Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2014, 07:02:38 PM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: SO close. Help with getting OpenCL recognized and GPU mining enabled on CGMiner.  (Read 20907 times)
skeeterskeeter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144


View Profile

Ignore
March 06, 2013, 01:14:00 AM
 #1

Well all. I have been many gpu's and setup in the last few weeks through various forums and I finally have gotten all my hardware recognized on ubuntu.

I have x4 5830's on a Evga board and intel chipset

I have mined with all of the four board I have but never have been able to do it all at once. This is the closest I've been  Cheesy  Grin

Code:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
cgminer 2.11.0
------------------------------------------------------------------------


Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: -lncurses
  OpenCL...............: NOT FOUND. GPU mining support DISABLED
configure: error: No mining configured in
xxxxxx@xxxxx-PC:~/cgminer-master$


What are my options, I am not sure where or how to find OpenCL. I searched found their site, but no downloads?

Any help guise?!



 Shocked  Shocked  Shocked
Code:
lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Cypress LE [Radeon HD 5800 Series]
04:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Cypress LE [Radeon HD 5800 Series]
05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Cypress LE [Radeon HD 5800 Series]
06:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Cypress LE [Radeon HD 5800 Series]

If I made your day brighter, make mine too! If I made your day worse, make mine better!
BTC: 1BS7jY3uRpv1yvykhrK2UDuDLiYRVi6nGW
1398279758
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398279758

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398279758
Reply with quote  #2

1398279758
Report to moderator
1398279758
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398279758

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398279758
Reply with quote  #2

1398279758
Report to moderator
1398279758
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398279758

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398279758
Reply with quote  #2

1398279758
Report to moderator
Private Internet Access™ - No logs, Unlimited Bandwidth, PC Magazine's Editor's Choice
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1398279758
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398279758

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398279758
Reply with quote  #2

1398279758
Report to moderator
KWH
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile

Ignore
March 06, 2013, 01:29:34 AM
 #2

What driver are you using?
skeeterskeeter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144


View Profile

Ignore
March 06, 2013, 01:32:37 AM
 #3

What driver are you using?

CatalystControlCenter 13.1 ?

If I made your day brighter, make mine too! If I made your day worse, make mine better!
BTC: 1BS7jY3uRpv1yvykhrK2UDuDLiYRVi6nGW
KWH
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile

Ignore
March 06, 2013, 01:39:47 AM
 #4

What driver are you using?

CatalystControlCenter 13.1 ?

And what OS?
skeeterskeeter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144


View Profile

Ignore
March 06, 2013, 01:42:41 AM
 #5


Sorry. I should've included this. Ubuntu 12.10.

If I made your day brighter, make mine too! If I made your day worse, make mine better!
BTC: 1BS7jY3uRpv1yvykhrK2UDuDLiYRVi6nGW
KWH
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile

Ignore
March 06, 2013, 01:49:42 AM
 #6


Sorry. I should've included this. Ubuntu 12.10.


That's what I thought. From what I can see, you don't have OpenCL installed. You need the correct SDK. I am no expert on Ubuntu so I will have to defer to someone with more knowledge. Sorry I couldn't be of any help.

Check this thread, it may help: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78229.0
skeeterskeeter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144


View Profile

Ignore
March 06, 2013, 02:24:32 AM
 #7

Code:
kevin@Kevins-PC:~/cgminer-master$ sudo apt-get install python-pyopencl
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree      
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 python-pyopencl :Depends: opencl-icd but it is not installable
                   Depends: python-pyopencl-headers (= 2012.1-1ubuntu1) but it is not going to be installed
                   Recommends: python-pyopencl-doc but it is not going to be installed
                   Recommends: python-opengl but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

python-pyopencl :Depends: opencl-icd but it is not installable ?

As for the forum link. I am pretty sure I already have the APP SDK. Is there a way to make sure?

Because I think I have it that is why I tried to install "python-pyopencl".


If I made your day brighter, make mine too! If I made your day worse, make mine better!
BTC: 1BS7jY3uRpv1yvykhrK2UDuDLiYRVi6nGW
TechCF
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile

Ignore
March 06, 2013, 12:49:33 PM
 #8

13.1 (and 13.2 beta 1-7) is a hassle. Clean install Windows 8 x64 and 13.1 will not work. There will be a mismatch between the AMD.APP\bin\x86\opencl.dll and the syswow64\opencl.dll. Cgminer will crash, unless you have precompiled kernels (*.bin) files that are compatible in the folder. By copying the AMD.APP dll's (amdocl64.dll/amdocl.dll and opencl.dll) to system32 and syswow64 it will work. Remember to take ownership of the file, then change the filerights (as Windows protects those files by default).

This may well be the case for you Ubuntu install.

Details here: http://devgurus.amd.com/thread/160032
Looks like there is something new in the CL library that requires rewriting/recompilation of software with the new drivers/app sdk.

I myself just did a clean reinstall and installed 12.8 upon install to overcome this problem.
skeeterskeeter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144


View Profile

Ignore
March 06, 2013, 01:47:39 PM
 #9

13.1 (and 13.2 beta 1-7) is a hassle. Clean install Windows 8 x64 and 13.1 will not work. There will be a mismatch between the AMD.APP\bin\x86\opencl.dll and the syswow64\opencl.dll. Cgminer will crash, unless you have precompiled kernels (*.bin) files that are compatible in the folder. By copying the AMD.APP dll's (amdocl64.dll/amdocl.dll and opencl.dll) to system32 and syswow64 it will work. Remember to take ownership of the file, then change the filerights (as Windows protects those files by default).

