Bitcoin Forum
August 21, 2018, 05:16:37 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Found a bug in V1.6.1 / 1.6.2: ValueError: No JSON object could be decoded  (Read 2008 times)
MacDschie
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0



View Profile
March 08, 2013, 08:06:34 PM
 #1

Hi there,

since today, electrum has some strange output on the console when I start it:

Code:
$ electrum -w wallet.dat
Exception in thread Thread-4:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/threading.py", line 551, in __bootstrap_inner
    self.run()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/electrum/exchange_rate.py", line 28, in run
    self.discovery()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/electrum/exchange_rate.py", line 39, in discovery
    response = json.loads(response.read())
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/json/__init__.py", line 326, in loads
    return _default_decoder.decode(s)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/json/decoder.py", line 366, in decode
    obj, end = self.raw_decode(s, idx=_w(s, 0).end())
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/json/decoder.py", line 384, in raw_decode
    raise ValueError("No JSON object could be decoded")
ValueError: No JSON object could be decoded

I used V1.6.1 and saw this, then I updated to 1.6.2. The error still occurs. I tried starting electrum with my usual wallet (without arguments). I also tried to start with no wallet or other data at all (renamed the .electrum directory in case some of the data in there got corrupted) and then, the error appears right after the creation of the new wallet. Everything else seems OK. If I start electrum with my usual wallet, the transactions and addresses are displayed normally. I didn't try to make any transaction because I'm kind of sceptical what will happen (don't want to lose any of my hardly earned bitcoins...).

I use Ubuntu Linux 12.04 as operating system. Has anybody seen this message and/or knows what's it all about or how to get rid of it?
1534828597
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534828597

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534828597
Reply with quote  #2

1534828597
Report to moderator
1534828597
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534828597

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534828597
Reply with quote  #2

1534828597
Report to moderator
1534828597
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534828597

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534828597
Reply with quote  #2

1534828597
Report to moderator
BOUNTY PORTALS
BLOG
WHERE BOUNTY MANAGEMENT
MEETS AUTOMATION
SIGNATURE CAMPAIGNS
TWITTER
FACEBOOK
MEDIA CAMPAIGNS
AND MORE!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717
Merit: 500


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2013, 02:34:40 AM
 #2

Same here, have been trying to solve this since 7th morning. In my case I see this in Terminal in Mountain Lion. I thought it was the latest Java update which messed up the OS

Also I can't open the binary App. It fail to open, still trying things and asking in the Apple forums to see if it was an update or something else.

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1899
Merit: 1017



View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 06:38:16 AM
 #3

that bug is fixed.
for bug reports, better use github

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!