Bitcoin Forum
May 30, 2020, 04:36:22 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience is now dabbling with 16nm ASICs for new designs  (Read 76340 times)
takagari
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2016, 03:27:50 PM
 #461

As for the server rack solution, same kind of solution could be done like with the S1 boards.

My message in the canada group buy thread:
I wonder if these boards will be able to be installed into a 4U server case etc.. I realize you would need to source heat sinks, but nothing else would really be needed would it?
You could come up with this kind of solution https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=650462.20
Antminer S1's on a rack.

Saw that. Be more interested in a way to do it off the shelf.
Maybe some cut rails the boards can sit in. Which could then be mounted inside anything. Hmm
1590856582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590856582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590856582
Reply with quote  #2

1590856582
Report to moderator
1590856582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590856582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590856582
Reply with quote  #2

1590856582
Report to moderator
UNIQUE HILO GAME $500 DAILY CONTEST BEST AUTOBET MODE 30% RAKEBACK FOR VIPS PROVABLY FAIR Play Now Play Now
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1590856582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590856582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590856582
Reply with quote  #2

1590856582
Report to moderator
1590856582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590856582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590856582
Reply with quote  #2

1590856582
Report to moderator
takagari
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2016, 03:39:20 PM
 #462

I'm actually curious if an off the shelf water cooling plate or two would be able to be affixed to them.
Hmmm
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1585

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
December 19, 2016, 03:52:01 PM
 #463

Probably not, given that the boards are flush with the heatsink on 3 edges and the 4th has all the connectors. But the heatsinks do have tapped holes on all 4 edges, so mounting like that is an option for sure. Unless you had custom heatsinks, but then you probably couldn't use all the screw holes if the heatsinks were smaller than the boards and you could get overheating chips from poor contact around the perimeter.

If you took a flat-bottom case you should be able to mount 6 board/heatsinks in there; a bit of drilling will get you holes through which to solidly mount the heatsinks. It wouldn't hurt to put a beam across the top that's notched to stabilize the boards further. You'd probably need to tie into USB headers same as inside an S3 case, and to fit power cords you might need a board built with straight PCIe instead of right-angle, but otherwise there'd be no issue. Tuck a small hub in the corner and call it good.

If you have C1 waterblocks (and there were independent manufacturers building similar things, if I'm remembering right) these would mount right up.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 563


View Profile
December 19, 2016, 04:03:58 PM
 #464

So basically it would be a Sidehack S4 but a load better  Smiley A few refit boards, atx psu, some nice quiet fans front and back, a raspi and usb hub all inbuilt to one 4U case. Sounds nice and tidy to me  Wink

With the addition of the wireless from the raspi all you would need is a power lead coming out of it for the psu. (yes I know a wired connection is better but if its close enough to a router then why not lol).

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
ZedZedNova
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 263

Ooh La La, C'est Zoom!


View Profile
December 19, 2016, 06:52:37 PM
 #465

With the addition of the wireless from the raspi all you would need is a power lead coming out of it for the psu. (yes I know a wired connection is better but if its close enough to a router then why not lol).

I have heard that wifi on the RPi3 is merely adequate due to the onboard antenna. Putting the RPi3 inside a grounded metal case would make it worse. Now, if you modded the RPi3 with an external antenna...

ethOS GPU mining rig Stats || L3+ mining and WTT Tokens @ Giga-Watt
-=O=-
Digital Ocean is where my Masternodes run Digital Ocean Referral Link
agentcash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2016, 08:36:06 PM
 #466

With the addition of the wireless from the raspi all you would need is a power lead coming out of it for the psu. (yes I know a wired connection is better but if its close enough to a router then why not lol).

I have heard that wifi on the RPi3 is merely adequate due to the onboard antenna. Putting the RPi3 inside a grounded metal case would make it worse. Now, if you modded the RPi3 with an external antenna...

http://forums.outernet.is/t/raspberry-pi-3-antenna-mod-for-wifi/2535
ZACHM
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 777
Merit: 1003



View Profile
December 19, 2016, 09:16:14 PM
 #467

I think we are treading into off-topic territory, but I will say it anyway.

