Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 04:34:36 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Recommendation for unlockable 6950?  (Read 4708 times)
supermine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 01:12:20 AM
 #1

I am not so sure if there are differences between GPU card vendors, e.g. is a Powercolor worse than an XFX?

http://geizhals.at/deutschland/a619993.html
http://geizhals.at/deutschland/a636250.html

It goes unsaid that I want to unlock the shaders and get the most out of it for OpenCL.  Grin


Join the Dojo and become a better Crypto trader - http://www.reddit.com/r/ShibeDojo/
1480912476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912476
Reply with quote  #2

1480912476
Report to moderator
1480912476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912476
Reply with quote  #2

1480912476
Report to moderator
1480912476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912476
Reply with quote  #2

1480912476
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480912476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912476
Reply with quote  #2

1480912476
Report to moderator
1480912476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912476
Reply with quote  #2

1480912476
Report to moderator
supermine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:38:51 AM
 #2

I can answer this myself: Some are unlockable, some are not. It is all luck.

Join the Dojo and become a better Crypto trader - http://www.reddit.com/r/ShibeDojo/
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:48:22 AM
 #3

It's not luck! The reference PCB (the one that says AMD on the board just above the PCIe connector) are all 2GB, and all unlockable! Another easy way of telling, is the BIOS switch! I have heard some rumors about all 6950s were unlockable, though the 1GB, and  the non-ref cards are only done using an original 6950 modded BIOS. The ref cards can be done either way (stock modded BIOS or 6970 BIOS)

Zeth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 02:49:03 AM
 #4

I can answer this myself: Some are unlockable, some are not. It is all luck.

No, it isn't all luck.

I'm a 6950 owner (I have 2, actually) unlocked to 6970s and unlocking is possible on reference model 6950s. These were the ones released at launch. They have the dual BIOS switch that allows you to unlock. More recent models have the switch removed. If you look around you can find reference cards from HIS/Sapphire/XFX etc. but they're likely to cost more. I happened to get mine at launch.
supermine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 04:53:37 AM
 #5

I found a Powercolor 1GB 6950 with DualBios Switch. Would it be possible to unluck the shaders then with a modded BIOS?

This topic may clarify my Question with the 1GB version ( http://www.overclock.net/amd-ati/996523-just-unlocked-powercolor-hd-6950-1gb.html ). The 2GB version as you wrote is doing fine.

I can get the 1GB version for $30 less and 5 days earlier.

Edit: I decided to go with another GPU. The 6950 is indeed a bit overkill for mining.

Join the Dojo and become a better Crypto trader - http://www.reddit.com/r/ShibeDojo/
Basiley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 05:14:39 PM
 #6

NEVER buy "non-reference" GPU cards.
that's all&good luck.
newguy05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 12:44:40 AM
 #7

sorry i am still confused, how do you tell a reference version with unlockable shader vs one that is not?  On newegg i see a dozen 6950, how do i know which ones are unlockable? Sad

also are we saying ALL 2GB version of 6950 are guaranteed to unlock?
frisco
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 176


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 12:49:19 AM
 #8

This is a reference card:


Notice that every ref card will be the same, the only  change will be the stikers, also a good thing to look after is the AMD logo at the PCI connection.

1obSpGygRiuss93u8X36Ex6GYmycgTacZ just in case you feel it
newguy05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 01:09:35 AM
 #9

thanks frisco, unfortunately i dont see any of the cards on newegg with the same design anymore
SlaveInDebt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 702


Your Minion


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 02:27:30 AM
 #10

Copy paste from my other forum posting.

XFX HD-695X-ZNFC VA.3 Radeon HD 6950 1GB

XFX and others namely 1gb version are being stubborn about letting you flash their bios now. It's a hardware level lock out and whenever you attempt to flash you will be greeted with ERROR 0FL01 unable to write. Even using -unlockrom or -f commands.

Pm25LV010 is the problem.

