Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 05:04:00 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Hash Rate Low on GTX660?  (Read 32758 times)
ferretbeast1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
April 02, 2013, 03:20:38 AM
 #1

I have a fairly good graphics card, but for some reason the hash rate I've gotten in the miner I use (50Miner) seems extremely low considering that the last generation of this card (GTX560) has something like a 100 MH/s hash rate. What I've been getting is around 20 MH/s. Am I doing something wrong? I think one cent gained over three hours is a bit below average. =.=

In case you missed it, I'm using a 2GB Nvidia GTX660 card.
1511456640
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511456640

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511456640
Reply with quote  #2

1511456640
Report to moderator
1511456640
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511456640

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511456640
Reply with quote  #2

1511456640
Report to moderator
Remember that Bitcoin is still beta software. Don't put all of your money into BTC!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511456640
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511456640

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511456640
Reply with quote  #2

1511456640
Report to moderator
1511456640
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511456640

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511456640
Reply with quote  #2

1511456640
Report to moderator
Neuroticgrim
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
April 02, 2013, 04:23:18 AM
 #2

You could try a cuda miner and a few flags, but in all honesty all Nvidia cards are low. I have a 580 and its only pulling 145.

Side note, there is a reason the versions of cards lower that the X7X model are not usually listed in hardware comparison. For most of them the power/heat to hashrate is not worth the attempt.
ferretbeast1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
April 02, 2013, 12:01:18 PM
 #3

See, that's the problem. From what I understand, your GTX580 is about on par with my GTX660. Annnd you're getting a hashrate 8 times faster than mine. I must be doing something wrong.
meltingrobot
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile WWW
April 02, 2013, 12:40:57 PM
 #4

What would i get on a sweet 9800 GT that I found in my junk drawer?

BTC: 1CTsBk6hfMMUQNweY5ytyesuPnTu8tBF3d
LTC: LQR3WUYVT4y5XxdmJJ5ttjwi6WwST1dkzN
c0ikws
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


View Profile
April 02, 2013, 01:08:45 PM
 #5

What would i get on a sweet 9800 GT that I found in my junk drawer?
Around 8 Mhash lol
meltingrobot
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile WWW
April 02, 2013, 01:45:52 PM
 #6

I'm having trouble figuring out how to get it going under Fedora 18.  I can compile cgminer to get cpu stuff going, but I can't really find a good guide to get Nvidia stuff going.

BTC: 1CTsBk6hfMMUQNweY5ytyesuPnTu8tBF3d
LTC: LQR3WUYVT4y5XxdmJJ5ttjwi6WwST1dkzN
meltingrobot
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile WWW
April 02, 2013, 02:50:49 PM
 #7

I finally got it going.  I'm getting a whopping 4.32Mhps now.  And.... my desktop is moving horribly slooooowwwww!  Smiley

Edit: 6.090M/6.041Mh/s

BTC: 1CTsBk6hfMMUQNweY5ytyesuPnTu8tBF3d
LTC: LQR3WUYVT4y5XxdmJJ5ttjwi6WwST1dkzN
Neuroticgrim
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
April 03, 2013, 04:21:00 AM
 #8

Hey Ferret, Switch over to GUIminer using Open CL with no flags used and advise what rate you are getting on the 660.
meltingrobot
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile WWW
April 03, 2013, 12:52:10 PM
 #9

Getting 19.24M/19.10Mh/s on my NVIDIA GT620 with cgminer.

BTC: 1CTsBk6hfMMUQNweY5ytyesuPnTu8tBF3d
LTC: LQR3WUYVT4y5XxdmJJ5ttjwi6WwST1dkzN
Cryptoc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 03, 2013, 01:46:57 PM
 #10

130 MH/s on a Gtx 680.
AMD cards are a lot more suited for mining.  Grin
DK7
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
April 03, 2013, 01:51:35 PM
 #11

130 MH/s on a Gtx 680.
AMD cards are a lot more suited for mining.  Grin
What about a gigabyte GTX 660 Ti OC? Smiley
Catanonia
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


View Profile
April 03, 2013, 01:53:19 PM
 #12

598m/hash on my AMD 7950 for £240

My gaming rig. Just bought another for mining Smiley  Long term project and also have it for gaming Smiley
c0ikws
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


View Profile
April 03, 2013, 04:56:38 PM
 #13

598m/hash on my AMD 7950 for £240

My gaming rig. Just bought another for mining Smiley  Long term project and also have it for gaming Smiley

Cool, nice M/hash !

