Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 09:11:32 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: First Rig mining slow (4x7950s) (130Mh/s per)  (Read 8916 times)
LivesUnderTheBridge
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 05, 2013, 05:11:25 PM
 #21

I had the same problem yesterday trying to setup 2x 7950's - exact same issue as Vuxil. One was mining half the hash rate, the other was running locked at 300 / 150 on Xubuntu 12.04.

I gave up and switched to Windows, and now I'm doing 530 KH/s per card with CGminer - and can push almost 600 KH/s, but it puts out too much heat for my fans to keep up with. I wish I could get it working on Xubuntu, but it's just not happening. Sigh.

If you guys have any luck, I'll be watching this thread.

Got any hints as to what you had tried, so we're not double working what you've already done?

What version of Catalyst were you running?
Kernel version?
Tried locking the kernel on install so it doesn't upgrade?

Also, have you tried an external fan? I got one for $15 at walmart and mine went from overheat till it shut down (100C) idle to 70C at full load.

I like bitcoin : 1AsVZ8ofY6BQjxje3hZZbXhNjFSV22TkUN
and litecoin : LYogfVW253cuHmjE5Qm6ryXQfTZFdHNjUX
1510996292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996292
Reply with quote  #2

1510996292
Report to moderator
1510996292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996292
Reply with quote  #2

1510996292
Report to moderator
1510996292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996292
Reply with quote  #2

1510996292
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510996292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996292
Reply with quote  #2

1510996292
Report to moderator
1510996292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996292
Reply with quote  #2

1510996292
Report to moderator
FatMagic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile
April 05, 2013, 05:39:05 PM
 #22

I had the same problem yesterday trying to setup 2x 7950's - exact same issue as Vuxil. One was mining half the hash rate, the other was running locked at 300 / 150 on Xubuntu 12.04.

I gave up and switched to Windows, and now I'm doing 530 KH/s per card with CGminer - and can push almost 600 KH/s, but it puts out too much heat for my fans to keep up with. I wish I could get it working on Xubuntu, but it's just not happening. Sigh.

If you guys have any luck, I'll be watching this thread.

Got any hints as to what you had tried, so we're not double working what you've already done?

What version of Catalyst were you running?
Kernel version?
Tried locking the kernel on install so it doesn't upgrade?

Also, have you tried an external fan? I got one for $15 at walmart and mine went from overheat till it shut down (100C) idle to 70C at full load.

You guys have done more than I did with it. I got frustrated much faster, and swapped to Windows. I didn't do any custom installs of specific drivers, just the latest. So I'm afraid I have nothing new to add Sad

I was going to pickup a small fan. I think I need to do that now so I can run it harder. How big of a fan did you get? Small 12"? Or a big box fan blowing over the cards?

LivesUnderTheBridge
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 05, 2013, 05:47:49 PM
 #23

Just a 12" I think. Less than knee height off the floor, just make sure it blows good.

I like bitcoin : 1AsVZ8ofY6BQjxje3hZZbXhNjFSV22TkUN
and litecoin : LYogfVW253cuHmjE5Qm6ryXQfTZFdHNjUX
wazoo42
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
April 05, 2013, 06:48:16 PM
 #24

Sorry if this also fits into the category of "things checked long ago," but could you post your xorg.conf?
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
April 05, 2013, 08:14:58 PM
 #25

./cgminer -k diablo -v 1 -w 256 -I 7 (Diablo Kernel, worksize 256, Vectors 1, Intensity 7)
This might sound stupid, but try adding a variable for all 4 of your GPUs. For example:

./cgminer -k diablo,diablo,diablo,diablo -v 1,1,1,1 -w 256,256,256,256 -I 7,7,7,7 --gpu-mediff -150

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Vuxil
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
April 05, 2013, 10:06:02 PM
 #26

./cgminer -k diablo -v 1 -w 256 -I 7 (Diablo Kernel, worksize 256, Vectors 1, Intensity 7)
This might sound stupid, but try adding a variable for all 4 of your GPUs. For example:

./cgminer -k diablo,diablo,diablo,diablo -v 1,1,1,1 -w 256,256,256,256 -I 7,7,7,7 --gpu-mediff -150

I've tried this and it doesn't work either. Thanks for the suggestion though, it was worth trying.

I played around with Xubuntu some more last night (again, everything runs fine on Windows, but I prefer Linux), and still no luck. I'm surprised there are more than just a few having this issue, and no one's resolved it yet. The only thing left to try is a different, non-Ubuntu (or Debian-based) Linux distro, as that would help us tell if it's either just some bad packages or if it's the Linux drivers themselves.

PPCoin Mining Pool (North America) - www.VuxilsPool.com (http://www.VuxilsPool.com)          PPC: PQTkB3PNt9S3kdac8AbWeVFMqnTfnu3Gki
LTC: LPrtTHQAYT8RkmLtQpRwuRUxTRWEY4YA12           BTC: 16svR9TYqkP1VMoitxm6umgEXgAQHRe94H
wazoo42
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
April 05, 2013, 10:30:45 PM
 #27

I have 3 gentoo boxes running 2x7950, 2x5830, and 1x5770/1x7950 with minimal problems in the setup if you're looking for a different distro.
LivesUnderTheBridge
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 05, 2013, 11:33:03 PM
 #28

Sorry if this also fits into the category of "things checked long ago," but could you post your xorg.conf?

