Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 10:26:22 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Want GPU's running 100%  (Read 2069 times)
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 06:02:31 AM
 #1

So, I'm having a little issue here. Setup:

Phenom II 965
8 GB Ram
2x 5870 @ 1040/300 pulling 435 at load
Temps at 55-60 C for the cards
Catalyst 11.4
SDK 2.1
poclbm

The issue is that my cards are not being consistently pegged. One will run at 100%, while the other hovers between 60 and 95%. I've got the machine set to sleep the display immediately, but still I see a significant drop in MHash/s. Any ideas? Do i just need dummy plugs and a crap dedi card?
1480933582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480933582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480933582
Reply with quote  #2

1480933582
Report to moderator
1480933582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480933582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480933582
Reply with quote  #2

1480933582
Report to moderator
1480933582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480933582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480933582
Reply with quote  #2

1480933582
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480933582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480933582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480933582
Reply with quote  #2

1480933582
Report to moderator
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 06:22:46 PM
 #2

Shameless self bump...
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:07:43 PM
 #3

Hmm, what settings do you use?

Also what program are you measuring utilization with?
I prefer HWINFO since it gives more accurate Temp readings than many of the overclocking tools out there.

It could be that the second GPU is entering a power save state, you may want to disable ULPS which can be done via Sapphire Trixx.

Need more info.

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:44:05 PM
 #4

Using MSI Afterburner to measure, but also just looking at my MHash. One will float around 435, while GPU 2 sits around 360-430, fluctuates with the load.
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 12:16:36 AM
 #5

did this:  http://www.overclock.net/amd-ati/667144-crossfire-disabling-ulps.html

no luck Sad
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 12:18:24 AM
 #6


What Aggression level are you running at?

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
genewitch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 04:20:58 AM
 #7

don't use crossfire. SLI is for video not GPGPU. i may be wrong but setting up separate threads for each GPU may be your best bet.
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:38:55 AM
 #8

Already have separate threads, but thanks for the help Cheesy
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:43:12 AM
 #9


Uhhh..... Whatever the default is. I haven't looked into changing it at all. What's the setting for my batch then? --AGGRESSION=x?
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:32:05 PM
 #10

figured it out... workload at 128, set it to 256.
Saturn7
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:32:12 PM
 #11

Also use the Phatk kernel instead of poclbm if you are using SDK 2.4

I am getting 423M/h with my 5870 at 970 MHz, If you have clocked yours to 1045 you should be getting 450M/h

What voltages are you using for that speed. I killed one of my cards when i pushed it to 1000Mhz?

First there was Fire, then Electricity, and now Bitcoins Wink
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 25, 2011, 08:13:21 PM
 #12

Well, it turns out that my workload and -f were to blame.

new batch: poclbm0.exe  -v -w256 -f 10

Catalyst 11.4
SDK 2.1
m0mchil's POCLBM
Slush's pool
2 threads, 1040/300 @ 1.2V.

Card 1 runs at 99%, card 2 at 97% consistently. I get 458 on thread 1 and 445ish on thread 2.

Thanks for the input gents.
hunter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 03:46:55 AM
 #13

Which driver version has the sdk 2.1?
And is that the best version to use?

I just can't seem to get > 420 on my cards, running 1GHZ on windows 7 64b using poclbm.
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 29, 2011, 06:23:41 AM
 #14

Quote
Which driver version has the sdk 2.1?
And is that the best version to use?

This:

Quote
Catalyst 11.4
SDK 2.1

found here (for windows 7 at any rate):

Catalyst 11.4
SDK 2.1


Does not work for 6000 series cards.
hunter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 01:58:23 AM
 #15

Quote
Which driver version has the sdk 2.1?
And is that the best version to use?

This:

Quote
Catalyst 11.4
SDK 2.1

found here (for windows 7 at any rate):

Catalyst 11.4
SDK 2.1


Does not work for 6000 series cards.

Thank you, I gained ~170 mhash/s total on my cards.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!