Bitcoin Forum
January 18, 2021, 09:16:53 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain New Miner S7-LN 2.7T @697W discussion (Not official)  (Read 23081 times)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 2975



View Profile
May 29, 2016, 03:15:34 AM
 #101

Anybody know if that Enermax will run on 120v?  If it's anything like the S2 PSI would imagine that it would but I just want to make sure.

It should but if,it does not I have something for you.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Unlike traditional banking where clients have only a few account numbers, with Bitcoin people can create an unlimited number of accounts (addresses). This can be used to easily track payments, and it improves anonymity.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1611004613
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611004613

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611004613
Reply with quote  #2

1611004613
Report to moderator
1611004613
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611004613

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611004613
Reply with quote  #2

1611004613
Report to moderator
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1251



View Profile
May 29, 2016, 03:29:40 AM
 #102

Anybody know if that Enermax will run on 120v?  If it's anything like the S2 PSI would imagine that it would but I just want to make sure.

Yeah I got a bunch of them at 120V





.
.




░██████████████████░
████████████████████
█████████▀░░░███████
█████████░░▄████████
███████▀▀░░▀▀███████
███████▄▄░░▄▄███████
█████████░░█████████

█████████░░█████████

█████████▄▄█████████

████████████████████

░██████████████████░
░██████████████████░
████████████████████
████████████▀▀▀█▀███
███░▀█████▀░░░░░▀███
███▌░░░▀▀▀░░░░░░████
████▄░░░░░░░░░░░████
█████▀░░░░░░░░░█████

██████▄░░░░░▄▄██████

█████▄▄▄▄███████████

████████████████████

░██████████████████░
░██████████████████░
████████████████████
████████████████████
███████████▀▀░░▐████
███████▀▀░░░░░█████
████▀░░░▄█▀░░░▐█████
█████▄▄█▀░░░░░██████

███████▌▄▄▄▐██████

████████████████████

████████████████████

░██████████████████░
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1475


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2016, 10:09:57 AM
 #103

Anybody know if that Enermax will run on 120v?  If it's anything like the S2 PSI would imagine that it would but I just want to make sure.
Yes.
http://www.enermax.com/home.php?fn=eng/product_a1_1_1&lv0=1&lv1=58&no=190

aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1006


View Profile
May 29, 2016, 10:42:07 AM
 #104

wonder if they are going to update their price..

Price and discount: Retail price is $276 per unit excluding shipping cost.


Price:       291 USD
            ( 0.576 BTC )

bekonik
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2016, 11:42:05 AM
 #105

It looks like bitmain changed price. Yesterday was 276 usd but today 291 usd.
generalt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 985
Merit: 1007


View Profile
May 29, 2016, 11:56:41 AM
 #106

Thanks for the all the replies on the power supply.  I didn't realize the Enermax is multi-rail like the LEPA 1600.  I can't believe they raised the price already thought.   Cry

BTC: 1GENERALrtBAjEv2Ps5cmEW1FADnXh1bCZ
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 2975



View Profile
May 29, 2016, 01:31:40 PM
 #107

Thanks for the all the replies on the power supply.  I didn't realize the Enermax is multi-rail like the LEPA 1600.  I can't believe they raised the price already thought.   Cry

Coins went up.  This has been done before by them on more then one occasion.

I have to clock their btc addy try to figure out their sales on this.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Real-Duke
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2170
Merit: 1164



View Profile
May 29, 2016, 07:22:59 PM
 #108

It looks like bitmain changed price. Yesterday was 276 usd but today 291 usd.

Yesterday the BTC price was about 480$ and today at 540$
Maybe thats the reason?


▄██████████      █████████▄
▄██████████████████████████▄
▄█████▀          ▀███████▀          ▀████▄
▄█████                ███████                ████▄
▄█████                █████████                ████▄
█████                █████  █████                ████
█████               █████       █████               ████
█████             █████          █████              ████
█████              ████              ████              ████
████▌            █████              █████            ▐███
████▌            ████                  ████            ▐███
█████            █████              █████            ████
█████            ██████      ██████            ████
█████████    █████████████    ████████
█████████      █████████      ████████



        ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
         ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
  ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
       ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
         ▀▀▀▀▀▀
           ▀▀▀▀
             ▀▀
           ▀▀


▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
          ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
        ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
            ▀▀▀▀▀▀
              ▀▀▀▀
                   ▀▀
bekonik
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2016, 08:17:11 PM
 #109

It looks like bitmain changed price. Yesterday was 276 usd but today 291 usd.