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[2]-0" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0"
Screen         "aticonfig-Screen[3]-0" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[2]-0"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load  "glx"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[2]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[3]-0"
Option     "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option     "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option     "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
BusID       "PCI:3:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
BusID       "PCI:6:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[2]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
BusID       "PCI:5:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[3]-0"
Driver      "fglrx"
BusID       "PCI:4:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
DefaultDepth     24
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[2]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[2]-0"
Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[2]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[3]-0"
Device     "aticonfig-Device[3]-0"
Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[3]-0"
DefaultDepth     24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport   0 0
Depth     24
EndSubSection
EndSection

I have 3 gentoo boxes running 2x7950, 2x5830, and 1x5770/1x7950 with minimal problems in the setup if you're looking for a different distro.

Got a step-by-step guide we can follow?

I like bitcoin : 1AsVZ8ofY6BQjxje3hZZbXhNjFSV22TkUN
and litecoin : LYogfVW253cuHmjE5Qm6ryXQfTZFdHNjUX
LivesUnderTheBridge
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 12:24:17 AM
 #29

11.04 was a wash. I installed Catalyst 12.8, although I only had instructions for 13.1 (seemed to be fairly straight forward, unzip, sh ./*.run, dpkg -i *.deb). On reboot it launched to X but the screen was flickering on and off with colored bars.

I'm going to dig up a gentoo iso and load it up.

I like bitcoin : 1AsVZ8ofY6BQjxje3hZZbXhNjFSV22TkUN
and litecoin : LYogfVW253cuHmjE5Qm6ryXQfTZFdHNjUX
Vuxil
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
April 06, 2013, 12:25:53 AM
 #30

I think Open SUSE would be a good next try, it's very GUI driven, so the installation process would be similar to Ubuntu. Note that apt-get will not work in SUSE, but it has it's own package management and repository system.

I'm giving up on Xubuntu, it seems to not be the answer.

Gentoo is more for relatively experienced users, and same with Arch. By advanced, I mean there's more manual work in the terminal.


PPCoin Mining Pool (North America) - www.VuxilsPool.com (http://www.VuxilsPool.com)          PPC: PQTkB3PNt9S3kdac8AbWeVFMqnTfnu3Gki
LTC: LPrtTHQAYT8RkmLtQpRwuRUxTRWEY4YA12           BTC: 16svR9TYqkP1VMoitxm6umgEXgAQHRe94H
wazoo42
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 12:54:55 AM
 #31

What happens if you switch around the pci ids in xorg.conf, say to make 6:0:0 correspond to Device[0]-0? You can get the order linux believes the cards are in using,

Code:
cat /proc/ati/?/interrupt_info

I installed from stage 3, so after I got kde emerged all I had left to do was the following (I omitted the aticonfig step b/c I copied the xorg.conf over from my 5830 box).

Code:
emerge ati-drivers cgminer      (this pulls in opencl and amd-adl-sdk)
eselect opencl set X       (where X is the # corresponding to ati)
aticonfig --adapter=all --initial

Here's my xorg.conf, though I don't see any huge differences between ours.

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
        Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Files"
        ModulePath   "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
        ModulePath   "/usr/lib64/opengl/xorg-x11/extensions/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load  "freetype"
#       Load    "glx"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
        Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
        Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
        Option      "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
        Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
        Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
        Option      "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "0-DFP3"
        Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
        Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
        Option      "DPMS" "true"
        Option      "PreferredMode" "1600x1200"
        Option      "TargetRefresh" "60"
        Option      "Position" "0 0"
        Option      "Rotate" "normal"
        Option      "Disable" "false"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        Option      "VideoOverlay" "on"
        Option      "Monitor-DFP3" "0-DFP3"
        BusID       "PCI:6:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        Option      "VideoOverlay" "on"
        BusID       "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
        Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[1]-0"
        Device     "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
        Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[1]-0"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"

#               Virtual   1600 1200
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
        EndSubSection
EndSection
LivesUnderTheBridge
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 02:23:07 AM
 #32

I think Open SUSE would be a good next try, it's very GUI driven, so the installation process would be similar to Ubuntu. Note that apt-get will not work in SUSE, but it has it's own package management and repository system.

I'm giving up on Xubuntu, it seems to not be the answer.

Gentoo is more for relatively experienced users, and same with Arch. By advanced, I mean there's more manual work in the terminal.

Manual doesn't scare me, but it looks like installing is a bitch. I tried Xubuntu, but the installer wouldn't format my USB. Probably going to try and do the kernel lock tomorrow morning.

What happens if you switch around the pci ids in xorg.conf, say to make 6:0:0 correspond to Device[0]-0? You can get the order linux believes the cards are in using,

I'll try it in the morning, I'm exhausted.

