Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 02:15:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: HD7990 Lost 1 GPU  (Read 955 times)
raidersan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
October 20, 2016, 07:51:38 PM
 #1

One of my HD7990 is only showing 1 of the 2 GPUs. When I try to flash with atiflash it also only list the slave GPU.
Sometimes the little green led by the slot is lit, but not always.
Is there anything I could try?

Thanks in advance.
1508768158
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508768158

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508768158
Reply with quote  #2

1508768158
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508768158
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508768158

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508768158
Reply with quote  #2

1508768158
Report to moderator
Raja_MBZ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile WWW
October 20, 2016, 09:03:33 PM
 #2

Is the device manager able to find it? Check it... Device manager is in the control panel. I'd recommend you to un-install any drivers currently installed and then re-install the updated drivers.
raidersan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
October 20, 2016, 09:55:03 PM
 #3

Is the device manager able to find it? Check it... Device manager is in the control panel. I'd recommend you to un-install any drivers currently installed and then re-install the updated drivers.

No, it only sees one GPU, same in Linux.
hendra147
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


Keep Calm & Hold Your Bitcoin


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 04:18:39 AM
 #4

Is the device manager able to find it? Check it... Device manager is in the control panel. I'd recommend you to un-install any drivers currently installed and then re-install the updated drivers.

No, it only sees one GPU, same in Linux.

are you have trying to use only 1 vga ? how about the fan ? if the vga not listed it's seem the conector is eror or maybe your vga is dead

Haidong Liang
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 07:41:27 AM
 #5

You may flip the BIOS switch on top of the card to see if it is BIOS related. Or you can change the PCIE slot.
Raja_MBZ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile WWW
October 21, 2016, 08:30:26 AM
 #6

Is the device manager able to find it? Check it... Device manager is in the control panel. I'd recommend you to un-install any drivers currently installed and then re-install the updated drivers.

No, it only sees one GPU, same in Linux.

Try to take out the one which is working, and place the one which is not working in that slot. See if it is showing any display at all. That's a sign of a ... dead GPU by the way. Hopefully it's not dead.
raidersan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 09:05:25 AM
 #7

You may flip the BIOS switch on top of the card to see if it is BIOS related. Or you can change the PCIE slot.

No effect!
raidersan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 09:08:38 AM
 #8

Is the device manager able to find it? Check it... Device manager is in the control panel. I'd recommend you to un-install any drivers currently installed and then re-install the updated drivers.

No, it only sees one GPU, same in Linux.

Try to take out the one which is working, and place the one which is not working in that slot. See if it is showing any display at all. That's a sign of a ... dead GPU by the way. Hopefully it's not dead.

Can the GPU be taken out? I thought they were soldered in.
I will try that, do you which one is slave? The one above the PCI-e connector?
raidersan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 09:45:56 AM
 #9

Is the device manager able to find it? Check it... Device manager is in the control panel. I'd recommend you to un-install any drivers currently installed and then re-install the updated drivers.

No, it only sees one GPU, same in Linux.

are you have trying to use only 1 vga ? how about the fan ? if the vga not listed it's seem the conector is eror or maybe your vga is dead

VGA, you mean GPU? Of course I am trying to mine with both GPUs
Raja_MBZ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile WWW
October 21, 2016, 01:16:20 PM
 #10

Is the device manager able to find it? Check it... Device manager is in the control panel. I'd recommend you to un-install any drivers currently installed and then re-install the updated drivers.

No, it only sees one GPU, same in Linux.

Try to take out the one which is working, and place the one which is not working in that slot. See if it is showing any display at all. That's a sign of a ... dead GPU by the way. Hopefully it's not dead.

Can the GPU be taken out? I thought they were soldered in.
I will try that, do you which one is slave? The one above the PCI-e connector?

GPU's can be taken out very easily, with a bit of force. Take out both of the GPU's, and try checking and making them work one by one. Just don't place both of the GPU's at once. Google around any tutorial/video if you're taking it out for the first time, it's easy.
raidersan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 02:02:17 PM
 #11

GPU's can be taken out very easily, with a bit of force. Take out both of the GPU's, and try checking and making them work one by one. Just don't place both of the GPU's at once. Google around any tutorial/video if you're taking it out for the first time, it's easy.

