Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2016, 12:17:22 PM *
News: Due to DDoS attacks, there may be periodic downtime.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: This server is overloaded?  (Read 3471 times)
bitcoinex
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


probiwon.com


View Profile WWW
November 01, 2010, 01:38:04 PM
 #1

Approximately every 3-5 request falls off due to a timeout. Especially in the evening and when writing messages.

Especially insulting when you write a post - you press send and nothing happens. You may lose the message text

New bitcoin lottery: probiwon.com
- Может, ты ещё и в Невидимую Руку Рынка веруешь? - Зачем же веровать в то, что можно наблюдать непосредственно?
1474805842
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474805842

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474805842
Reply with quote  #2

1474805842
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
sirius
Bitcoiner
Staff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 429



View Profile
November 01, 2010, 02:21:19 PM
 #2

Server rebooted. Any better now?

Identifi - Decentralized address book with trust ratings
I'm not a forum admin - please contact theymos instead.
bitcoinex
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


probiwon.com


View Profile WWW
November 01, 2010, 02:31:16 PM
 #3

Not sure. This post I wrote from first time. But the problem was long enough.

New bitcoin lottery: probiwon.com
- Может, ты ещё и в Невидимую Руку Рынка веруешь? - Зачем же веровать в то, что можно наблюдать непосредственно?
ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
November 05, 2010, 08:39:16 PM
 #4

Especially insulting when you write a post - you press send and nothing happens. You may lose the message text

BTW.
You can use this firefox extension to recover any form (and any post) You lost due to connection failure.
It's pretty cool.

Going back to the topic: yeah the bitcoin.org servers seem overloaded by traffic.
Satoshi should invest in better servers soon or there could be a problem.

With the amounts of bitcoins he has, that shouldn't be an issue.

ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
November 05, 2010, 09:05:13 PM
 #5

Going back to the topic: yeah the bitcoin.org servers seem overloaded by traffic.
Satoshi should invest in better servers soon or there could be a problem.

With the amounts of bitcoins he has, that shouldn't be an issue.

Sorry Shadow, but this seems a bit naive. How do you know it's not a killer server generating coins at the same time? As an open source project, the community should contribute to a server if it is needed. In all reality, this is probably simply hosted on shared hosting for a minuscule dollar amount.

If bitcoin.org needs faster / better server for hosting, let me know and I'll gladly toss it up.

Hey, that's even better.

But i just thought that only satoshi runs this server, so nobody else has access to do such thing.

ribuck
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


View Profile
November 05, 2010, 09:37:41 PM
 #6

Do you mean the server which hosts this forum? This is the fastest forum I visit, by far.

If there's a speed problem, I think it must be somewhere between the server and the users who are getting slow performance.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422


View Profile
November 06, 2010, 12:19:12 AM
 #7

In all reality, this is probably simply hosted on shared hosting for a minuscule dollar amount.

Bitcoin.org accepts Bitcoin connections, so it must be at least a VPS.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
bitcoinex
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


probiwon.com


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2010, 07:13:46 AM
 #8

The problem is not with the passage of traffic into remote corners of the planet. The only problem when you write or somehow change the information on site.

I think that the number of Apache preforks is little or (if there is a separate php fasttcgi) php workers are few or leaked and ate memory or something like that. Or just DB is overloaded?

I understand correctly that you are using bare Apache? There is not reason to use Apache unless you use its functions as an application server (LDAP auth, for example).

Try to put nginx or lighttpd and  php as a fastcgi. In any way this will save 90% of resources.
I am ready to assist with this.

Theese configs from btcex.com (Debian Linux):

Code:
$ cat /etc/nginx/sites-enabled/btcex.com
log_format  withservname   '$host:$server_port $remote_addr $remote_user [$time_local] '
                           '"$request" $status $body_bytes_sent '
                           '"$http_referer" "$http_user_agent"';

access_log  /var/log/nginx/access.log  withservname;

server_tokens  off;

server {
    server_name  www.btcex.com;
    listen  80;
    rewrite  ^(.*)$ http://btcex.com$1 permanent;
}

server {
    server_name  btcex.com;
    listen  80;
    rewrite  ^(.*)$ https://btcex.com$1 permanent;
}

server {
server_name  btcex.com;

