Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 10:56:18 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone having luck with Sgminer-gm  (Read 2768 times)
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 02:08:39 AM
 #1

I have played around with the settings on SGminer-gm for a day of two on a test rig but cannot find any settings that don't throw a ton of HW's.  I have adjusted the intensity, clocks, work size etc and have yet to find any combo that works.
I have tried on 380's, 390's, Fury, 480's etc and none seem to work.  Also have tried with current drivers and 15.12.

I would love to hear suggestions

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
1513292178
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513292178

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513292178
Reply with quote  #2

1513292178
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513292178
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513292178

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513292178
Reply with quote  #2

1513292178
Report to moderator
OhGodAGirl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149

Look, I'm really not that interesting. Promise.


View Profile WWW
September 19, 2016, 08:15:57 AM
 #2

I have played around with the settings on SGminer-gm for a day of two on a test rig but cannot find any settings that don't throw a ton of HW's.  I have adjusted the intensity, clocks, work size etc and have yet to find any combo that works.
I have tried on 380's, 390's, Fury, 480's etc and none seem to work.  Also have tried with current drivers and 15.12.

I would love to hear suggestions

Are you getting any shares, mate?

I'll be happy to assist you as best I can.

1P1C58d4CUiEokjoAfWiZVTogZFAeAfawh
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 08:20:25 AM
 #3

I have played around with the settings on SGminer-gm for a day of two on a test rig but cannot find any settings that don't throw a ton of HW's.  I have adjusted the intensity, clocks, work size etc and have yet to find any combo that works.
I have tried on 380's, 390's, Fury, 480's etc and none seem to work.  Also have tried with current drivers and 15.12.

I would love to hear suggestions

Are you getting any shares, mate?

I'll be happy to assist you as best I can.
Hello,
thanks for the reply.  Yes I am getting shares.  I am going to run it again and see how many I am getting.

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961

Huh?


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 08:22:31 AM
 #4

I have played around with the settings on SGminer-gm for a day of two on a test rig but cannot find any settings that don't throw a ton of HW's.  I have adjusted the intensity, clocks, work size etc and have yet to find any combo that works.
I have tried on 380's, 390's, Fury, 480's etc and none seem to work.  Also have tried with current drivers and 15.12.

I would love to hear suggestions

Are you getting any shares, mate?

I'll be happy to assist you as best I can.
Hello,
thanks for the reply.  Yes I am getting shares.  I am going to run it again and see how many I am getting.

Hey Kilo,

Let me help you Wink

Use rawintensity.

For a 390 use 256*16384
For a 380 use 64*16384

You'll see a nice increase and even better than Claymore's Wink

(see, i do help.. even those that "diss" me Wink)

OhGodAGirl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149

Look, I'm really not that interesting. Promise.


View Profile WWW
September 19, 2016, 08:29:29 AM
 #5

I have played around with the settings on SGminer-gm for a day of two on a test rig but cannot find any settings that don't throw a ton of HW's.  I have adjusted the intensity, clocks, work size etc and have yet to find any combo that works.
I have tried on 380's, 390's, Fury, 480's etc and none seem to work.  Also have tried with current drivers and 15.12.

I would love to hear suggestions

Are you getting any shares, mate?

I'll be happy to assist you as best I can.
Hello,
thanks for the reply.  Yes I am getting shares.  I am going to run it again and see how many I am getting.

HW's are actually normal in this situation. Try Eliovp's suggestions for settings, though.

1P1C58d4CUiEokjoAfWiZVTogZFAeAfawh
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 08:45:19 AM
 #6

I have played around with the settings on SGminer-gm for a day of two on a test rig but cannot find any settings that don't throw a ton of HW's.  I have adjusted the intensity, clocks, work size etc and have yet to find any combo that works.
I have tried on 380's, 390's, Fury, 480's etc and none seem to work.  Also have tried with current drivers and 15.12.

I would love to hear suggestions

Are you getting any shares, mate?

I'll be happy to assist you as best I can.
Hello,
thanks for the reply.  Yes I am getting shares.  I am going to run it again and see how many I am getting.

Hey Kilo,

Let me help you Wink

Use rawintensity.

