Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2017, 06:44:29 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: RX-480 - 31+mh @ 125w at the wall - Modded ROM - HELPING OTHERS  (Read 3729 times)
kilo17
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896

aka "whocares"


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 04:07:44 AM
 #1

Looks like some people just think they are better than others, that shit bores me.  I thought I would create a thread and help people with ROM's that are like me, less intelligent than the "almighty" ones here on the forum.

This is a mod I made today.  It gets 125w at the wall.  Stable for a 6 hour run.

I have tons of different 470 and 480 cards and will try my best to help people.  

I have a few rules I will apply:

1 - I will put people I know and those that contribute to the community in a positive way first.
2 - Higher rank accounts will get precedence over noob accounts.
3 - I have a life and will help as I can.
4 - I do NOT use DUAL MINING and do not test it.  

Tips are appreciated but not required.  I ask you not to share the ROMs I provide.

Thanks

Proof is in the pudding:




Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
hendra147
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


Keep Calm & Hold Your Bitcoin


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 04:16:27 AM
 #2

i will apreciate if you can share more detail to me in Private message for trying your setting, and post the result. of course i will not share the room.
i have some vga, powercolor rx 470 4gb , saphire nitro rx 470 4gb and 8gb, and rx 480 refference.

just asking, your mod is running smoothly in all card ? because each card have diffirent assic stat's

kilo17
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896

aka "whocares"


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 04:16:55 AM
 #3

If you have a large farm and would like a good software to manage it, please look at AwesomeMiner.  It is easy to use and manages up to 5000 rigs.  Also you can load any mining software you want with it.

I bought the software and use it but have zero investment other than trying to help patrike that puts a lot of work into it.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=676942.0

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
kilo17
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896

aka "whocares"


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 04:21:40 AM
 #4

i will apreciate if you can share more detail to me in Private message for trying your setting, and post the result. of course i will not share the room.
i have some vga, powercolor rx 470 4gb , saphire nitro rx 470 4gb and 8gb, and rx 480 refference.

just asking, your mod is running smoothly in all card ? because each card have diffirent assic stat's

Please communicate as much as possible here so others can learn.  I will swap ROMS etc by PM.


Most of my ROMs are meant for mass use at my farm and run stable.  I would recommend letting me get a couple together like the Reference ROMs and let you try it out and see what you think.  Give me a day to put that one together. 

The ROMs I do I typically keep to myself but I am angry about the way people are treated on this forum by others. 

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
HerbPean
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204



View Profile
October 21, 2016, 04:37:00 AM
 #5

i will apreciate if you can share more detail to me in Private message for trying your setting, and post the result. of course i will not share the room.
i have some vga, powercolor rx 470 4gb , saphire nitro rx 470 4gb and 8gb, and rx 480 refference.

just asking, your mod is running smoothly in all card ? because each card have diffirent assic stat's

Please communicate as much as possible here so others can learn.  I will swap ROMS etc by PM.


Most of my ROMs are meant for mass use at my farm and run stable.  I would recommend letting me get a couple together like the Reference ROMs and let you try it out and see what you think.  Give me a day to put that one together. 

The ROMs I do I typically keep to myself but I am angry about the way people are treated on this forum by others. 

/Highfive
kilo17
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896

aka "whocares"


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 04:38:25 AM
 #6

i will apreciate if you can share more detail to me in Private message for trying your setting, and post the result. of course i will not share the room.
i have some vga, powercolor rx 470 4gb , saphire nitro rx 470 4gb and 8gb, and rx 480 refference.

just asking, your mod is running smoothly in all card ? because each card have diffirent assic stat's

Please communicate as much as possible here so others can learn.  I will swap ROMS etc by PM.


Most of my ROMs are meant for mass use at my farm and run stable.  I would recommend letting me get a couple together like the Reference ROMs and let you try it out and see what you think.  Give me a day to put that one together. 

The ROMs I do I typically keep to myself but I am angry about the way people are treated on this forum by others. 

/Highfive

 Grin -

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 04:58:45 AM
 #7

I have 3x RX 480 8Gb Nitro+ Sapphire

Use them on stock - and get ~24.6MHs single mining

Can you help me with you ROM?
kilo17
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896

aka "whocares"


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 05:02:54 AM
 #8

I have 3x RX 480 8Gb Nitro+ Sapphire

Use them on stock - and get ~24.6MHs single mining

Can you help me with you ROM?

I certainly will, Nitro are easy Grin

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 956

Huh?


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 07:15:40 AM
 #9

I have 3x RX 480 8Gb Nitro+ Sapphire

Use them on stock - and get ~24.6MHs single mining

Can you help me with you ROM?

I certainly will, Nitro are easy Grin

True, they already have standard global VDDC. So if you know how to open a HexEditor and know your way ove rto overclock forum. Then yes, this is easy.

It's those that don't have global vddc, those are the interesting roms Smiley

This is indeed childs play Smiley

Also have i been able to add support for multiple memory types: as in 1 rom for both Hynix and Elpida for example + being able to boot headless into windows Grin


I wish you good luck and it's nice what you're doing for the community!

