Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 01:26:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Custom R9 380 BIOS for 23-24Mh/s  (Read 20562 times)
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
September 19, 2016, 03:30:27 PM
 #41

Ok thanks. For some reason the speeds are the same as before.

FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
5 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
1513214769
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214769

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214769
Reply with quote  #2

1513214769
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513214769
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214769

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214769
Reply with quote  #2

1513214769
Report to moderator
1513214769
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214769

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214769
Reply with quote  #2

1513214769
Report to moderator
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 03:40:25 PM
 #42


So it's just an offset to VDDC?  I'd like to keep VDDCI fixed, while still having VDDC change according to the dpm state.

No it's an offset to VDDCI/AUX, they both have seperate offsets in the rom. In 90% of the cases you won't find VDDCI offset, so you can add it Smiley

8D = VDDC , 8E = VDDCI/AUX or MVDDC

So where would you add it?  I only recently found ATOM BIOS reader, and still haven't figured out the dynamic voltage control for Tonga.
I know when Voltage Table2 in PowerPlayInfo has values that start with FF, that indicates dynamic voltage control.  Otherwise it's just the voltage in mV for that DPM state (i.e. 84 03 = 0x384 = 900mV).
For the values that start with FF (i.e. 0xFF08), I think the 08 is an index to another table that contains values for calculating the dynamic voltage.  But I haven't found where that table is in the ROM.
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
September 19, 2016, 03:42:34 PM
 #43

I copied the 1500Strap from the 380 Bios that was posted here and replaced the timings from

F0 49 02 02 77 71 33 20 00 00 00 00 31 5A 7B 3A 90 53 09 12 36 29 AB 04 00 68 04 01 22 AA 1C 00 74 04 14 20 CA 89 00 A9 02 00 02 00 17 12 24 29 3B 2A 37 12

to

F0 49 02 02 77 71 33 20 00 00 00 00 CE CD 59 39 80 55 11 11 2E 15 89 08 00 48 C6 00 22 33 9D 08 6C 00 14 20 6A 89 00 A0 02 00 31 20 14 0F 26 2B 88 25 2F 15


However speed only increased by 0.1MH/s. Maybe its because my core clock is only 950Mhz since its undervolted.

FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
5 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
VirosaGITS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Want to save $? Use Coupon Code VOFF5 at GPUShack


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 03:54:22 PM
 #44

EDIT: Btw, 02 isn't always Hynix.

Agreed.  I've seen another ROM that had just a single set of straps and used type 00 for Hynix.  I imagine it is just an enum in the BIOS code.
The way I figured out that it is Hynix for the Club3D BIOS I modded was by comparing the actual timing values to another BIOS that only supported Hynix.


That's what i've been doing, but there has to be sure fire way to look it up the reference somewhere in the BIOS. The order at which for example Hynix/EPI/Sam are referenced in one of my vBIOS arent in the order their straps appear either. I was told to check in the vram info table but atoms bios reader doesnt seem to have a clue.

Maybe there's a more complete tool out there? (I think i heard there was)

Ethereum Mining Calculator - Simple, elegant, mobile-friendly Ethereum Mining Profitability Calculator
gpuShack mining hardware - Your one stop shop for all GPU mining related hardware! Use Coupon Code VOFF5 to save on any order.
ethOS - #ethosdistro on freenode - linux distro that mines Ethereum out-of-the-box.
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 04:14:14 PM
 #45

You're starting to surprise me..

I think i missjudged you..   Wink

You do have a history of letting your ego cloud your judgment.  :-)
Remember the bitcanuck R9 380 thread in the ethereum forums?  You were convinced that reducing the core clock would reduce eth hashrates, but you were wrong.
I can't find the thread any more, as I think one of the mods deleted it.  I could probably find it with the wayback machine if you've "forgotten" it. :-)
Come to think of it, you're a mod on the ethereum forums, aren't you...
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 04:21:51 PM
 #46

EDIT: Btw, 02 isn't always Hynix.

Agreed.  I've seen another ROM that had just a single set of straps and used type 00 for Hynix.  I imagine it is just an enum in the BIOS code.
The way I figured out that it is Hynix for the Club3D BIOS I modded was by comparing the actual timing values to another BIOS that only supported Hynix.


That's what i've been doing, but there has to be sure fire way to look it up the reference somewhere in the BIOS. The order at which for example Hynix/EPI/Sam are referenced in one of my vBIOS arent in the order their straps appear either. I was told to check in the vram info table but atoms bios reader doesnt seem to have a clue.

Maybe there's a more complete tool out there? (I think i heard there was)

I don't have anything better than atom bios reader.  If it helps, the JDEC mrf ID for Hynix is 0xAD80.
VirosaGITS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Want to save $? Use Coupon Code VOFF5 at GPUShack


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 07:26:24 PM
 #47

EDIT: Btw, 02 isn't always Hynix.