Why not use something like this: https://www.amazon.com/EDUP-Adapter-300Mbps-Wireless-Antenna/dp/B00KV9TQXM/

I agree, I was thinking the same thing about a complete "box" unit that can be deployed anywhere in your house with just a single plug to the wall. I have been thinking about this as a replacement for space heaters.

sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1585

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
December 19, 2016, 09:23:53 PM
 #468

With the compartively low power density of these boards (compared to S7/S9/Avalon6 etc) they could be made pretty quiet. 6 boards in a 4U would run a bit hotter than an S2 at stock, but since it's adjustable that wouldn't have to be the case.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
takagari
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2016, 10:02:15 PM
 #469

With the compartively low power density of these boards (compared to S7/S9/Avalon6 etc) they could be made pretty quiet. 6 boards in a 4U would run a bit hotter than an S2 at stock, but since it's adjustable that wouldn't have to be the case.

I think that's the main issue with the latest hardware, trying to cram so much into a small box
bitmain could of released single or dual board boxes, or spread the chips a bit more and had the same efficiency, in a more affordable box, with less noise.

But they aren't in it for the little fella.
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1435


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2016, 10:05:07 PM
 #470

With the compartively low power density of these boards (compared to S7/S9/Avalon6 etc) they could be made pretty quiet. 6 boards in a 4U would run a bit hotter than an S2 at stock, but since it's adjustable that wouldn't have to be the case.

I think that's the main issue with the latest hardware, trying to cram so much into a small box
bitmain could of released single or dual board boxes, or spread the chips a bit more and had the same efficiency, in a more affordable box, with less noise.

But they aren't in it for the little fella.
Well they came up with the R4, it's better than S9 in that kind of sense.

leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1123


Bitcoin FTW!


View Profile
December 19, 2016, 10:28:11 PM
Last edit: December 20, 2016, 02:17:50 AM by leowonderful
 #471

Cooling technology is always getting better and there's always new ways to cram more into a smaller area, so it's not as bad as it could be. Anyways if it gets too bad, high-rpm fans can always be employed to get more of that cool air into the miner and the hot air out. Especially with these new higher wattage miners, Bitmain and pretty much all makers of miners need to watch out for the possibility of heat related issues.

On another note, just preordered a 2pac from the groupbuy thread, excited about the progress and seems everything is going as planned. I'd encourage you guys to buy some 2Pacs as well, even though these will only be the first in a few upcoming miners, the funds support sidehack and it's not going to waste Smiley
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1585

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
December 20, 2016, 05:35:57 PM
 #472

Also, more BF16 samples just arrived from Punin. I now have enough to make about 8-10 sticks and 5 pods after going through some in initial testing.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 563


View Profile
December 20, 2016, 05:38:01 PM
 #473

Very nice, im eager to get hold of a pod (and also the cgminer-"insert subname here" version to run it on) Smiley

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
qctechno
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 307
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 20, 2016, 10:14:08 PM
 #474

Also, more BF16 samples just arrived from Punin. I now have enough to make about 8-10 sticks and 5 pods after going through some in initial testing.

I'm curious to see how they compare to Bitmain and Avalon chips.
Do they beat them all or fit between Bitmain and Avalon efficiency ?
I will be happy to re-use some C1 water block and build myself a nice and quiet miner with the retrofit boards  Cool

sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1585

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
December 20, 2016, 10:29:11 PM
 #475

I'll shoot for a stock setpoint of 0.1J/GH chip-level, which means about 0.11J/GH machine-level. The chips are supposed to go down to 0.07J/GH, and if you can keep them cool they'll probably hit 0.14J/GH at the top (assuming the regulators hold out).

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
h1psterassass1n
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 02:45:54 PM
 #476

Can we please name the pod the "Biggie"?  Grin
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 563


View Profile
December 23, 2016, 03:31:29 PM
 #477

Can we please name the pod the "Biggie"?  Grin

Why?

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2814
Merit: 2346



View Profile
December 23, 2016, 03:53:14 PM
 #478

Also, more BF16 samples just arrived from Punin. I now have enough to make about 8-10 sticks and 5 pods after going through some in initial testing.

best news I would love to see them soon.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ZACHM
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 777
Merit: 1003



View Profile
December 23, 2016, 04:31:19 PM
 #479

Can we please name the pod the "Biggie"?  Grin

Why?

This is why: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Biggie_%26_Tupac

Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1502



View Profile
December 23, 2016, 04:35:36 PM
 #480

LOL, it is not (to my knowledge) 2Pac because of Tupac, but because of shortened 2 chip Compac (or two-Pac or 2Pac), but it rhymes  Grin
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!