Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 10:04:00 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 0 Active connections - (out of sync)  (Read 2994 times)
Dangolbery
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 11:28:38 PM
 #1

My bitcoin-qt client wont connect to the network. I thought it might be a virus because MSE stopped working aswell however when i use my second computer the bitcoin client still can't connect to the network.

Tried a heap of virus scanners and nothing is found. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511042640
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511042640

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511042640
Reply with quote  #2

1511042640
Report to moderator
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030



View Profile
March 24, 2013, 12:23:42 AM
 #2

ghetto way of checking if (outbound) tcp connections are blocked:

1. open up command prompt
2. type in "telnet bitseed.xf2.org 8333" (without quotes)
3. report what happens

alternate hostnames:
Code:
seed.bitcoin.sipa.be
dnsseed.bluematt.me
dnsseed.bitcoin.dashjr.org

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512



View Profile WWW
March 24, 2013, 01:05:29 AM
 #3

You say you are using Microsoft Security essentials. There is only one sticky in technical support, and it is No blocks downloaded - MS Security Essentials users please read.

I would go through any and all software firewall/virus scanners on the computer and disable them to isolate the problem. Likely something (installed on both computers) is not letting Bitcoin connections in or out. Alternately, if MSE isn't working, a virus may have disabled it and also broken network connectivity.


Dangolbery
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 11:38:14 AM
 #4

ghetto way of checking if (outbound) tcp connections are blocked:

1. open up command prompt
2. type in "telnet bitseed.xf2.org 8333" (without quotes)
3. report what happens

alternate hostnames:
Code:
seed.bitcoin.sipa.be
dnsseed.bluematt.me
dnsseed.bitcoin.dashjr.org

All of them just idle at Connecting to (hostname)... then after 5 mins it comes up that it couldn't connect on port 8333: Connection failed. So is this my ISP or maybe router doing this?

Note: I've since completely reinstalled windows so as to remove any possible viruses.



You say you are using Microsoft Security essentials. There is only one sticky in technical support, and it is No blocks downloaded - MS Security Essentials users please read.

I would go through any and all software firewall/virus scanners on the computer and disable them to isolate the problem. Likely something (installed on both computers) is not letting Bitcoin connections in or out. Alternately, if MSE isn't working, a virus may have disabled it and also broken network connectivity.



I've done everything they say to do in that thread, no change.

grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030



View Profile
March 26, 2013, 12:27:52 AM
 #5

All of them just idle at Connecting to (hostname)... then after 5 mins it comes up that it couldn't connect on port 8333: Connection failed. So is this my ISP or maybe router doing this?

Note: I've since completely reinstalled windows so as to remove any possible viruses.
if tcp at 8333 isn't blocked, the screen should go empty (connected), and go back to command prompt after a while (with no error messages).

so it's either your router or isp. try eliminating your router by connecting your computer directly to the modem.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Dangolbery
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
March 26, 2013, 08:13:25 AM
 #6

All of them just idle at Connecting to (hostname)... then after 5 mins it comes up that it couldn't connect on port 8333: Connection failed. So is this my ISP or maybe router doing this?

Note: I've since completely reinstalled windows so as to remove any possible viruses.
if tcp at 8333 isn't blocked, the screen should go empty (connected), and go back to command prompt after a while (with no error messages).

so it's either your router or isp. try eliminating your router by connecting your computer directly to the modem.

It's a router modem  Grin

But i DMZ'd my local ip and what you described happened, as in i didn't get an error msg with telnet.

This fixed the problem, must be something wrong with my router.

Thanks for your help!

Liam W
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile WWW
March 26, 2013, 10:58:54 AM
 #7

All of them just idle at Connecting to (hostname)... then after 5 mins it comes up that it couldn't connect on port 8333: Connection failed. So is this my ISP or maybe router doing this?

Note: I've since completely reinstalled windows so as to remove any possible viruses.
if tcp at 8333 isn't blocked, the screen should go empty (connected), and go back to command prompt after a while (with no error messages).

so it's either your router or isp. try eliminating your router by connecting your computer directly to the modem.

It's a router modem  Grin

But i DMZ'd my local ip and what you described happened, as in i didn't get an error msg with telnet.

This fixed the problem, must be something wrong with my router.

Thanks for your help!

It was probably blocking the port going to the bitcoinservers.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!