Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2018, 06:57:30 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [Guide] Dogie's Comprehensive Bitmain Antminer S9 Setup [HD]  (Read 39723 times)
takagari
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
November 16, 2016, 04:29:03 PM
 #21

Thanks for another great guide.

Has anyone had luck with knocking the noise level down on these beasts?
I just ordered the latest 14th batch. and will be running it in an apartment with free power, so noise is somewhat a concern.
Additional quitter fans is possible, spreading the boards on in a bigger case maybe with more fans etc.

been searching around, having a heck of a time though.

Thank you
1539975450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539975450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539975450
Reply with quote  #2

1539975450
Report to moderator
1539975450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539975450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539975450
Reply with quote  #2

1539975450
Report to moderator
1539975450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539975450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539975450
Reply with quote  #2

1539975450
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539975450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539975450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539975450
Reply with quote  #2

1539975450
Report to moderator
1539975450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539975450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539975450
Reply with quote  #2

1539975450
Report to moderator
1539975450
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539975450

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539975450
Reply with quote  #2

1539975450
Report to moderator
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
November 16, 2016, 04:46:51 PM
 #22

Spreading the boards out and using a blower such as this http://www.globalindustrial.com/p/hvac/blowers/crossflow/crossflow-blower-14-wheel instead of fans is the only solution to noise that I can think of. Might also need to use a couple small 4-pin fans tied to the controller so it still sees fans.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
flogy4031
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 16, 2016, 09:10:22 PM
 #23

thank you for your reply. I talked to Bitmain and they said I should RMA the controller and The whole machine with the deffective hash board (not just the hash board as you would expect..)
Anyway there is no SD slot on the controller board, just the hole in the front cover (maybe for esthetic reasons... it looks really pretty though Smiley )
So back to China it is then! It's gonna be so much fun ( I just can't wait to deal again with customs and shipping etc )
Hope you guys have more luck with your machines.
Bye
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1053


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 17, 2016, 01:19:34 AM
 #24

Thanks for another great guide.

Has anyone had luck with knocking the noise level down on these beasts.

My long term feedback to Bitmain was always about cooling and tbh they've already achieved near the best they can given their board and chip structure. I don't know how else you can improve it without - as NotFuzzyWarm - suggests, dismantling stuff.

takagari
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
November 17, 2016, 01:55:20 PM
 #25

That's what I am gathering.
I like the fact that they stick with the same form factor, but feel they are getting thing's a little tight.
Who knows maybe having it that tight is best for cooling?
Maybe a new gen with a bit less power, less noise, but not as pricey as their latest home miner. Hmm

With the av7 launch, thing's are starting to get interesting Smiley
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1053


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 17, 2016, 10:22:00 PM
 #26

Who knows maybe having it that tight is best for cooling?

It is. If you think of gaps like a hollow pipe, the air closest to the wall is doing your cooling but then there's a core of air which contributes very little and passes though. The more space you have the more of these deadspots you get. This was evidence on the V1 ASICMiner Tube / Prisma which would waste a lot of their airflow.

spaldix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 22, 2016, 11:57:35 PM
 #27

Hello, I have a question about the Power supply for a S9 (batch 22). If I only have 220V in my house, is it okey if I just use another PSU, different than the one recommended by Bitmain, that can be used with 110V? If thats the case, do you have any recomendation? Thanks Smiley
takagari
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2016, 12:04:50 AM
 #28

Hello, I have a question about the Power supply for a S9 (batch 22). If I only have 220V in my house, is it okey if I just use another PSU, different than the one recommended by Bitmain, that can be used with 110V? If thats the case, do you have any recomendation? Thanks Smiley
EVGA 1600, or a 1k and 750, really any pc power supply, but realize you need 400-600 per board, so you'll want buffer, and one board can't have more than one psu.
I run mine with 2 boards on a EVGA 1300, and the third board runs on a 750 watt psu.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
November 23, 2016, 12:56:20 AM
 #29

