ●TELEGRAM                         
  ▮  of the travel industry
    ⭐  ●Ann Thread ●Instagram   ⭐ 
✅    U.S.Sec    ➡️
✅  approved!  ➡️
1526930232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526930232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526930232
Reply with quote  #2

1526930232
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1526930232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526930232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526930232
Reply with quote  #2

1526930232
Report to moderator
1526930232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526930232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526930232
Reply with quote  #2

1526930232
Report to moderator
1526930232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526930232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526930232
Reply with quote  #2

1526930232
Report to moderator
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
February 17, 2013, 04:08:00 PM
 #2

I could change this but I guess we need some intelligent code that will check if there are wallets in %LOCALAPPDATA% and move them to %APPDATA%.

Do you have a source about this? (APPDATA vs LOCALAPPDATA)

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3024
Merit: 3117


View Profile
February 17, 2013, 04:25:54 PM
 #3

I could change this but I guess we need some intelligent code that will check if there are wallets in %LOCALAPPDATA% and move them to %APPDATA%.

Yeah, that's why I didn't just fix it myself and submit a pull request.

Do you have a source about this? (APPDATA vs LOCALAPPDATA)

Windows uses the Local and LocalLow folders for application data that does not roam with the user. Usually this data is either machine specific or too large to roam. The AppData\Local folder in Windows Vista is the same as the Documents and Settings\username\Local Settings\Application Data folder in Windows XP.

Windows uses the Roaming folder for application specific data, such as custom dictionaries, which are machine independent and should roam with the user profile. The AppData\Roaming folder in Windows Vista is the same as the Documents and Settings\username\Application Data folder in Windows XP.

Basically this means that Local/LocalLow stuff, since it doesn't "roam with the user", isn't very important and doesn't need to be saved.

HOWEYCOINS   ▮      Excitement and         ⭐  ● TWITTER  ● FACEBOOK   ⭐       
  ▮    guaranteed returns                 ●TELEGRAM                         
  ▮  of the travel industry
    ⭐  ●Ann Thread ●Instagram   ⭐ 
✅    U.S.Sec    ➡️
✅  approved!  ➡️
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
February 18, 2013, 10:34:26 PM
 #4

I've just pushed this commit to the repository.

I setup a rudimentary Windows VM to test it and I think it works, but I don't normally work on the windows bits. I would appreciate a code review if you are able and if you have a local Python development environment I would appreciate it if you could check it out. If not there should be a nightly build tonight with the commit in it here.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3024
Merit: 3117


View Profile
February 19, 2013, 12:47:26 AM
 #5

It works for me, though I get this warning:

C:\Users\Michael\Desktop\electrum-master\lib\util.py:72: SyntaxWarning: import * only allowed at module level

Thanks.

HOWEYCOINS   ▮      Excitement and         ⭐  ● TWITTER  ● FACEBOOK   ⭐       
  ▮    guaranteed returns                 ●TELEGRAM                         
  ▮  of the travel industry
    ⭐  ●Ann Thread ●Instagram   ⭐ 
✅    U.S.Sec    ➡️
✅  approved!  ➡️
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
February 19, 2013, 09:47:36 AM
 #6

Yeah I noticed that myself after I got some sleep, will have to ask Thomas on how to best handle this one. Will fix that in master as soon as I can.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!