I like bitcoin : 1AsVZ8ofY6BQjxje3hZZbXhNjFSV22TkUN
and litecoin : LYogfVW253cuHmjE5Qm6ryXQfTZFdHNjUX
LivesUnderTheBridge
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 12:01:25 PM
 #33

I tried Xubuntu, but the installer wouldn't format my USB. Probably going to try and do the kernel lock tomorrow morning.

And it formatted this morning, weird. Trying Xubuntu w/ kernel lock.

I like bitcoin : 1AsVZ8ofY6BQjxje3hZZbXhNjFSV22TkUN
and litecoin : LYogfVW253cuHmjE5Qm6ryXQfTZFdHNjUX
LivesUnderTheBridge
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 02:35:21 PM
 #34

./cgminer -k diablo,diablo,diablo,diablo -v 1,1,1,1 -w 256,256,256,256 -I 7,7,7,7 --gpu-mediff -150

Did everything but --gpu-mediff -150. cgminer said it was an invalid flag.

Code:
cat /proc/ati/?/interrupt_info

gives me
Code:
Device: PCI:5:0:0
Kernel: 0
AsyncIO: 0
Device: PCI:6:0:0
Kernel: 0
AsyncIO: 0
Device: PCI:3:0:0
Kernel: 597359
AsyncIO: 0
Device: PCI:4:0:0
Kernel: 0
AsyncIO: 0

What happens if you switch around the pci ids in xorg.conf, say to make 6:0:0 correspond to Device[0]-0? You can get the order linux believes the cards are in using,

Cgminer runs about the same. 530Mh/s, says it dropping threads from all GPUs but 'aticonfig --adapter=all -odgc' now says adapter 2 is running full bore.

I left dynamic intensity on (just launched ./cgminer with no flags) and GPU 0 would run up intensity. Also, only changing GPU 0's intensity effected my hash rate.

On a side note, I had to plug my HDMI into the 4th card to get video, with the other 3 displaying only a white screen.

I like bitcoin : 1AsVZ8ofY6BQjxje3hZZbXhNjFSV22TkUN
and litecoin : LYogfVW253cuHmjE5Qm6ryXQfTZFdHNjUX
LivesUnderTheBridge
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 04:01:05 PM
 #35

I played around with Xubuntu some more last night (again, everything runs fine on Windows, but I prefer Linux), and still no luck.

What happened with it? What version of driver did you install?

I just did a kernel lock (http://askubuntu.com/questions/178324/how-to-skip-kernel-update) to 3.2.0.37.45 (had to use pico instead of gedit, as it looks like gedit doesn't load with a standard install). When looking at the "additional drivers" app (little card looking thing by the clock) the beta drivers are listed as 12.11 which makes me think that the proprietary drivers are 12.10.

Going to try the built in installer, then the hard way if that doesn't work.

I like bitcoin : 1AsVZ8ofY6BQjxje3hZZbXhNjFSV22TkUN
and litecoin : LYogfVW253cuHmjE5Qm6ryXQfTZFdHNjUX
c789
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 843



View Profile
April 07, 2013, 05:05:49 AM
 #36

For this common problem, it seems that the issue is related to Xubuntu/Linux since many of the same people have run Guiminer on Windows and were able to obtain their expected hash rate for each card.

Maybe running Guiminer in Wine in Xubuntu would work? I just thought of this and won't have time to try it until tomorrow afternoon. I just thought I'd post the idea in case anyone wants to try before I am able to.

Comparison of Privacy-Centric Coins: https://moneroforcash.com/monero-vs-dash-vs-zcash-vs-bitcoinmixers.php also includes Verge and Pivx
wazoo42
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 05:33:57 PM
 #37

Looking at your output from the interrupt info, the fact that your "kernel" category is 0 for 3 out of 4 cards is telling. If nothing else, this provides a quick test to make sure the kernel and drivers recognize that all of the cards are present and operational.
LivesUnderTheBridge
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:20:13 AM
 #38

Looks like I'm switching to windows. I've tried a few more times on 12.04 and 11.04 x64 with no luck.

I like bitcoin : 1AsVZ8ofY6BQjxje3hZZbXhNjFSV22TkUN
and litecoin : LYogfVW253cuHmjE5Qm6ryXQfTZFdHNjUX
wazoo42
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 04:23:19 PM
 #39

Crud, I just ran into this on gentoo after updating my system. Fortunately aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial brought it back to life.

EDIT: I put a dummy dvi plug on the 2nd card while running these commands and booting the first time.
LivesUnderTheBridge
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 07:51:31 PM
 #40

Crud, I just ran into this on gentoo after updating my system. Fortunately aticonfig --adapter=all -f --initial brought it back to life.

EDIT: I put a dummy dvi plug on the 2nd card while running these commands and booting the first time.

can you pull the dummy plug, restart cgminer and see if both cards work? it would be nice to know if it's only on set that it needs the dummy plug, or always.

I like bitcoin : 1AsVZ8ofY6BQjxje3hZZbXhNjFSV22TkUN
and litecoin : LYogfVW253cuHmjE5Qm6ryXQfTZFdHNjUX
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!