#listen  80;
listen  443 default ssl;

keepalive_timeout    70;

ssl                  on;
ssl_certificate      /etc/ssl/certs/startssl_btcex.com.pem;
ssl_certificate_key  /etc/ssl/private/btcex.com.key;
ssl_session_cache    shared:SSL:10m;
ssl_session_timeout  10m;

location / {
    try_files  $uri  $uri/ @yii;
    root   /var/www/btcex.com/htdocs;
    index  index.html index.htm index.php;

    location  ~ /\.ht {
deny  all;
    }

    location  /var/www/btcex.com/htdocs/protected/ {
deny  all;
    }

# pass the PHP scripts to FastCGI server
# (not used on btcex.com really)
location ~ \.php$ {
    fastcgi_index  index.php;
    #fastcgi_pass localhost:999;
    fastcgi_pass  unix:/var/run/php-fcgi.sock;
    fastcgi_param  SCRIPT_FILENAME  $document_root$fastcgi_script_name;
    include fastcgi_params;
}

    location  ~* \.(gif|jp(|e)g|png|mp(|e)g|avi|flv|swf)$ {
expires  1d;
    }
}

# yii is our web framework:
location @yii {
    root  /var/www/btcex.com/htdocs;

    include fastcgi_params; # в начале, чтобы не влияло на следующие опции
    fastcgi_pass  unix:/var/run/php-fcgi.sock;
    fastcgi_param  SCRIPT_NAME      /index.php;
    # не очень хорошо что index.php лежит в директории сайта но пусть пока так будет:
    fastcgi_param  SCRIPT_FILENAME  $document_root/index.php;
    fastcgi_param  QUERY_STRING     $args;
}

}

and fastcgi php daemon ("runit" script, debian not contain ready script for fastcgi php in its repository http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=426780 ):

Code:
$ cat /etc/service/php-fcgi/run
#!/bin/sh
# Use this as a ./run script with daemontools or runit
# You should replace xxx with the user you want php to run as (and www-data with the user lighty runs as)

exec 2>&1
PHP_FCGI_CHILDREN=8 \
PHP_FCGI_MAX_REQUESTS=1500 \
exec /usr/bin/spawn-fcgi -n -s /var/run/php-fcgi.sock -n -u www-data -- /usr/bin/php-cgi

New bitcoin lottery: probiwon.com
- Может, ты ещё и в Невидимую Руку Рынка веруешь? - Зачем же веровать в то, что можно наблюдать непосредственно?
bitcoinex
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


probiwon.com


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2010, 07:36:53 AM
 #9

However, first I change browser for 1-2 days.

I have a lot of plugins in it. Once was so that the plugin prevented switching to Tor, and this time some such reason may be.

New bitcoin lottery: probiwon.com
- Может, ты ещё и в Невидимую Руку Рынка веруешь? - Зачем же веровать в то, что можно наблюдать непосредственно?
bitcoinex
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


probiwon.com


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2010, 06:46:25 PM
 #10

However, first I change browser for 1-2 days.

I have a lot of plugins in it. Once was so that the plugin prevented switching to Tor, and this time some such reason may be.

problem is still  persists. Anyone else seen it?

upd:
Now do not opens topics that changes were just made. Can be a problem in the database?

Do not leave me!

New bitcoin lottery: probiwon.com
- Может, ты ещё и в Невидимую Руку Рынка веруешь? - Зачем же веровать в то, что можно наблюдать непосредственно?
ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
November 16, 2010, 09:08:28 PM
 #11

However, first I change browser for 1-2 days.

I have a lot of plugins in it. Once was so that the plugin prevented switching to Tor, and this time some such reason may be.

problem is still  persists. Anyone else seen it?

upd:
Now do not opens topics that changes were just made. Can be a problem in the database?

Do not leave me!

No i haven't seen it. The servers are blazingly fast for me.
Perhaps your proxy/tunnel/vpn/tor/whatever is malfunctioning.

If you're getting bad transfers from russia, perhaps You should try tunneling to some fast-internet country as USA, france or germany. There are some VPN's & SSH accounts for tunneling for sale there.

Also, check Your DNSes - the problems may be caused by slow domain resolving.

bitcoinex
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


probiwon.com


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2010, 10:21:42 PM
 #12

However, first I change browser for 1-2 days.

I have a lot of plugins in it. Once was so that the plugin prevented switching to Tor, and this time some such reason may be.

problem is still  persists. Anyone else seen it?

upd:
Now do not opens topics that changes were just made. Can be a problem in the database?

Do not leave me!

No i haven't seen it. The servers are blazingly fast for me.
Perhaps your proxy/tunnel/vpn/tor/whatever is malfunctioning.

If you're getting bad transfers from russia, perhaps You should try tunneling to some fast-internet country as USA, france or germany. There are some VPN's & SSH accounts for tunneling for sale there.

