Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 02:43:04 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hardware change problem  (Read 1355 times)
Marko
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
November 07, 2010, 01:32:40 PM
 #1

So, i swapped out my motherboard for a newer one. Rest of the setup stayed the same. I restart the machine, windows xp boots up, discovers the hardware, reconfigures, all is good. I start up bitcoin....all my coins are gone. Why did this happen?
1481121784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121784
Reply with quote  #2

1481121784
Report to moderator
1481121784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121784
Reply with quote  #2

1481121784
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481121784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121784
Reply with quote  #2

1481121784
Report to moderator
1481121784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121784
Reply with quote  #2

1481121784
Report to moderator
1481121784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481121784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481121784
Reply with quote  #2

1481121784
Report to moderator
bitcoinex
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


probiwon.com


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2010, 03:44:21 PM
 #2

So, i swapped out my motherboard for a newer one. Rest of the setup stayed the same. I restart the machine, windows xp boots up, discovers the hardware, reconfigures, all is good. I start up bitcoin....all my coins are gone. Why did this happen?

Helen Feiss? Smiley

Tell me how you turn off the computer before replacing?

New bitcoin lottery: probiwon.com
- Может, ты ещё и в Невидимую Руку Рынка веруешь? - Зачем же веровать в то, что можно наблюдать непосредственно?
SmokeTooMuch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 873


View Profile
November 07, 2010, 10:37:19 PM
 #3

Not sure how this is even possible to happen - but, if you had made a backup, you wouldn't have that problem now ;P

Date Registered: 2009-12-10 | I'm using GPG, pm me for my public key. | Bitcoin on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/btc
You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
Marko
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
November 08, 2010, 07:12:31 AM
 #4

I'm not sure how this is possible either. i am stunned. it was only a few hundred btc so not too bad, but still...

I shut down bitcoin client, shut down windows, all good and proper. Bizarre...

FlyingMoose
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
November 08, 2010, 09:23:56 PM
 #5

*Only* a few hundred?  It's going to take me YEARS to get a few hundred (and I probly never will)...   Grin
Drifter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 367


View Profile
November 09, 2010, 12:49:21 AM
 #6

Don't know why this might help...but have you tried to see if the bitcoins show up again using the old mobo?

nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
November 09, 2010, 01:15:33 AM
 #7

I'm lucky enough to not have to tinker with windows anymore, but assuming hardware is functioning correctly my first actions would be to check if windows didn't switch users or something. Do a full disk search for files called wallet.dat as you might find more than one Smiley
Aqualung
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 372



View Profile
November 09, 2010, 12:30:59 PM
 #8

So, i swapped out my motherboard for a newer one. Rest of the setup stayed the same. I restart the machine, windows xp boots up, discovers the hardware, reconfigures, all is good
so simple? i tried to run WinXP after replacement of my old ASUS mb for a new one (ASUS) and there was so many errors with drivers that i decided to reinstall XP... / use search for "wallet.dat" if nothing else was lost you should find your wallet

used to be a miner
LZ
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


Satoshi everywhere!


View Profile WWW
November 09, 2010, 12:59:52 PM
 #9

%APPDATA%\Bitcoin

"Never invest unless you can afford to lose your entire investment." © S3052
Marko
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
November 10, 2010, 03:25:59 PM
 #10

Ok...so false alarm. Sorry to create forum spam.

The motherboard i switched to had screwed up time on it. I believe the effects of this are documented. NTP never updated until i set the time reasonably close to actual. I simply didn't notice it. So, it rejected all the blocks i created because they were from the future and wasn't taking any new blocks in from the network. I only noticed this because i was doing some calculations with block count and realized it hasn't changed.
ribuck
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


View Profile
November 10, 2010, 03:46:11 PM
 #11

Thanks for letting us know, instead of just disappearing. Your post will no doubt help someone else who finds themselves in a similar situation.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!