Yesterday the BTC price was about 480$ and today at 540$
Maybe thats the reason?

probably yes and when we calculating by bitcoins it looks that price is cheaper on official page

friday: 276 USD ( 0.563 BTC )
sunday: 291 USD ( 0.543 BTC )

HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1475


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2016, 08:38:33 PM
 #110

Thanks for the all the replies on the power supply.  I didn't realize the Enermax is multi-rail like the LEPA 1600.  I can't believe they raised the price already thought.   Cry
It is "multi-rail" PSU for protection, like the circuit breakers in your house.
There is actually quite few real multi-rail PSUs.
See this review:
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story4&reid=270
and info about multi-rail PSUs by jonnyGURU:
http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3990

toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 29, 2016, 09:33:56 PM
Last edit: May 30, 2016, 01:30:34 AM by toptek
 #111

It looks like bitmain changed price. Yesterday was 276 usd but today 291 usd.

Yesterday the BTC price was about 480$ and today at 540$
Maybe thats the reason?

probably yes and when we calculating by bitcoins it looks that price is cheaper on official page

friday: 276 USD ( 0.563 BTC )
sunday: 291 USD ( 0.543 BTC )




That's cool wish this was all ways that way price goes up but BTC go down Smiley . makes buying stuff easier with btc and in a way saves cash kind of . why i'm glad there is cash to compare it to .


so who buying one of these  it is temping ?. there on sell now !!! to any one any were

i could have the cash to gather in about a month the bitcoin halving doesn't worry me.

I see it as a good thing and we will all adjust or it goes under and eth steps in . or we get 12.5 or so less coins and over time it gets a little harder to hit a full BTC of 12.5 coin per like now,  I'm  not to sure  if the difficulty is affected by the block change if it's not it should go about  like LTC did and after it all adjusts out we get less coins per block with the same usually complaints,  me included. .  ..and the price goes up but this time stays up and in four years it happen again.. this reminds me of the time change a few years back from 1999 to 2000 the  2k so called bug nothing really happen and life went on .

I may buy one of these or wait see what happens to the Avalon 6 price i got a feeling we won't see any of the new miners with new chips till around the middle of June to the end of July sadly.

unless they go sell in the next day or 2 we sure as hell won't see them in May for sell to the public in gen.

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1028


View Profile
May 30, 2016, 07:56:08 AM
 #112

I'd rather not have the PSU.
I'm NOT fond of Enermax power supplies in general (had way too many dead ones still in warenttee), and a 1000 watt unit on that miner is overkill anyway (a good 850 like the Seasonic X850 Gold or the EVGA G2 in that ballpark would make a LOT more sense), but too small for any other useage I'd want to put it to.

 Then again, looks like they might have had to go to a 1000 watt unit to get enough PCI-E connectors - my X850s only have 6 of them....


I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
IOTUSA
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 30, 2016, 08:44:34 PM
 #113

I'd rather not have the PSU.
I'm NOT fond of Enermax power supplies in general (had way too many dead ones still in warenttee), and a 1000 watt unit on that miner is overkill anyway (a good 850 like the Seasonic X850 Gold or the EVGA G2 in that ballpark would make a LOT more sense), but too small for any other useage I'd want to put it to.

 Then again, looks like they might have had to go to a 1000 watt unit to get enough PCI-E connectors - my X850s only have 6 of them....



Well they are obviously trying to get rid of some datacener PSU's. Otherwise it wouldn't even make financial sense to include PSU in $270 USD.

CjMapope
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1092


~Full-Time Minter since 2016~


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2016, 08:47:20 PM
 #114

I'd rather not have the PSU.
I'm NOT fond of Enermax power supplies in general (had way too many dead ones still in warenttee), and a 1000 watt unit on that miner is overkill anyway (a good 850 like the Seasonic X850 Gold or the EVGA G2 in that ballpark would make a LOT more sense), but too small for any other useage I'd want to put it to.

 Then again, looks like they might have had to go to a 1000 watt unit to get enough PCI-E connectors - my X850s only have 6 of them....



Well they are obviously trying to get rid of some datacener PSU's. Otherwise it wouldn't even make financial sense to include PSU in $270 USD.

exactly.   

has someone confirmed those are S2 PSU's on that note? im curious, as they, yes, MUST have been "old inventory" from SOMEWHERE imo

~Got this girl in my bed, a roof over my head, i mine a couple coins a week, and thats how i make bread~
~On the 12th day of Hatzvah, OGminer said to me: "compute root of the merkle hash tree!"~
Prohashing  -- Simply the best Multipool!
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1606

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 02, 2016, 02:06:29 AM
 #115

So, I bought one of these. Mostly because I want to play with volt adjusting and I actually have need of a beefy ATX PSU.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1251



View Profile
June 02, 2016, 04:53:15 AM
 #116

So, I bought one of these. Mostly because I want to play with volt adjusting and I actually have need of a beefy ATX PSU.