Raja, I cannot seem to video a tutorial on getting the GPU out, do you remember where you saw this?
Raja_MBZ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile WWW
October 21, 2016, 02:15:01 PM
 #12

GPU's can be taken out very easily, with a bit of force. Take out both of the GPU's, and try checking and making them work one by one. Just don't place both of the GPU's at once. Google around any tutorial/video if you're taking it out for the first time, it's easy.

Raja, I cannot seem to video a tutorial on getting the GPU out, do you remember where you saw this?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ysk8d_kRg0o
raidersan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 04:13:51 PM
 #13

GPU's can be taken out very easily, with a bit of force. Take out both of the GPU's, and try checking and making them work one by one. Just don't place both of the GPU's at once. Google around any tutorial/video if you're taking it out for the first time, it's easy.

Raja, I cannot seem to video a tutorial on getting the GPU out, do you remember where you saw this?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ysk8d_kRg0o

This is how to remove a card out of a motherboard.... Joke?
I was talking about removing a GPU (the chip) out of the HD7990 PCB (the card)!
M5M400
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114

supportXMR.com


View Profile WWW
October 21, 2016, 04:28:40 PM
 #14

GPU's can be taken out very easily, with a bit of force. Take out both of the GPU's, and try checking and making them work one by one. Just don't place both of the GPU's at once. Google around any tutorial/video if you're taking it out for the first time, it's easy.

Raja, I cannot seem to video a tutorial on getting the GPU out, do you remember where you saw this?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ysk8d_kRg0o

This is how to remove a card out of a motherboard.... Joke?
I was talking about removing a GPU (the chip) out of the HD7990 PCB (the card)!
lol - I think that guy doesn't know that a 7990 is basically 2 7970 on a single PCB... I think if you can't find the device neither on win nor on linux and the bios switch doesn't help... you're f*cked Sad

supportXMR.com :: EU(DE) based Monero pool :: 0.6% fee
Qartada
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


BlockWake.com Bitcoin Doubler


View Profile WWW
October 21, 2016, 04:46:20 PM
 #15

You may flip the BIOS switch on top of the card to see if it is BIOS related. Or you can change the PCIE slot.

No effect!

Can you see it in the device manager? If not, then it is dead. Some times it is in the other device section when it is not recognized.

Raja_MBZ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile WWW
October 21, 2016, 06:46:12 PM
 #16

GPU's can be taken out very easily, with a bit of force. Take out both of the GPU's, and try checking and making them work one by one. Just don't place both of the GPU's at once. Google around any tutorial/video if you're taking it out for the first time, it's easy.

Raja, I cannot seem to video a tutorial on getting the GPU out, do you remember where you saw this?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ysk8d_kRg0o

This is how to remove a card out of a motherboard.... Joke?
I was talking about removing a GPU (the chip) out of the HD7990 PCB (the card)!

And all this time I've been thinking that how stupid you are... Funny. I didn't have any experience with that particular card, and didn't know that it comes as twin, in fact, I've no experience with any sort of joint/twin GPU's.

Seems like there isn't much hope for your card left, honestly. Check out if there is any bios reset switch or something around the GPU, otherwise it's pretty much gone.
kods87
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
April 17, 2017, 11:18:38 PM
 #17

i had same problem and i cannot find solution
smaxz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


VeganAcademy


View Profile
April 18, 2017, 01:39:17 AM
 #18

i know the terminology is muddy since nvidia coined the term "gpu" with their geforce 256 back in '99.. but these days it's generally agreed that the gpu is the entire card.

i have always specified the chip in question as the shading or compute unit and that is what the 7990 has two of (where the heatsink makes direct contact with to draw heat away) and is the issue in this case.

if you're comfortable with the possibility of losing the card altogether trying to fix the faulty compute unit you can try to reflow it in a toaster oven.. this will renew the solder connections and has been known to revive dead cards.

look up "bake gpu oven" for details, i also have a write up in a thread titled "repair old gpu's" or something where i go in to some detail.

i think one should avoid calling this die on the gpu a "gpu" in itself.. although its the heart of the video card and a "cpu" is correctly the equivalent in any computer system.. whenever i hear it referred to as a gpu i think of ignorant sales people referring to computer towers and cases as "hard drives"

good luck with your cards.

- NGdTwHRSdnThdi1drQuHGT3khAHRtZ1HMq -
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!