Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 07:37:56 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Need help with Xubuntu + CGminer (edit: still unresolved)  (Read 3545 times)
Vuxil
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
April 03, 2013, 04:44:13 AM
 #1

First of all, I'm running 2 Gigabyte AMD Radeon HD 7850 1GB (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009LTUC90/ref=pe_175190_21431760_M3T1_ST1_dp_1)

Rest of my setup is 2GB of RAM, and Xubuntu running off of a flashdrive

I followed the steps at https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Gw7YPYgMgNNU42skibULbJJUx_suP_CpjSEdSi8_z9U/edit# to get ATI drivers and cgminer set up on an Xubuntu install with no problems.

I wrote a bash script to start CGIMiner, and it does in the following manner:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
cd /home/moneygenerator/cgminer*
./cgminer -o http://ppcpool.bitparking.com:20098 -u user -p pass --api-listen --api-network -I 14 --auto-fan --temp-target 77 --gpu-engine 1150 --gpu-memclock 800

However, I am only getting ~375mh\s? Any ideas?

Here is the CGMiner output. It looks like one of the GPUs is not working that much?:

http://i.imgur.com/MD9Gjxr.png

PPCoin Mining Pool (North America) - www.VuxilsPool.com (http://www.VuxilsPool.com)          PPC: PQTkB3PNt9S3kdac8AbWeVFMqnTfnu3Gki
LTC: LPrtTHQAYT8RkmLtQpRwuRUxTRWEY4YA12           BTC: 16svR9TYqkP1VMoitxm6umgEXgAQHRe94H
1511163476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511163476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511163476
Reply with quote  #2

1511163476
Report to moderator
1511163476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511163476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511163476
Reply with quote  #2

1511163476
Report to moderator
1511163476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511163476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511163476
Reply with quote  #2

1511163476
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511163476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511163476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511163476
Reply with quote  #2

1511163476
Report to moderator
1511163476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511163476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511163476
Reply with quote  #2

1511163476
Report to moderator
1511163476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511163476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511163476
Reply with quote  #2

1511163476
Report to moderator
Vuxil
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
April 03, 2013, 09:21:58 AM
 #2

Got slightly better results and changed my cgminer parameters. Any help would be appreciated

PPCoin Mining Pool (North America) - www.VuxilsPool.com (http://www.VuxilsPool.com)          PPC: PQTkB3PNt9S3kdac8AbWeVFMqnTfnu3Gki
LTC: LPrtTHQAYT8RkmLtQpRwuRUxTRWEY4YA12           BTC: 16svR9TYqkP1VMoitxm6umgEXgAQHRe94H
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
April 03, 2013, 11:39:12 AM
 #3

Here's an excellent GPU comparison chart that should help you with your card settings, hope it helps..... Wink

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison#AMD_.28ATI.29

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
Forrie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
April 03, 2013, 12:23:21 PM
 #4

Can I suggest pulling one of the cards and seeing what the hashrate is for one card?
I had a similar problem with one card producing the expected hashrate but two cards combined producing about the same as one... I solved it by using a spare box I had lying around so I am sorry I am not of more help, but at least you will know if it is the cards or something else.
Cheers Forrie
Vuxil
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
April 03, 2013, 05:14:09 PM
 #5

Here's an excellent GPU comparison chart that should help you with your card settings, hope it helps..... Wink

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison#AMD_.28ATI.29

I have my gpu and memory set to what's suggested in this guide already, and no help. For whatever reason my cards are stuck outputting half each of what they should be according to that guide...and I dont have a spare PC to throw the other card in

If I try to press G and change card settings during mining, it sells me the driver reports success but nothing actually changes. One card is actually running at the proper clock speeds, the other one is essentially off (300 mhz gpu, 150mhz RAM)

Crossfire is not enabled (afaik, cable for it was not connected)

PPCoin Mining Pool (North America) - www.VuxilsPool.com (http://www.VuxilsPool.com)          PPC: PQTkB3PNt9S3kdac8AbWeVFMqnTfnu3Gki
LTC: LPrtTHQAYT8RkmLtQpRwuRUxTRWEY4YA12           BTC: 16svR9TYqkP1VMoitxm6umgEXgAQHRe94H
Forrie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
April 05, 2013, 03:09:38 AM
 #6

Is your power supply sufficient?
Vuxil
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
April 05, 2013, 03:58:36 AM
 #7

Is your power supply sufficient?

Yea, we figured out it's something Linux-specific. Someone else was having the same issue, so discussion picked up in his thread. Anyone reading this thread looking for help can follow the discussion here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=164825.0

PPCoin Mining Pool (North America) - www.VuxilsPool.com (http://www.VuxilsPool.com)          PPC: PQTkB3PNt9S3kdac8AbWeVFMqnTfnu3Gki
LTC: LPrtTHQAYT8RkmLtQpRwuRUxTRWEY4YA12           BTC: 16svR9TYqkP1VMoitxm6umgEXgAQHRe94H
induktor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 698



View Profile
April 05, 2013, 04:19:10 AM
 #8

Hello
I have exactly these cards, but for now in windows, I will switch to linux to reduce the 10W the hard drive is using, booting off flash drive.

Did you try dummyplug? I have it on from day one, just in case, if not there is something called ULPS that is the auto power save of the card, if this is activated and no monitor attached the card won't start, I don't know how to disable ULPS in linux but it is a very good chance that it's your problem.

what do you think?

BTC addr: 1vTGnFgaM2WJjswwmbj6N2AQBWcHfimSc
c789
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 843



View Profile
April 06, 2013, 06:10:58 AM
 #9

I had a problem similar to this (see this post https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=168343.0 ). Fortunately I was able to fix it by stopping cgminer, plugging a monitor into a video card (play around and see which slot works for you), and starting cgminer again.

I'm going to Radio Shack tomorrow to get resistors to make a dummy plug http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=11 so that I don't have to keep hauling my monitor around, and I'll post back on my original post with my findings.

Comparison of Privacy-Centric Coins: https://moneroforcash.com/monero-vs-dash-vs-zcash-vs-bitcoinmixers.php also includes Verge and Pivx
wzl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 05:48:29 PM
 #10

Here's what I'd try

- make sure X is using both cards
- upgrade to latest cgminer
- figure out cgminer command-line args to disable one GPU, try running, disable other GPU, try running, see what happens, may be informative. (-d flag)



BTC: 1LWXHSMZDwz8pm74FnNyEF69sa4MYzTCHn
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
April 07, 2013, 01:31:32 AM
 #11

I've sold my rigs but I had multiple rigs with multiple 79xx cards with Xubuntu.  That guide in OP didn't work for me.  Here is what I used, all from root terminal, hope it helps (I was using 12.4 driver)...

Clean old installs:
Code:
/usr/share/ati/fglrx-uninstall.sh --force
apt-get remove --purge fglrx*
sync
reboot

Install new driver (use defaults when prompted):
Code:
wget http://www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/amd-driver-installer-12-4-x86.x86_64.run
chmod 755 amd-driver-installer-12-4-x86.x86_64.run
chmod +x amd-driver-installer-12-4-x86.x86_64.run
./amd-driver-installer-12-4-x86.x86_64.run
aticonfig -f --initial --adapter=all
sync
reboot

Check cgminer is seeing all the devices:
Code:
cd <cgminer directory>
export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1
./cgminer --ndevs

I would also check top to make sure only one instance of cgminer is launching.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!