Agreed.  I've seen another ROM that had just a single set of straps and used type 00 for Hynix.  I imagine it is just an enum in the BIOS code.
The way I figured out that it is Hynix for the Club3D BIOS I modded was by comparing the actual timing values to another BIOS that only supported Hynix.


That's what i've been doing, but there has to be sure fire way to look it up the reference somewhere in the BIOS. The order at which for example Hynix/EPI/Sam are referenced in one of my vBIOS arent in the order their straps appear either. I was told to check in the vram info table but atoms bios reader doesnt seem to have a clue.

Maybe there's a more complete tool out there? (I think i heard there was)

I don't have anything better than atom bios reader.  If it helps, the JDEC mrf ID for Hynix is 0xAD80.

I can find AD 80 but seem random, part of other values, with no hint as to which mem block the 00, 01, 02 point to, if even it was actually a reference to Hynix mem. I'll figure it out... eventually. Cheesy

Ethereum Mining Calculator - Simple, elegant, mobile-friendly Ethereum Mining Profitability Calculator
gpuShack mining hardware - Your one stop shop for all GPU mining related hardware! Use Coupon Code VOFF5 to save on any order.
ethOS - #ethosdistro on freenode - linux distro that mines Ethereum out-of-the-box.
DPAY2016
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 09:08:50 PM
 #48

Congratulations. Works great.
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 10:18:36 PM
 #49


So it's just an offset to VDDC?  I'd like to keep VDDCI fixed, while still having VDDC change according to the dpm state.

No it's an offset to VDDCI/AUX, they both have seperate offsets in the rom. In 90% of the cases you won't find VDDCI offset, so you can add it Smiley

8D = VDDC , 8E = VDDCI/AUX or MVDDC

So where would you add it?  I only recently found ATOM BIOS reader, and still haven't figured out the dynamic voltage control for Tonga.
I know when Voltage Table2 in PowerPlayInfo has values that start with FF, that indicates dynamic voltage control.  Otherwise it's just the voltage in mV for that DPM state (i.e. 84 03 = 0x384 = 900mV).
For the values that start with FF (i.e. 0xFF08), I think the 08 is an index to another table that contains values for calculating the dynamic voltage.  But I haven't found where that table is in the ROM.


You add it in VoltageObjectInfo. Note this changes the length - this means go back and fix ALL the offsets in the main table lists, and check your padding at the end to keep the size right.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961

Huh?


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 10:21:22 PM
 #50


So it's just an offset to VDDC?  I'd like to keep VDDCI fixed, while still having VDDC change according to the dpm state.

No it's an offset to VDDCI/AUX, they both have seperate offsets in the rom. In 90% of the cases you won't find VDDCI offset, so you can add it Smiley

8D = VDDC , 8E = VDDCI/AUX or MVDDC

So where would you add it?  I only recently found ATOM BIOS reader, and still haven't figured out the dynamic voltage control for Tonga.
I know when Voltage Table2 in PowerPlayInfo has values that start with FF, that indicates dynamic voltage control.  Otherwise it's just the voltage in mV for that DPM state (i.e. 84 03 = 0x384 = 900mV).
For the values that start with FF (i.e. 0xFF08), I think the 08 is an index to another table that contains values for calculating the dynamic voltage.  But I haven't found where that table is in the ROM.


You add it in VoltageObjectInfo. Note this changes the length - this means go back and fix ALL the offsets in the main table lists, and check your padding at the end to keep the size right.

Not only those things. Also need to change the starting pointer which states how long the table is.
+ you will need to make sure the rom has the exact same size as it has before.
This doesn't mean, scroll way down and remove some FF's. No, you'll need to remove these where the Legacy part of your rom ends.

Wink

Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 10:34:45 PM
 #51


So it's just an offset to VDDC?  I'd like to keep VDDCI fixed, while still having VDDC change according to the dpm state.

No it's an offset to VDDCI/AUX, they both have seperate offsets in the rom. In 90% of the cases you won't find VDDCI offset, so you can add it Smiley

8D = VDDC , 8E = VDDCI/AUX or MVDDC

So where would you add it?  I only recently found ATOM BIOS reader, and still haven't figured out the dynamic voltage control for Tonga.
I know when Voltage Table2 in PowerPlayInfo has values that start with FF, that indicates dynamic voltage control.  Otherwise it's just the voltage in mV for that DPM state (i.e. 84 03 = 0x384 = 900mV).
For the values that start with FF (i.e. 0xFF08), I think the 08 is an index to another table that contains values for calculating the dynamic voltage.  But I haven't found where that table is in the ROM.