Hello, I have a question about the Power supply for a S9 (batch 22). If I only have 220V in my house, is it okey if I just use another PSU, different than the one recommended by Bitmain, that can be used with 110V? If thats the case, do you have any recomendation? Thanks Smiley
EVGA 1600, or a 1k and 750, really any pc power supply, but realize you need 400-600 per board, so you'll want buffer, and one board can't have more than one psu.
I run mine with 2 boards on a EVGA 1300, and the third board runs on a 750 watt psu.
Ditto to that. I was just looking for a quiet ATX supply to run an undervolted s7 space heater and was rather distressed to see that when you actually look at the specs for the ATX suppies:
1. Not enough 6-pin PCIe connectors. Is typically only 6 on a supply >1200w
2. Current per-rail is marginal at best, typically a couple @30A and the rest are 20A
3. Remember - a PC style supply wattage ratting is for ALL of its outputs together. The 3.3 and 5v portions account for between 150-200w of that rating so don't count on that all being available on the 12v rails.

Frankly, if you are going to spend >$300 on a PSU(s) - get Bitmain's APW5. Will run a s9 on 110v just fine.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1053


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2016, 01:34:25 AM
 #30

Hello, I have a question about the Power supply for a S9 (batch 22). If I only have 220V in my house, is it okey if I just use another PSU, different than the one recommended by Bitmain, that can be used with 110V? If thats the case, do you have any recomendation? Thanks Smiley

Yes and EVGA 1600W Smiley

solteykr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 20, 2016, 06:20:39 PM
 #31



good day sir dogie,

if you can help a newbie... I currently have 1 antminer s9 11.85th, i can control the fan speed and frequency. i want to add more s9's, but i read that the new firmware for the new s9's has fan and frequency issue.

question:
which s9 has this issues? 12.5th? 13th? 14th?

I don't want to face the issue. Smiley I want to buy s9 where I can control the fan and frequency because its tropical here in our country.

COINS.PH Share the gift of convenience by inviting your friends to Coins.ph
Show your friends how easy it is to send money, buy load and pay bills.
You both receive 50 PHP every time a friend signs up through your referral link and verifies ID and Selfie.
takagari
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
December 20, 2016, 06:44:30 PM
 #32



good day sir dogie,

if you can help a newbie... I currently have 1 antminer s9 11.85th, i can control the fan speed and frequency. i want to add more s9's, but i read that the new firmware for the new s9's has fan and frequency issue.

question:
which s9 has this issues? 12.5th? 13th? 14th?

I don't want to face the issue. Smiley I want to buy s9 where I can control the fan and frequency because its tropical here in our country.

There are no fan ""issues""
its all auto tune now, so you can't adjust the setup/speeds
You can see all this in the official thread.
solteykr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 20, 2016, 07:03:00 PM
 #33



good day sir dogie,

if you can help a newbie... I currently have 1 antminer s9 11.85th, i can control the fan speed and frequency. i want to add more s9's, but i read that the new firmware for the new s9's has fan and frequency issue.

question:
which s9 has this issues? 12.5th? 13th? 14th?

I don't want to face the issue. Smiley I want to buy s9 where I can control the fan and frequency because its tropical here in our country.

There are no fan ""issues""
its all auto tune now, so you can't adjust the setup/speeds
You can see all this in the official thread.

Thats the issue im talking about, cant control the fan and frequency. many complain of high heat. if im gonna buy more s9 i need to know which s9 as this autotune. because i need to control the fan speed and frequency. because its hot in our country. ive been reading the forum about the s9. but i cant find info on which miners has this autotune.

and another thing, can i use old firmwares for the new miners? will it be able to control the fans? or is the autotune sticked on the hardware?

can you kindly point me to the official thread? (bitmain antminer s9 release?)

COINS.PH Share the gift of convenience by inviting your friends to Coins.ph
Show your friends how easy it is to send money, buy load and pay bills.
You both receive 50 PHP every time a friend signs up through your referral link and verifies ID and Selfie.
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 20, 2016, 07:10:46 PM
 #34

Stick with 11.85th b10 S9 secondhand. Ask about what firmware they are using. All new S9's released from about a month ago have the new auto tune firmware. The old firmware is not available anymore so once you update to the new auto tune firmware there's no going back.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
solteykr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 20, 2016, 07:51:11 PM
 #35

How about these? are these firmwares autotunes?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1493601.msg16873853#msg16873853

COINS.PH Share the gift of convenience by inviting your friends to Coins.ph
Show your friends how easy it is to send money, buy load and pay bills.
You both receive 50 PHP every time a friend signs up through your referral link and verifies ID and Selfie.
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 20, 2016, 08:53:50 PM
 #36


You could try them. But as stated its entirely at your own risk. I assume the 11.85Th firmware listed there is the original firmware my S9 is running now. But I couldn't tell you for certain. All that's listed on my S9 Info page is "File System Version-Mon Jul 11 18:23:27 CST 2016".

