Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:41:00 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Using same wallet in different computers  (Read 4587 times)
mrx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


aka ff19


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 12:32:02 PM
 #1

Now I have a wallet first created on computer A and it has some BTC in it. Then I installed another copy of bitcoin on computer B(both are Windows). I want two of my computers share one wallet, then I don't need to check both computers to get my overall balance.

The problem is when I copied my wallet from computer A to computer B, the client on computer B won't open. It shows the interface then some errors which says "alloc" or something(forget it, can't access computer B now), and then the client exits.

I've tried to copy all files under %appdata%/Bitcoin on computer A to computer B, and the client could start, but after receiving a payment it crashed again with same error.

Are wallets designed to be used on only 1 computer or there is sth wrong with my computers?

my 1st post and I'm not good at English...

Successfully traded with:
bulanula
1481143260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143260
Reply with quote  #2

1481143260
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481143260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143260
Reply with quote  #2

1481143260
Report to moderator
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:33:50 PM
 #2

Now I have a wallet first created on computer A and it has some BTC in it. Then I installed another copy of bitcoin on computer B(both are Windows). I want two of my computers share one wallet, then I don't need to check both computers to get my overall balance.

The problem is when I copied my wallet from computer A to computer B, the client on computer B won't open. It shows the interface then some errors which says "alloc" or something(forget it, can't access computer B now), and then the client exits.

I've tried to copy all files under %appdata%/Bitcoin on computer A to computer B, and the client could start, but after receiving a payment it crashed again with same error.

Are wallets designed to be used on only 1 computer or there is sth wrong with my computers?

my 1st post and I'm not good at English...

wallet.dat is interchangeable btwn diff computers, even different OS's.   try deleting all files except wallet.dat in Bitcoin folder and restarting client.
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:35:35 PM
 #3

Now I have a wallet first created on computer A and it has some BTC in it. Then I installed another copy of bitcoin on computer B(both are Windows). I want two of my computers share one wallet, then I don't need to check both computers to get my overall balance.

The problem is when I copied my wallet from computer A to computer B, the client on computer B won't open. It shows the interface then some errors which says "alloc" or something(forget it, can't access computer B now), and then the client exits.

I've tried to copy all files under %appdata%/Bitcoin on computer A to computer B, and the client could start, but after receiving a payment it crashed again with same error.

Are wallets designed to be used on only 1 computer or there is sth wrong with my computers?

my 1st post and I'm not good at English...

you won't be able to "share" the same wallet.dat btwn 2 computers.  unfortunately ur gonna have to move wallet.dat back and forth btwn them.
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 11:39:19 PM
 #4

I want two of my computers share one wallet, then I don't need to check both computers to get my overall balance.

You might want to look into a client that accesses the bitcoin client using RPC:
 
 - http://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Spesmilo
 or
 - http://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Bitcoin-js-remote

mrx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


aka ff19


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:12:43 AM
 #5


you won't be able to "share" the same wallet.dat btwn 2 computers.  unfortunately ur gonna have to move wallet.dat back and forth btwn them.

Then I can't use a wallet simultaneously on two computers?

Successfully traded with:
bulanula
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 07:50:02 AM
 #6

Then I can't use a wallet simultaneously on two computers?

 No.
 http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=5324.msg77896#msg77896
 http://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Wallet

Ivanish
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9



View Profile WWW
June 11, 2011, 09:02:56 AM
 #7

What about the option of using something like dropbox?

"I made you smile or feel better about things" donation address — 1Lhifrdmq563mZxY5gqYPEN5AdkN7Townd

"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt to the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man." — George Bernard
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 10:19:51 AM
 #8

What about the option of using something like dropbox?

Though it might work if you can ensure that only one computer will ever run the client at a time, the likely even bigger problem is that for that method to work you would have Dropbox backing up your wallet.dat without encrypting it first.

 http://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Securing_your_wallet#General_Solutions
 "Your wallet.dat file is not encrypted by BitCoin. Anyone who can access it can easily steal all of your coins"

So again, the answer is no -- do not try to share the same wallet on more than one computer.

mrx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


aka ff19


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 11:13:57 AM
 #9

What about the option of using something like dropbox?

Though it might work if you can ensure that only one computer will ever run the client at a time, the likely even bigger problem is that for that method to work you would have Dropbox backing up your wallet.dat without encrypting it first.

 http://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Securing_your_wallet#General_Solutions
 "Your wallet.dat file is not encrypted by BitCoin. Anyone who can access it can easily steal all of your coins"

So again, the answer is no -- do not try to share the same wallet on more than one computer.

Generally I use flash disk and VPN connection to computer B's intranet through password protected share to get two wallets synced.

Now I meet the error again just after receiving mining income.

error info:

EXCEPTION: St9bad_alloc
std::bad_alloc
C:\Progra....(path to exe)\bitcoin.exe in
CMyApp::OnExecptionInMainLoop()

and I cannot start the client.

I'll consider using RPC to access my wallet. Thanks for the explanations!

Successfully traded with:
bulanula
mrx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


aka ff19


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 03:56:03 PM
 #10

..and now, bitcoin won't start and keep giving the error above on computer A. Computer B is all right.

I plan to start rpc server on computer A with existing wallet file.

I tried to clear out whole %appdata%\bitcoin, no luck.

How to achieve my goal now? Huh

Successfully traded with:
bulanula
mrx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


aka ff19


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 05:49:55 AM
 #11

Shameless bumping.

I really need to get my computer A working with my wallet because computer B is not accessible without VPN and it's less secure because it's public(I'm sure nobody else using com B know what is Bitcoin but it's public. In fact it's in a class).

Still getting St9bad_alloc problem...

Successfully traded with:
bulanula
mollari
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 05:03:42 AM
 #12

Have you tried updating to the latest client version?
https://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=16553.0

18VCCt34gx5Zk769uDcK6mcsRUyUXHEajG
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792


Bite me


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 11:32:37 AM
 #13

the other way ,
start bitcoin on your secure machine,
get it's payment address,
and issue a payment from the unsecured one to your new address, continue to use the new one for ever

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!