You add it in VoltageObjectInfo. Note this changes the length - this means go back and fix ALL the offsets in the main table lists, and check your padding at the end to keep the size right.

Not only those things. Also need to change the starting pointer which states how long the table is.
+ you will need to make sure the rom has the exact same size as it has before.
This doesn't mean, scroll way down and remove some FF's. No, you'll need to remove these where the UEFI part of your rom ends.

Wink

You mean where the UEFI part begins, correct?

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961

Huh?


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 11:12:16 PM
 #52


So it's just an offset to VDDC?  I'd like to keep VDDCI fixed, while still having VDDC change according to the dpm state.

No it's an offset to VDDCI/AUX, they both have seperate offsets in the rom. In 90% of the cases you won't find VDDCI offset, so you can add it Smiley

8D = VDDC , 8E = VDDCI/AUX or MVDDC

So where would you add it?  I only recently found ATOM BIOS reader, and still haven't figured out the dynamic voltage control for Tonga.
I know when Voltage Table2 in PowerPlayInfo has values that start with FF, that indicates dynamic voltage control.  Otherwise it's just the voltage in mV for that DPM state (i.e. 84 03 = 0x384 = 900mV).
For the values that start with FF (i.e. 0xFF08), I think the 08 is an index to another table that contains values for calculating the dynamic voltage.  But I haven't found where that table is in the ROM.


You add it in VoltageObjectInfo. Note this changes the length - this means go back and fix ALL the offsets in the main table lists, and check your padding at the end to keep the size right.

Not only those things. Also need to change the starting pointer which states how long the table is.
+ you will need to make sure the rom has the exact same size as it has before.
This doesn't mean, scroll way down and remove some FF's. No, you'll need to remove these where the UEFI part of your rom ends.

Wink

You mean where the UEFI part begins, correct?

Did i say that.. Nahh! I said Legacy ;-)

Haha, no, indeed it's at the end of the legacy part, or where the uefi part starts :-)

Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 11:12:58 PM
 #53


So it's just an offset to VDDC?  I'd like to keep VDDCI fixed, while still having VDDC change according to the dpm state.

No it's an offset to VDDCI/AUX, they both have seperate offsets in the rom. In 90% of the cases you won't find VDDCI offset, so you can add it Smiley

8D = VDDC , 8E = VDDCI/AUX or MVDDC

So where would you add it?  I only recently found ATOM BIOS reader, and still haven't figured out the dynamic voltage control for Tonga.
I know when Voltage Table2 in PowerPlayInfo has values that start with FF, that indicates dynamic voltage control.  Otherwise it's just the voltage in mV for that DPM state (i.e. 84 03 = 0x384 = 900mV).
For the values that start with FF (i.e. 0xFF08), I think the 08 is an index to another table that contains values for calculating the dynamic voltage.  But I haven't found where that table is in the ROM.


You add it in VoltageObjectInfo. Note this changes the length - this means go back and fix ALL the offsets in the main table lists, and check your padding at the end to keep the size right.

Not only those things. Also need to change the starting pointer which states how long the table is.
+ you will need to make sure the rom has the exact same size as it has before.
This doesn't mean, scroll way down and remove some FF's. No, you'll need to remove these where the UEFI part of your rom ends.

Wink

You mean where the UEFI part begins, correct?

Did i say that.. Nahh! I said Legacy ;-)

Haha, no, indeed it's at the end of the legacy part, or where the uefi part starts :-)

Good, then I knew that. Tongue

Had me wondering for a second.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
doktor83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
September 20, 2016, 05:12:27 AM
 #54

Sorry to interrupt you guys, but can i have a noobish question ?
If i copy the timing nerdralph gave from a 380 nitro ( 77 71 33 20 00 00 00 00 EF 51 6A 37 90 55 0F 12 32 17 9A 05 00 6A E4 00 22 AA 1C 08 74 02 14 20 CA 89 C0 A8 02 00 00 C0 15 10 23 28 59 28 33 15 ) to my Asus Strix 380 4GB 1750mhz strap, will it be better than copying my own timing from 1425mhz ?
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 20, 2016, 12:59:01 PM
 #55


So it's just an offset to VDDC?  I'd like to keep VDDCI fixed, while still having VDDC change according to the dpm state.

No it's an offset to VDDCI/AUX, they both have seperate offsets in the rom. In 90% of the cases you won't find VDDCI offset, so you can add it Smiley

8D = VDDC , 8E = VDDCI/AUX or MVDDC

So where would you add it?  I only recently found ATOM BIOS reader, and still haven't figured out the dynamic voltage control for Tonga.
I know when Voltage Table2 in PowerPlayInfo has values that start with FF, that indicates dynamic voltage control.  Otherwise it's just the voltage in mV for that DPM state (i.e. 84 03 = 0x384 = 900mV).
For the values that start with FF (i.e. 0xFF08), I think the 08 is an index to another table that contains values for calculating the dynamic voltage.  But I haven't found where that table is in the ROM.