Solution



Result



Progress 900mhz stock voltage. Ive made progress up to 400mh/s @ 915mhz with PowerTune tweaks etc. Issue's - Lack luster cooler




"A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining, but wants it back the minute it begins to rain." - Mark Twain
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 04:40:44 AM
 #11

I think the copy and paste made the links broken..

I have just spent about 2 hours trying to unlock the shaders on my xfx 6950's.   they are running at 353 Mhsh now, but I see that I can get them up to over 400.

Please repost the links to the 'other' thread you speak of.

It looks like you have to take the card apart and jump #3-#8 of chip ...somechip.  will it work for an xfx?

Jim


update:  here is the link to the other thread....awsome. http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/showthread.php?p=3902061


1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Coaster
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 04:58:53 AM
 #12

it insta-voids warranty.. how many people feel comfortable doing that?
SlaveInDebt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 702


Your Minion


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 06:48:44 AM
 #13

it insta-voids warranty.. how many people feel comfortable doing that?

Obviously not you so don;t concern yourself with it then.

Id recommend a solder pen across the bios chip for ease of use.

I think the copy and paste made the links broken..

I have just spent about 2 hours trying to unlock the shaders on my xfx 6950's.   they are running at 353 Mhsh now, but I see that I can get them up to over 400.

Please repost the links to the 'other' thread you speak of.

It looks like you have to take the card apart and jump #3-#8 of chip ...somechip.  will it work for an xfx?

Jim

Make sure to use CCC PowerTune to 20% otherwise your capped at 350Mh/s no matter the clocks.

"A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining, but wants it back the minute it begins to rain." - Mark Twain
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 04:34:17 PM
 #14

I have a saphhire NON ref 6950  Undecided

Has anyone tried this method with it to unlock shaders only ?  as in .

To flash a modded 6950flash  WITH shaders onto it, and not flashing with a 6970flash?

Im about ready to do this? 

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
dinzy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Fuck Intel!


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 09:45:41 PM
 #15

Anyone know how to unlock shaders on the HIS non reference 2GB card.  It won't flash but there is no error, I am guessing they shorted some lines. 

Not that I see much difference between this card and my unlocked MSi TF II, I just don't like the fact that they are hiding the extra shaders in plain sight. Smiley

Jazkal
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 319



View Profile
June 19, 2011, 11:33:40 PM
 #16

I have a saphhire NON ref 6950  Undecided

Has anyone tried this method with it to unlock shaders only ?  as in .

To flash a modded 6950flash  WITH shaders onto it, and not flashing with a 6970flash?

Im about ready to do this? 
Is this the one with two fans? Does it have 1 or 2 gb of ram?

I ask because I was planning on getting two of these to unlock. Please let me know how it goes.
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 11:46:42 PM
 #17

I have a saphhire NON ref 6950  Undecided

Has anyone tried this method with it to unlock shaders only ?  as in .

To flash a modded 6950flash  WITH shaders onto it, and not flashing with a 6970flash?

Im about ready to do this? 
Is this the one with two fans? Does it have 1 or 2 gb of ram?

I ask because I was planning on getting two of these to unlock. Please let me know how it goes.

Bought from canada computers
1 fan
2 gig of ram


For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
a1phanumrc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
June 20, 2011, 01:04:09 AM
 #18

I'm using two Diamond 6950s, both with flashed bios to 6970 - working great!

BC tips: BA1phaSEpCN7jiSS33SSWXf3Bs1rP9SKir
Jazkal
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 319



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 06:02:50 PM
 #19

I'm using two Diamond 6950s, both with flashed bios to 6970 - working great!
What model numbers?
a1phanumrc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 10:26:40 PM
 #20

I'm using two Diamond 6950s, both with flashed bios to 6970 - working great!
What model numbers?
6950PE52G

DIAMOND Radeon HD 6950 2048MB

BC tips: BA1phaSEpCN7jiSS33SSWXf3Bs1rP9SKir
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!