Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:48:54 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining Questions  (Read 1188 times)
theGECK
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 410



View Profile
June 13, 2011, 06:02:56 PM
 #1

Posting this for the_joey_o, who has lost his ability to post, and has already contacted DiabloD3 about it, but still wants to ask.

Quote
First: I've heard that with Windows 7, you have to have a separate monitor for every GPU. Is this correct? Is there any way around this (besides going to Linux)?

Second: I've built and repaired computers before, but I've never worked with slot extenders/adapters or any specialized cooling systems. I've got two PCI-E X16, two PCI and two PCI X1 slots on my mobo. If I wanted 4 or more 5770s to mine bitcoins, what sort of adapter is best for this?  Edit: I mentioned to the_joey_o that there was some work on here before of people using PCIE x1 slots to connect a GPU to it. Is that something that is actually viable?

Third, I understand I'm going to be doing a fair amount of jerry-rigging here, so what cooling systems should I be looking at?

Use my referral codes for Bitcoin faucets and I'll send you 25% of my referral bonus - Win/Win! PM for details on all sites available or use one of the links here.

FreeBitco.in | FreeDoge.co.in
1480949334
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949334

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949334
Reply with quote  #2

1480949334
Report to moderator
1480949334
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949334

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949334
Reply with quote  #2

1480949334
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 06:54:57 PM
 #2

First: Google dummy plugs. If there is no monitor detected the miner can't use the GPU. You CAN connect a monitor temporarily, fire things up and then take it off etc. It becomes a PITA factor really fast and makes things difficult if you want to run things headless. Dummy plug is the answer basically gives the GPU a monitor load, fools it into detecting the monitor. 

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
the_joey_o
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
June 13, 2011, 09:06:45 PM
 #3

First: Google dummy plugs. If there is no monitor detected the miner can't use the GPU. You CAN connect a monitor temporarily, fire things up and then take it off etc. It becomes a PITA factor really fast and makes things difficult if you want to run things headless. Dummy plug is the answer basically gives the GPU a monitor load, fools it into detecting the monitor. 

Thanks Geck & FreeJAC! Any help on the other two questions will be greatly appreciated!
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 12:38:48 AM
 #4

Second: You can get the connectors here https://cablesaurus.com/ and you are going to need a massive power supply. I have not used them personally but many others here have. I can't really speak to the cooling other than using something like GPU-Z to keep an eye on the temps. With a 4 card miner I would probably not use a case and just put everything together on the bench with some fans. Have a look at the youtube videos for some ideas.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
the_joey_o
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 03:19:49 AM
 #5

Second: You can get the connectors here https://cablesaurus.com/ and you are going to need a massive power supply. I have not used them personally but many others here have. I can't really speak to the cooling other than using something like GPU-Z to keep an eye on the temps. With a 4 card miner I would probably not use a case and just put everything together on the bench with some fans. Have a look at the youtube videos for some ideas.

Thanks again FreeJAC! I'm going to gamble on the ability to cool these cards. I think, if the two that will fit in the case get too hot to be in the case, I'll just get a cable extender and pull them out of the case. Hopefully that'll do the trick. I'll just have to keep up on my dusting. :/
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!