You add it in VoltageObjectInfo. Note this changes the length - this means go back and fix ALL the offsets in the main table lists, and check your padding at the end to keep the size right.

Not only those things. Also need to change the starting pointer which states how long the table is.
+ you will need to make sure the rom has the exact same size as it has before.
This doesn't mean, scroll way down and remove some FF's. No, you'll need to remove these where the Legacy part of your rom ends.

Wink

Ugh.  Now I really miss Hawaii with it's really simple VDDCI table.  :-(
If there's an easy way to completely disable VDDCI control, I might try that, and just control the NCP81022 through i2c.  If I can figure out how to read the memory errors from the HWinfo source, then I could could write a small program that cranks up VDDCI until the memory errors drop below a minimal threshold...

nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 20, 2016, 01:05:44 PM
 #56

Sorry to interrupt you guys, but can i have a noobish question ?
If i copy the timing nerdralph gave from a 380 nitro ( 77 71 33 20 00 00 00 00 EF 51 6A 37 90 55 0F 12 32 17 9A 05 00 6A E4 00 22 AA 1C 08 74 02 14 20 CA 89 C0 A8 02 00 00 C0 15 10 23 28 59 28 33 15 ) to my Asus Strix 380 4GB 1750mhz strap, will it be better than copying my own timing from 1425mhz ?

That timing didn't come from a 380 nitro.  Its a 1375Mhz strap from a MSI R9 380 OC BIOS that supported only Elpida.
Getting to your point, your card's 1425Mhz strap will probablymay be slower.
doktor83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
September 20, 2016, 05:04:45 PM
 #57

My bad, you did mention 380 nitro, but that was for eliovp's ROM.
Anyways, i copied the strap you posted in Asus and Msi cards 1750mhz strap, and now i get around 24Mhs on 900/1650Mhz with -100mV and same card temperatures (~65c).
I am still testing cards stability, but it looks promising.
Thank you for this Smiley

Just a quick question : does this huge memory overclock affect my cards life drastically ?
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 05:06:28 AM
 #58


So it's just an offset to VDDC?  I'd like to keep VDDCI fixed, while still having VDDC change according to the dpm state.

No it's an offset to VDDCI/AUX, they both have seperate offsets in the rom. In 90% of the cases you won't find VDDCI offset, so you can add it Smiley

8D = VDDC , 8E = VDDCI/AUX or MVDDC

So where would you add it?  I only recently found ATOM BIOS reader, and still haven't figured out the dynamic voltage control for Tonga.
I know when Voltage Table2 in PowerPlayInfo has values that start with FF, that indicates dynamic voltage control.  Otherwise it's just the voltage in mV for that DPM state (i.e. 84 03 = 0x384 = 900mV).
For the values that start with FF (i.e. 0xFF08), I think the 08 is an index to another table that contains values for calculating the dynamic voltage.  But I haven't found where that table is in the ROM.


You add it in VoltageObjectInfo. Note this changes the length - this means go back and fix ALL the offsets in the main table lists, and check your padding at the end to keep the size right.

Not only those things. Also need to change the starting pointer which states how long the table is.
+ you will need to make sure the rom has the exact same size as it has before.
This doesn't mean, scroll way down and remove some FF's. No, you'll need to remove these where the Legacy part of your rom ends.

Wink

Ugh.  Now I really miss Hawaii with it's really simple VDDCI table.  :-(
If there's an easy way to completely disable VDDCI control, I might try that, and just control the NCP81022 through i2c.  If I can figure out how to read the memory errors from the HWinfo source, then I could could write a small program that cranks up VDDCI until the memory errors drop below a minimal threshold...



Which version of the Hawaii Bios Reader are you using- You probably can disable it in the newest version and check the changes made and carry it over to the Tonga - Obviously it will not be exact but may help locate the area.

I have not done much bios editing lately (not with the new version of Hawaii Bios Reader) although it looks to be much better than the older version I am accustom to using.

Edited to add the following- Looking at the new Hawaii Bios Reader - you could set the Aux Voltage to Zero to disable it.

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
DPAY2016
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 05:37:41 AM
 #59

Modding BIOS gives more spins. Don't use it to much. GPU life will be lower. At least for older 280x-290.
But 380 are much more efficient.
melsell1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 06:04:15 AM
 #60

i have gigabyte r9 380x with Hynix memory. Can anyone point me to the right string(s) to modifi timings more tighter in hynix section?

Here is my bios: https://www.upload.ee/files/6180325/_all.rom.html
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!