Also, check Your DNSes - the problems may be caused by slow domain resolving.


I think, this is problem in my ISP, who apparently has established a poor configured transparent proxy.

after moving to https problem has completely disappeared

New bitcoin lottery: probiwon.com
- Может, ты ещё и в Невидимую Руку Рынка веруешь? - Зачем же веровать в то, что можно наблюдать непосредственно?
ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
November 19, 2010, 08:29:47 AM
 #13

I think, this is problem in my ISP, who apparently has established a poor configured transparent proxy.

after moving to https problem has completely disappeared

Yeah, i would also check if Your ISP is not spying on You / sniffing Your traffic.
In Soviet Russia, everything is possible Tongue

bitcoinex
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


probiwon.com


View Profile WWW
November 19, 2010, 01:22:40 PM
 #14

I think, this is problem in my ISP, who apparently has established a poor configured transparent proxy.

after moving to https problem has completely disappeared

Yeah, i would also check if Your ISP is not spying on You / sniffing Your traffic.
In Soviet Russia, everything is possible Tongue

I'm sure what ISP does it - the law obliges to do it.

New bitcoin lottery: probiwon.com
- Может, ты ещё и в Невидимую Руку Рынка веруешь? - Зачем же веровать в то, что можно наблюдать непосредственно?
ShadowOfHarbringer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


Bringing Legendary Har® to you since 1952


View Profile
November 19, 2010, 01:37:59 PM
 #15

I think, this is problem in my ISP, who apparently has established a poor configured transparent proxy.

after moving to https problem has completely disappeared

Yeah, i would also check if Your ISP is not spying on You / sniffing Your traffic.
In Soviet Russia, everything is possible Tongue

I'm sure what ISP does it - the law obliges to do it.

So we have the explanation.

Just use some good (and paid) VPN service for all Your traffic. Your problems should disappear.

bitcoinex
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


probiwon.com


View Profile WWW
November 19, 2010, 10:04:28 PM
 #16

I think, this is problem in my ISP, who apparently has established a poor configured transparent proxy.

after moving to https problem has completely disappeared

Yeah, i would also check if Your ISP is not spying on You / sniffing Your traffic.
In Soviet Russia, everything is possible Tongue

I'm sure what ISP does it - the law obliges to do it.

So we have the explanation.

Just use some good (and paid) VPN service for all Your traffic. Your problems should disappear.

The problem occurs only with this site! I think the KGB is watching us. Smiley

New bitcoin lottery: probiwon.com
- Может, ты ещё и в Невидимую Руку Рынка веруешь? - Зачем же веровать в то, что можно наблюдать непосредственно?
wumpus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
November 20, 2010, 12:23:11 PM
 #17

it's way overdue anyway for the entire web to switch to https

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
ribuck
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


View Profile
November 20, 2010, 12:31:23 PM
 #18

By the way, who pays for bitcoin.org and for the forum server?

How about a "donate" button? Every time I see those checksums at the bottom of the bitcoin.org home page I have to resist the urge to send some bitcoins to them.
The Madhatter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


My avatar pic says it all


View Profile
November 20, 2010, 12:45:40 PM
 #19

it's way overdue anyway for the entire web to switch to https

That will never happen.

I used to think that too; until I flipped some of my extremely high traffic sites to https and my bandwidth consumption jumped. Turns out ISPs that used to be able to cache my images are unable to now. Tongue

https is great, but it sucks on sites with lots and lots of images. Sad
wumpus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
November 20, 2010, 12:58:53 PM
 #20

it's way overdue anyway for the entire web to switch to https

That will never happen.

I used to think that too; until I flipped some of my extremely high traffic sites to https and my bandwidth consumption jumped. Turns out ISPs that used to be able to cache my images are unable to now. Tongue

https is great, but it sucks on sites with lots and lots of images. Sad
I agree that plain http is better for static non-restricted stuff such as images, css, js, which is perfectly cachable. The main problem is that you can't use http images in https sites without creating browser warnings (the reason for this being insertion/xss attacks). A compromised cached proxy server could insert arbitrary images/css/js (and thus, scripts) into your site. (This could be solved if http supported content signing and checking on import, but that'd require browser and protocol changes)

Eventually security will trump bandwidth and CPU concerns, as people will trust more of their life to internet, and it becomes easier and easier for laymen to sniff plaintext connections and hijack connections (firesheep et al).
You can see it now with gmail, hotmail switching to https. That's only the beginning, many more are on the verge of switching.



Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!