This may well be the case for you Ubuntu install.

Details here: http://devgurus.amd.com/thread/160032
Looks like there is something new in the CL library that requires rewriting/recompilation of software with the new drivers/app sdk.

I myself just did a clean reinstall and installed 12.8 upon install to overcome this problem.

Is there anyway to check to see if I have OpenCL and its version?

I just did a clean install of Ubuntu too. So you think I should find a older version and not use 13.1?


I must've read 100 walkthroughs by now and none of them get me any closer. I'm lost.

EDIT: From the CGMiner readme it looks like CGminer cannot find my OpenCL libraries

If it finds the opencl files it will inform you with
"OpenCL: FOUND. GPU mining support enabled."

So. How can I get my OpenCL libraries to where they need to go?

If I made your day brighter, make mine too! If I made your day worse, make mine better!
BTC: 1BS7jY3uRpv1yvykhrK2UDuDLiYRVi6nGW
ckolivas
Moderator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036



View Profile WWW

Ignore
March 06, 2013, 09:07:19 PM
 #10

AMD are awesome at breaking stuff. Manually download the AMD APP version 2.7 and install it and try again. You will need to log in/out or even reboot for the modified paths to work.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0  148KkS2vgVi4VzUi4JcKzM2PMaMVPi3nnq
ONLY ignoring luke-jr
-ck
skeeterskeeter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144


View Profile

Ignore
March 07, 2013, 12:50:58 AM
 #11

Ok, well I am almost 99% sure I have OpenCL now. Ran the commands below and all worked beautifully. (Via your README ckolivas)

Code:
cd AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/
 cp -pv lib/x86_64/* /usr/lib/
 rsync -avl include/CL/ /usr/include/CL/

 tar -xvzf icd-registration.tgz
 rsync -avl etc/OpenCL/ /etc/OpenCL/
 ldconfig
 sync

 shutdown -r now

I see next to do this

Code:
If you are on 32 bit, x86_64 in the 2nd last line should be x86

To actually build:

./autogen.sh # only needed if building from git repo
CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" ./configure
or if you haven't installed the ati files in system locations:
CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native -I<path to AMD APP include>" LDFLAGS="-L<path to AMD APP lib/x86_64> ./configure
make

If it finds the opencl files it will inform you with
"OpenCL: FOUND. GPU mining support enabled."

Does that mean run this

Code:
./autogen.sh CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" ./configure
or this
Code:
./autogen.sh
?

Because I am doing the second, and getting this in return

Code:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
cgminer 2.11.0
------------------------------------------------------------------------


Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: -lncurses
  OpenCL...............: NOT FOUND. GPU mining support DISABLED
configure: error: No mining configured in


So might I try the later?

EDIT:

Hmm so maybe I don't?
Code:
*snip
checking for alloca... yes
checking for OpenCL... no
checking for pthread_create in -lpthread... yes
*snip

EDIT2: ?

Code:
kevin@Kevins-PC:/etc$ cd OpenCL
kevin@Kevins-PC:/etc/OpenCL$ ls
vendors
kevin@Kevins-PC:/etc/OpenCL$ cd vendors
kevin@Kevins-PC:/etc/OpenCL/vendors$ ls
amdocl32.icd  amdocl64.icd
kevin@Kevins-PC:/etc/OpenCL/vendors$

If I made your day brighter, make mine too! If I made your day worse, make mine better!
BTC: 1BS7jY3uRpv1yvykhrK2UDuDLiYRVi6nGW
MilesDyson
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15



View Profile WWW

Ignore
March 29, 2013, 09:53:43 AM
 #12

I created an easy to follow Walk Threw for installing cgminer with OpenCL for AMD/ATI video cards on Ubuntu.

Walk Threw : http://www.distrogeeks.com/?p=7105

Hope it helps.

We Like Linux!! http://www.distrogeeks.com
jzakilla
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile

Ignore
February 07, 2014, 12:47:43 AM
 #13

Ran into the same problem compiling from source on (L)ubuntu 13.04. Really, Really easy fix. After searching the repository I found an OpenCL package specifically for developers. The following line did the trick! Smiley

Code:
sudo apt-get install ocl-icd-opencl-dev

hope this helps someone.
roncutt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile

Ignore
March 03, 2014, 03:43:57 PM
 #14

Ran into the same problem compiling from source on (L)ubuntu 13.04. Really, Really easy fix. After searching the repository I found an OpenCL package specifically for developers. The following line did the trick! Smiley

Code:
sudo apt-get install ocl-icd-opencl-dev

hope this helps someone.

You
Are
The
Best

Months looking for the correct answer. Up until your post I had to stick with older versions of cgminer, as I couldn't compile new ones.
Thanks a lot, mate!

Ron.
elses_pels
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile

Ignore
April 08, 2014, 06:15:53 PM
 #15

Ran into the same problem compiling from source on (L)ubuntu 13.04. Really, Really easy fix. After searching the repository I found an OpenCL package specifically for developers. The following line did the trick! Smiley

Code:
sudo apt-get install ocl-icd-opencl-dev

hope this helps someone.

You
Are
The
Best

Months looking for the correct answer. Up until your post I had to stick with older versions of cgminer, as I couldn't compile new ones.
Thanks a lot, mate!

Ron.


I second that! I was going really crazy until you solved everything with one line
thanks!!!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!