Bitcoin Forum
March 28, 2017, 04:01:04 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Want GPU's running 100%  (Read 2113 times)
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 06:02:31 AM
 #1

So, I'm having a little issue here. Setup:

Phenom II 965
8 GB Ram
2x 5870 @ 1040/300 pulling 435 at load
Temps at 55-60 C for the cards
Catalyst 11.4
SDK 2.1
poclbm

The issue is that my cards are not being consistently pegged. One will run at 100%, while the other hovers between 60 and 95%. I've got the machine set to sleep the display immediately, but still I see a significant drop in MHash/s. Any ideas? Do i just need dummy plugs and a crap dedi card?
1490716864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490716864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490716864
Reply with quote  #2

1490716864
Report to moderator
If you see garbage posts (off-topic, trolling, spam, no point, etc.), use the "report to moderator" links. All reports are investigated, though you will rarely be contacted about your reports.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490716864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490716864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490716864
Reply with quote  #2

1490716864
Report to moderator
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 06:22:46 PM
 #2

Shameless self bump...
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:07:43 PM
 #3

Hmm, what settings do you use?

Also what program are you measuring utilization with?
I prefer HWINFO since it gives more accurate Temp readings than many of the overclocking tools out there.

It could be that the second GPU is entering a power save state, you may want to disable ULPS which can be done via Sapphire Trixx.

Need more info.

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 11, 2011, 11:44:05 PM
 #4

Using MSI Afterburner to measure, but also just looking at my MHash. One will float around 435, while GPU 2 sits around 360-430, fluctuates with the load.
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 12:16:36 AM
 #5

did this:  http://www.overclock.net/amd-ati/667144-crossfire-disabling-ulps.html

no luck Sad
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 12:18:24 AM
 #6


What Aggression level are you running at?

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
genewitch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 04:20:58 AM
 #7

don't use crossfire. SLI is for video not GPGPU. i may be wrong but setting up separate threads for each GPU may be your best bet.
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:38:55 AM
 #8

Already have separate threads, but thanks for the help Cheesy
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:43:12 AM
 #9


Uhhh..... Whatever the default is. I haven't looked into changing it at all. What's the setting for my batch then? --AGGRESSION=x?
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:32:05 PM
 #10

figured it out... workload at 128, set it to 256.
Saturn7
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:32:12 PM
 #11

Also use the Phatk kernel instead of poclbm if you are using SDK 2.4

I am getting 423M/h with my 5870 at 970 MHz, If you have clocked yours to 1045 you should be getting 450M/h

What voltages are you using for that speed. I killed one of my cards when i pushed it to 1000Mhz?

First there was Fire, then Electricity, and now Bitcoins Wink
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 25, 2011, 08:13:21 PM
 #12

Well, it turns out that my workload and -f were to blame.

new batch: poclbm0.exe  -v -w256 -f 10

Catalyst 11.4
SDK 2.1
m0mchil's POCLBM
Slush's pool
2 threads, 1040/300 @ 1.2V.

Card 1 runs at 99%, card 2 at 97% consistently. I get 458 on thread 1 and 445ish on thread 2.

Thanks for the input gents.
hunter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 03:46:55 AM
 #13

Which driver version has the sdk 2.1?
And is that the best version to use?

I just can't seem to get > 420 on my cards, running 1GHZ on windows 7 64b using poclbm.
mautobu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile
June 29, 2011, 06:23:41 AM
 #14

Quote
Which driver version has the sdk 2.1?
And is that the best version to use?

This:

Quote
Catalyst 11.4
SDK 2.1

found here (for windows 7 at any rate):

Catalyst 11.4
SDK 2.1


Does not work for 6000 series cards.
hunter
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 01:58:23 AM
 #15

Quote
Which driver version has the sdk 2.1?
And is that the best version to use?

This:

Quote
Catalyst 11.4
SDK 2.1

found here (for windows 7 at any rate):

Catalyst 11.4
SDK 2.1


Does not work for 6000 series cards.

Thank you, I gained ~170 mhash/s total on my cards.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!