Personally I get around 550 Mhash from my 7950 from Gigabyte overclocked at 1120 Mhz.

Got it for 289$CA when it was on sale like 2 month ago so it has probably paid for itself now if you account the energy used have been reused to heat my loft ;0)

AND GAMING WITH 7950 IS AWESOME
Pesoen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
January 24, 2014, 11:49:10 AM
 #14

there must be something wrong with my card, or something else. i have a gtx 660 sli setup and im only getting around 10-12 KH/s at best using cudaminer. could you post you config? also how much could you get your 590 up to?(might make Another miner with a 590 i have laying around)

Kind Regards Pesoen
aztecminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
January 24, 2014, 03:48:57 PM
 #15

there must be something wrong with my card, or something else. i have a gtx 660 sli setup and im only getting around 10-12 KH/s at best using cudaminer. could you post you config? also how much could you get your 590 up to?(might make Another miner with a 590 i have laying around)

Kind Regards Pesoen



for one thing i think nvidia cards are not good for mining, and second i think mining in sli or crossfire mode is not good either . just my thoughts .

Blackstone1031
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 03, 2014, 12:33:49 AM
 #16

Not to raise the dead here, but I just got into the mining game and I'm practicing on Ducknote. I have a Core i7 860, 2gb GTX 660, eight gb DDR 3 and I'm using tsiv's CCMiner fork. I'm not even getting khash/s. Can someone take pity on a novice and help?
Nagato4
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626



View Profile
September 03, 2014, 02:52:26 AM
 #17

Not to raise the dead here, but I just got into the mining game and I'm practicing on Ducknote. I have a Core i7 860, 2gb GTX 660, eight gb DDR 3 and I'm using tsiv's CCMiner fork. I'm not even getting khash/s. Can someone take pity on a novice and help?

I don't know much on the issue, but just found the post https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.msg7539544#msg7539544.
The person get 120 hashes per sec with his GTX 660.

What hashrate do you get exactly?

Blackstone1031
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 03, 2014, 03:33:19 AM
 #18

Not to raise the dead here, but I just got into the mining game and I'm practicing on Ducknote. I have a Core i7 860, 2gb GTX 660, eight gb DDR 3 and I'm using tsiv's CCMiner fork. I'm not even getting khash/s. Can someone take pity on a novice and help?

I don't know much on the issue, but just found the post https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.msg7539544#msg7539544.
The person get 120 hashes per sec with his GTX 660.

What hashrate do you get exactly?

It jumps between 190 h/s and about 60-70 h/s. While I was (briefly) minding Ducknote earlier, it averaged out to 80 h/s. I don't know if it's my equipment setup or the specific kind of algorithm I was mining, but according to other sources I've been perusing for the last week (none of which I have to hand, unfortunately), I should be getting in the 120-125 kh/s range with this GPU.

I know NVidia isn't ideal for GPU mining, but for the moment it's all I've got.
deemac
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
November 16, 2014, 10:14:08 PM
 #19

hi guys,



im reading up on all these forums and watching videos on how to set up mining rigs. a lot of people have been talking about setting up systems with multiple high end radeon cards such as the 290x etc...

but when they talk about the hash rate being achieved, its like 300-400 kilo hash /s (for each card). 

yet i did a test run on my laptop where my nvidia gtx660m card is achieving 40 mega hash/s on average.

why is my laptp achieving mh/s when these dedicated rigs are only achieving kh/s?


am i missing something? because im really confused here
AleCrypt0
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


BitcoinUltra - [BTCU]


View Profile
November 16, 2014, 10:15:42 PM
 #20

hi guys,



im reading up on all these forums and watching videos on how to set up mining rigs. a lot of people have been talking about setting up systems with multiple high end radeon cards such as the 290x etc...

but when they talk about the hash rate being achieved, its like 300-400 kilo hash /s (for each card). 

yet i did a test run on my laptop where my nvidia gtx660m card is achieving 40 mega hash/s on average.

why is my laptp achieving mh/s when these dedicated rigs are only achieving kh/s?


am i missing something? because im really confused here

Maybe try to check Mining section of this forum.

It could clear your doubts and questions very probably.

Cheers.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!