How do you adjust the voltage on these? Is there an option or do you need to solder a variable resistor?





.
.




░██████████████████░
████████████████████
█████████▀░░░███████
█████████░░▄████████
███████▀▀░░▀▀███████
███████▄▄░░▄▄███████
█████████░░█████████

█████████░░█████████

█████████▄▄█████████

████████████████████

░██████████████████░
░██████████████████░
████████████████████
████████████▀▀▀█▀███
███░▀█████▀░░░░░▀███
███▌░░░▀▀▀░░░░░░████
████▄░░░░░░░░░░░████
█████▀░░░░░░░░░█████

██████▄░░░░░▄▄██████

█████▄▄▄▄███████████

████████████████████

░██████████████████░
░██████████████████░
████████████████████
████████████████████
███████████▀▀░░▐████
███████▀▀░░░░░█████
████▀░░░▄█▀░░░▐█████
█████▄▄█▀░░░░░██████

███████▌▄▄▄▐██████

████████████████████

████████████████████

░██████████████████░
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1606

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 02, 2016, 11:28:59 AM
 #117

I'm sure it'll require hardware hacking; best case, it'd take jacking into a DPOT's I2C line. Probably pretty much the same as the 135-chip S7 "repair" thread.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
IITravel01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 338
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 02, 2016, 05:34:09 PM
Last edit: June 03, 2016, 05:41:19 AM by IITravel01
 #118

I'm a little confused.  If this is just 2 blades of a S7 with 90 chips (45 per blade compared to the 3 blades of a S7 with a total of 135 chips) and the chips are clocked at the same 700M, then shouldn't it be 3.15 TH/s (instead of the 2.7 TH/s)?  Or am I missing something here?  I see that the power usage is less than 2/3 (866W vs. 700w is about 81% of original), so the efficiency is corrected for the 2.7 TH/s to 0.25 J/GH.  Or do I have this wrong?

EDIT:  I think that the 700M is an error and that they are running at 600M (this is the speed I had my S7 running and it was putting out about 4.05 TH/s).

Shipping is about $55 with FedEx to So. Cal.

Also, when someone gets one, please post pics on how the PS bracket is attached to the S7 case?  I'd be interested in just picking up the PS bracket if available.
RichBC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 02, 2016, 05:57:33 PM
 #119

I'm a little confused.  If this is just 2 blades of a S7 with 90 chips (45 per blade compared to the 3 blades of a S7 with a total of 135 chips) and the chips are clocked at the same 700M, and the efficiency is the same 0.25 J/GH, then shouldn't it be 3.15 TH/s (instead of the 2.7 TH/s)?  Or am I missing something here?  I see that the power usage is less than 2/3, but shouldn't the efficiency then be corrected and go up?  Or do I have this wrong?

Also, when someone gets one, please post pics on how the PS bracket is attached to the S7 case?

Yes I agree the obvious Maths do not add up. I had assumed that it was merely a 2 Board version of the 700MHz 3 Board 135 Chip S7.

So either the clock speed must be less than 700MHz or the Hash Rate of the chips at 700MHz must be lower or they just got the maths wrong...


Rich


→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Hard-Disk Mineable Cryptocurrency !! B U R S T C O I N 💰 Cheap Price & Easy to Invest - CHECK IT OUT NOW! !! →→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→→ 💰 Asset exchange, Automatic transactions, Escrow system & More !!
alh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1734
Merit: 1014


View Profile
June 02, 2016, 06:02:33 PM
 #120

I'm a little confused.  If this is just 2 blades of a S7 with 90 chips (45 per blade compared to the 3 blades of a S7 with a total of 135 chips) and the chips are clocked at the same 700M, then shouldn't it be 3.15 TH/s (instead of the 2.7 TH/s)?  Or am I missing something here?  I see that the power usage is less than 2/3 (866W vs. 700w is about 81% of original), so the efficiency is corrected for the 2.7 TH/s to 0.25 J/GH.  Or do I have this wrong?

Also, when someone gets one, please post pics on how the PS bracket is attached to the S7 case?

I agree that something looks off. The website for this miner suggests that it's running at 700 MHz, then the figures don't work out right. It would be really attractive for somebody to get their hands on one and do a proper review. Maybe they got some overall power reduction in the fans, but that doesn't cover the hashrate and frequency discrepancy.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!