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
solteykr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 21, 2016, 03:01:56 AM
 #37


You could try them. But as stated its entirely at your own risk. I assume the 11.85Th firmware listed there is the original firmware my S9 is running now. But I couldn't tell you for certain. All that's listed on my S9 Info page is "File System Version-Mon Jul 11 18:23:27 CST 2016".

Thank you for the info.

My 11TH has the same version, the thing about this version, its not very stable and smooth when hashing, its really erratic, the hashrate on antpool using this miner goes up and down alot. I also read the new firmwares are more stable in hashing on antpool, too bad for us, I tried to flash it to autotune but its the fan speed that bother me most. I really need to underclock the miner at 12noon here in the philippines. temperature soars up to 100 degrees. i dont like that, we know it shortens the lifespan of the miner. i want to be able to reach the halving in 2020.. hehe..

I have found a chinese seller for the 12.5TH? Do you have any idea of the firmware? is it autotune?

COINS.PH Share the gift of convenience by inviting your friends to Coins.ph
Show your friends how easy it is to send money, buy load and pay bills.
You both receive 50 PHP every time a friend signs up through your referral link and verifies ID and Selfie.
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 21, 2016, 06:58:54 AM
 #38


You could try them. But as stated its entirely at your own risk. I assume the 11.85Th firmware listed there is the original firmware my S9 is running now. But I couldn't tell you for certain. All that's listed on my S9 Info page is "File System Version-Mon Jul 11 18:23:27 CST 2016".

Thank you for the info.

My 11TH has the same version, the thing about this version, its not very stable and smooth when hashing, its really erratic, the hashrate on antpool using this miner goes up and down alot. I also read the new firmwares are more stable in hashing on antpool, too bad for us, I tried to flash it to autotune but its the fan speed that bother me most. I really need to underclock the miner at 12noon here in the philippines. temperature soars up to 100 degrees. i dont like that, we know it shortens the lifespan of the miner. i want to be able to reach the halving in 2020.. hehe..

I have found a chinese seller for the 12.5TH? Do you have any idea of the firmware? is it autotune?

That's why bought it secondhand as it had the original firmware with fan adjustment. The newest auto tune works well from what I've read and keep the chips below 100c but it would be noisy. I've heavily underclocked mine down to 4.2Th and it's really nice and quiet. Anyway good luck with Antpoo....I mean Antpool (probably the worst pool going).

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
theduke1989
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 18, 2017, 05:56:21 AM
 #39

Hello,

I was redirected to this page for more information.

Since a family member of my wants to start mining witch ASIC machines(BTC) i want some information about it.

1. The bitmain ASIC miners, are they only for antpool mining?
2. I have used in the early years (now about 3-5 years ago) bfgminer, can this be used to for the ASIC miners? Since everything here is stand-alone mining!
3. Is it still worth mining now we are 120+ days further, and if buying 2 asic miners! will it be profitable? Using for now free electricety and Internet!!
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1015



View Profile
May 18, 2017, 10:17:53 AM
 #40

Hello,

I was redirected to this page for more information.

Since a family member of my wants to start mining witch ASIC machines(BTC) i want some information about it.

1. The bitmain ASIC miners, are they only for antpool mining?
No. You can mine at whatever pool you prefer.
Quote
2. I have used in the early years (now about 3-5 years ago) bfgminer, can this be used to for the ASIC miners? Since everything here is stand-alone mining!
These miners have built-in controller with Bitmain's fork of cgminer.
Quote
3. Is it still worth mining now we are 120+ days further, and if buying 2 asic miners! will it be profitable? Using for now free electricety and Internet!!

Sure. The keywords are "free electricity and internet".  Wink

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!