Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:59:12 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: OC in windows, use settings in Linux?  (Read 611 times)
metallicaband
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:14:11 PM
 #1

Hello all,

I'm totally new to the linux scene and recently installed Ubuntu 11.04. I have Win7 64-bit on the same machine as well.

My question is, if I overclocked my GPU via windows 7 since there are so many applications to do that there, will the settings remain the same when restarting and booting into Ubuntu? If that's possible, will it be alright to switch the GPU to a totally separate machine with a different motherboard?
1480766352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766352
Reply with quote  #2

1480766352
Report to moderator
1480766352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766352
Reply with quote  #2

1480766352
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
doomy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:15:55 PM
 #2

Your OC would reset on reboot, but you can burn a new bios with those settings if they are stable. Make sure Linux uses the proper fan controls or you'd overheat.

The buck ends here -> 138Cqv33HWtjUn9T3FfZog5xT9NtKQMc2U
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 10, 2011, 07:23:15 PM
 #3

Hello all,

I'm totally new to the linux scene and recently installed Ubuntu 11.04. I have Win7 64-bit on the same machine as well.

My question is, if I overclocked my GPU via windows 7 since there are so many applications to do that there, will the settings remain the same when restarting and booting into Ubuntu? If that's possible, will it be alright to switch the GPU to a totally separate machine with a different motherboard?

User Radeon Bios Editor to set those values, though also be sure to back up your current BIOS first.

www.techpowerup.com/rbe/

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!