Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 02:54:37 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: First Rig mining slow (4x7950s) (130Mh/s per)  (Read 8920 times)
wazoo42
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 09:07:38 PM
 #41

Sorry, looking back at my post it was unclear what I did. The aticonfig line and the initial boot had the dummy plug in (I only meant to use the plug for the aticonfig initialization, but I forgot about it until after I'd rebooted). Once I remembered I had the dummy plug in the 2nd card I took it out, rebooted, and cgminer started up per normal.
Even in the event that an attacker gains more than 50% of the network's computational power, only transactions sent by the attacker could be reversed or double-spent. The network would not be destroyed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511146477
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511146477

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511146477
Reply with quote  #2

1511146477
Report to moderator
1511146477
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511146477

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511146477
Reply with quote  #2

1511146477
Report to moderator
1511146477
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511146477

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511146477
Reply with quote  #2

1511146477
Report to moderator
Valle
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 03:49:49 PM
 #42

Same issue for me with Gigabyte 4x4950 on Ubuntu 32. Only one gpu is in use while cgminer happily says that all cards are mining. nothing helps.

I don't have dummy plug but looks like it is the only option to fix the issue. So Ubuntu DOES NEED dummy plugs.
LivesUnderTheBridge
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 10:14:00 PM
 #43

Same issue for me with Gigabyte 4x4950 on Ubuntu 32. Only one gpu is in use while cgminer happily says that all cards are mining. nothing helps.

I don't have dummy plug but looks like it is the only option to fix the issue. So Ubuntu DOES NEED dummy plugs.

You can hatch together one with some resistors. Didn't seem to help me at all.

I like bitcoin : 1AsVZ8ofY6BQjxje3hZZbXhNjFSV22TkUN
and litecoin : LYogfVW253cuHmjE5Qm6ryXQfTZFdHNjUX
LivesUnderTheBridge
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 11, 2013, 10:30:39 AM
 #44

Did an XP install and ran into some problems.

AMD APP SDK stopped having openCL support for XP for any version past 2.5
Catalyst display driver dropped openCL support for xp for any version past 12.1

Check the display driver compatibility of 12.1 for your video card. if it doesn't work, you'll need win7
Check here http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalystSoftwareSuiteVersion121.aspx

Note: Catalyst 13.2 BETA drivers include AMD APP SDK, which will keep you from having to download it seperatly
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst132BetaDriver.aspx

GPU-z is great for checking openCL compatibility. Run it, and there is a little checkbox if it's working.
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/SysInfo/GPU-Z/

I like bitcoin : 1AsVZ8ofY6BQjxje3hZZbXhNjFSV22TkUN
and litecoin : LYogfVW253cuHmjE5Qm6ryXQfTZFdHNjUX
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 11, 2013, 10:54:20 AM
 #45

In your initial post it's clear you were mining on one device only, with multiple opencl instances.

SDK 2.8 sucks dicks (on linux at least), as do many of the drivers after the 11.12 prerelease driver with GCN support (which was called amd-driver-installer-8.921-x86.x86_64.run on linux for example), so I guess 12.8 is your next best bet. Uninstalling the SDK is non-trivial but you should get rid of 2.8 and try 2.7. Then make sure all .bin files are deleted so that cgminer recreates new ones with the changed SDK.

Bear in mind that some motherboards may appear to support multiple GPUs, but do NOT actually run, or barely run. My GD70 based rig would only run with 3 GPUs with the default Xorg set up using a login manager and refuse to even start with the 4th GPU in there unless I ran an absolutely stripped down Xorg with just startx us a sole user on xfce and no login manager. Usual set up of drivers is required for all the GPUs with the force option and any distribution provided drivers are a nono.

Yes folks, mining is non-trivial and scrypt mining is yet much more non-trivial. Make sure if you are building a rig that you are using hardware and software that is already known to work as others have tested on these forums before. That can be hard...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
FatMagic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile
April 18, 2013, 03:34:49 PM
 #46

Check this post - similar problems to what we have been experiencing, and he found a solution.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=178963

Worth a shot!




Pages: « 1 2 [3]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!