Greetings!

kilo17
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896

aka "whocares"


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 07:32:56 AM
 #10

Let me clarify, I will help people learn to do their own ROMs.  I am not looking to do 100 different ROMs, I don't have that kind of time.

As Eliovp has pointed out they aren't the easiest thing to do and take time to do correctly.  If someone wants to help themselves I will help them.

Bitcoin Will Only Succeed If The Community That Supports It Gets Support - Support Home Miners & Mining
dexxa05
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 09:15:45 AM
 #11

Hi,

Thx for your thread,

On my rigs i have different RX 480 REX cards, for the moment i'm at 174-175Mh/s for 930 at wall. Can you help me to have better Mhs/Watt ?

Thx in advance
brizio71
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 455


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 09:25:54 AM
 #12

Hello,

can you help me with XFR RX470 4GB Black Edition and XFR RX480 8GB Black Edition ?

thanks

Fabrizio

PARAGON |||| REVOLUTIONIZING THE CANNABIS INDUSTRY |||| ░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░ PARAGONCOIN.COM | WHITEPAPERBOUNTY CAMPAIGN | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM  
aquafix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 10:41:11 AM
 #13

Hi, i am new the ethereum scene, been mining for 4 months now... Have tinkered with solar and wind.
I bought two reference XFX black rx480's months ago this is when i started mining. I now have a 6GPU mining RIG.
3x7950 ??(never tested)
2xrx480 24ea
AMD hashrate: 96mh
1x gtx 970 19 - 22mh
I pull about 1300~ watts at the wall measured with a killa-watt.
No custom bios for now.
I have ordered a new server to replace the laptop geth server with plans for more gpus.
I am interested in this rom, and any advice to my system.
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 12:26:09 PM
 #14

I certainly will, Nitro are easy Grin

Will you make a step-by-step manual or how it works?
64dimensions
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 12:43:23 PM
 #15

Would it make any sense to approach this from a different direction and just say XYZ brand 470s and 480s are the "easiest" ROMS to work on?
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722


Miner Developer


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 01:11:00 PM
 #16

Let me clarify, I will help people learn to do their own ROMs.  I am not looking to do 100 different ROMs, I don't have that kind of time.

As Eliovp has pointed out they aren't the easiest thing to do and take time to do correctly.  If someone wants to help themselves I will help them.

If VoltageObjectInfo has an initialization table for the VRM, it can be added very quickly. You can automate most of it.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
Tmdz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 02:13:59 PM
 #17

I think sapphire Nitros are the most popular, I have 2 470's coming today.

For the most part running a modded rom is pretty simple stuff the average technician can do.  All we do is configure the options and flash the rom to the gpu, then start mining.  Now where things get tricky is with that elpida 470 ram on the nitros where PBE will corrupt the rom, so you have to edit it in a hex editor and create check sums.

nite138
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 04:10:53 PM
 #18

Thank you for your willingness to assist the community!

If you have time to educate me on how to modify my gigabyte 480 bios, that would be great!

Thank you Smiley
niksdt101
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile
October 21, 2016, 07:55:08 PM
 #19

is the msi 480x card better than sapphire 480 nitro card ??

                                       
                                       
                                       
             ▄▄▄████████▄▄▄             
         ▄▄██████▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▄▄         
       ▄█████▀▀           ▀▀█████▄     
     ▄████▀                   ▀████     
    ▄███▀                               
   ▄███▀                               
  ▄███▀                                 
  ████              ██████████████████ 
  ████                                 
  ████                                 
  ▀███▄             ██████████████████ 
   ▀███▄                         ▄███▀ 
    ▀███▄                       ▄███▀   
     ▀████▄                   ▄████▀   
       ▀█████▄▄           ▄▄█████▀     
         ▀▀███████████████████▀▀       
              ▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀           
                                       

███




███
0
White Paper
███




███
███




███
0
ICO
███




███
███




███
███




███
mikewetminer88
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
October 21, 2016, 08:27:05 PM
 #20

Let me clarify, I will help people learn to do their own ROMs.  I am not looking to do 100 different ROMs, I don't have that kind of time.

As Eliovp has pointed out they aren't the easiest thing to do and take time to do correctly.  If someone wants to help themselves I will help them.
I am willing to learn how to my rigs using Hexeditor method. So far I had
3 full rigs of RX480 8GB ref
1 rigs of HIS IceQ RX480 8GB. Link: http://www.hisdigital.com/un/product2-933.shtml They had same heatsink design as XFX RX480 GTR. But not sure about pcb side.
2 rigs of XFX RX480 8Gb GTR.

All these cards using Samsung memory chip. So I guess they all had same timing right?
So far I manage to using Hex editor, locate the memory timing. I think i can replace the timing. But I dont expert enough to modify the VDDC for these. Willing to learn how to do it.

Thank you for sharing your knowledge to the community.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!