For a 390 use 256*16384
For a 380 use 64*16384

You'll see a nice increase and even better than Claymore's Wink

(see, i do help.. even those that "diss" me Wink)

LOL- I have apologized twice already -- so here we go a third time- I am sorry. 

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
c2n14
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
September 19, 2016, 01:22:09 PM
 #7

Use rawintensity.

For a 390 use 256*16384
For a 380 use 64*16384

You'll see a nice increase and even better than Claymore's Wink


Is this 256*16384 = worksize*rawintensity?
For RX 470 with 256*16384 as worksize*rawintensity I got 12mhs only (22 @ CM).
Any ideas?
abbeytim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 421


View Profile
September 20, 2016, 01:39:27 AM
 #8

need some help when I try to run I get  unexpected command line arguments


setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100


sgminer_win64 -o http:// us1.ethermine.org:4444 -u 0x54bcacb910c307f41a8d5aacd31c98b213e76c08 -p password
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764


Miner Developer


View Profile
September 20, 2016, 02:26:05 AM
 #9

need some help when I try to run I get  unexpected command line arguments


setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100


sgminer_win64 -o http:// us1.ethermine.org:4444 -u 0x54bcacb910c307f41a8d5aacd31c98b213e76c08 -p password

--algorithm ethash

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 04:53:06 AM
 #10

I am sure this is a great miner but without an info on drivers etc it is a pain in the butt.  I have yet to find any reliable driver or settings to use. 

It appears I am not the only one as there is scarce info on it being used on any forum.  It is like giving someone a Ferrari and Free Gas (compared to Claymore) and no engine.




Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 21, 2016, 09:00:29 AM
 #11

Getting close to nailing this miner-  hitting 25-27 on a 390x which I typically get 30-31 on with ethminer or claymore's.   Another day and I will have it nailed down

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
Za1n
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
September 23, 2016, 11:24:22 PM
 #12

I have played around with the settings on SGminer-gm for a day of two on a test rig but cannot find any settings that don't throw a ton of HW's.  I have adjusted the intensity, clocks, work size etc and have yet to find any combo that works.
I have tried on 380's, 390's, Fury, 480's etc and none seem to work.  Also have tried with current drivers and 15.12.

I would love to hear suggestions

I think HW errors are not uncommon for this software. I get on average 1 HW error per minute on a 4 GPU rig. The main thing to compare is your hash-rates, or more precisely you submitted shares. As long as shares are being submitted and accepted by the pool you are fine.

For me, I only got the locally displayed hashrate on SGminer to be about the same as I did on Claymore, but on the pool I am showing about 4 MH/s higher since switching over. Some of this is obviously because the Dev fee is not redirecting some of your hash, but also I think it is due to more shares being generated.

So even with the HW errors being displayed, on average all my rigs I have migrated over so far seem to have improved about 4-5 MH/s per rig on the pool side of the readings. I think I will stay at half Claymore half SGminer for a few days as sort of an experimental group/control group until I have more data to be sure, but so far it looks like SGminer can at least perform on par with the Claymore miner.
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile
September 24, 2016, 01:50:38 AM
 #13

I am sure this is a great miner but without an info on drivers etc it is a pain in the butt.  I have yet to find any reliable driver or settings to use.  

It appears I am not the only one as there is scarce info on it being used on any forum.  It is like giving someone a Ferrari and Free Gas (compared to Claymore) and no engine.





If this helps any i got mine up to 18 MH stable about what it should do : heres my sgminer.conf after a few days of playing with it, with Claymore i could only get it to do 17 MH tops with driver radeon-crimson-15.12-win10-64bit.  installing driver non-whql-win10-64bit-radeon-software-crimson-16.9.2-sep21 see what that does.


   }],
    "profiles": [{
        "gpu-powertune": "0",
        "worksize": "256",
        "name": "eth",
        "algorithm": "ethash",
        "gpu-threads": "1",
         "rawintensity": "1916928"
    }],
    "no-extranonce": "true",
    "default-profile": "eth",
    "api-allow": "W:10.0.0.0/8",
    "gpu-engine" : "1150",
    "gpu-memclock" : "1500",
    "temp-target": "72",
    "gpu-fan": "45-85",
    "api-port": 4028,
    "temp-cutoff": "82",
    "api-listen": true,
    "auto-fan": true,
    "temp-overheat": "80"
}



I also followed this some

http://www.overclock.net/t/1461916/tutorial-ultimate-guide-to-tweaking-amd-cgminer-3-7-2-kalroth-edition-sgminer-instructions-included-aswell-get-the-most-hash-out-of-your-gpu


GPU 0:  45.0C  45%    | 18.09M/17.96Mh/s | R:  0.0% HW:1 WU:16.370/m rI:1916928
Za1n
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
September 24, 2016, 04:52:06 AM
 #14

I am sure this is a great miner but without an info on drivers etc it is a pain in the butt.  I have yet to find any reliable driver or settings to use.  

It appears I am not the only one as there is scarce info on it being used on any forum.  It is like giving someone a Ferrari and Free Gas (compared to Claymore) and no engine.





If this helps any i got mine up to 19 MH stable about what it should do : heres my sgminer.conf after a few days of playing with it, with Claymore i could only get it to do 17 MH tops and driver radeon-crimson-15.12-win10-64bit.


   }],
    "profiles": [{
        "gpu-powertune": "0",
        "worksize": "256",
        "name": "eth",
        "algorithm": "ethash",
        "gpu-threads": "1",
         "rawintensity": "1916928"
    }],
    "no-extranonce": "true",
    "default-profile": "eth",
    "api-allow": "W:10.0.0.0/8",
    "gpu-engine" : "1150",
    "gpu-memclock" : "1500",
    "temp-target": "72",
    "gpu-fan": "45-85",
    "api-port": 4028,
    "temp-cutoff": "82",
    "api-listen": true,
    "auto-fan": true,
    "temp-overheat": "80"
}



I also followed this some

http://www.overclock.net/t/1461916/tutorial-ultimate-guide-to-tweaking-amd-cgminer-3-7-2-kalroth-edition-sgminer-instructions-included-aswell-get-the-most-hash-out-of-your-gpu

Just curious if you tried the suggestion from Eliovp earlier on using "256*16384" to get the raw intensity setting. In this case it would be a value of: 4194304

I ask as on a couple of my rigs I was using a rawintenstiy similar to the one you have above and by bumping it up to 4194304 I gained another .5 Mhash/sec per card. It would be interesting to hear of others experiences on this as not all of my rigs respond the same.
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile
September 24, 2016, 04:55:11 AM
 #15

no but I'll try it

kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 24, 2016, 04:56:04 AM
 #16

no but I'll try it



Check out the other thread with an update from Wolf.. you won't have luck with the Github release unless you are using a good CPU

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile
September 24, 2016, 05:08:14 AM
 #17

This GPU won't go much higher i have just about maxed it .

I'm still working on buying a few 470 or 480 but for now i have to use a PowerColor Radeon R9 280 TurboDuo OC Sad with a Intel Xeon e3 1230 V2 my Motherboard is junk, i burnt out a nice ASUS board i had and needed a cheap board so the CPU didn't set. but that make sense why one other PC won't go over 10MH with  a even older CPU and GPU in it that card should hit 13 MH and won't break 10 MH no mater what i do .

@ Za1n I just tried that and it did give about that much more

GPU 0:  46.0C  45%    | 18.11M/18.04Mh/s | R:  0.0% HW:9 WU:16.182/m rI:4194304  
 
it was

GPU 0:  45.0C  45%    | 18.09M/17.96Mh/s | R:  0.0% HW:1 WU:16.370/m rI:1916928
kilo17
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910

aka "whocares"


View Profile
September 24, 2016, 05:31:16 AM
 #18

In response to the RawInt vs Int vs xInt - it really doesn't matter much which one you use as long as you know what they are -

Intensity is the work done by the GPU - or number of threads and it doubles with each increase - like 64, 128, 256 etc from 1-31

Raw Intensity is just the following:
2^I
or
shaders * xI

xI is answered above, it is rawI/shaders


So ultimately it comes down to knowing how many shaders each GPU has and then just tweaking the intensity you use-- I prefer xI cause it makes the most sense and it is for fine tuning but the range to use is from 1-9999 so it is more difficult to tune.

Intensity is from 1-31 and easier to tune.  I use Intensity to find a range and then convert to xI to fine tune it.

A good starting point is an Intensity of about 18-21 but sometimes that is to high and you need something in the 13 range.  Then convert it to xI

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!