Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 03:24:03 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: The Common n00b Question(s)  (Read 440 times)
RadChad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 09:09:38 PM
 #1

Okay, I know this is a total n00b question -- hence why I'm here. I'm *brand new* to the mining world. I want to throw it out there at first as well, I know my setup here is not professional. I'm trying this out for research first. If I start to get into it, I want to get a new rig with a better hash rate.

My problem currently, is getting off the ground at first. I've tried a few different miners, but haven't gotten any to work yet. My #1 is GUIMiner. v2012-12-03, which, if I'm to believe correctly, is the latest one. That one gets the common 'Starting..' and / or 'Connecting..' hangup in the bottom right corner. Left corner says diverted to stratum on startum.bitcoin.cz:3333. The device I'm using is Intel Core i5 CPU. GUIMiner does pick it up. But this is as far as I get.

The other one I had tried for a bit to get setup, is I believe called 'CPUMiner'? The exe is minerd, if that helps. Anyways, when launching the .bat file for that one, it reads:

2 miner threads started, using 'scyrpt' algorithm.
HTTP request failed: empty reply from server
json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds.
(and just repeats from there)

I know I'm missing some kind of a very easy fix here, I'm just not sure what it may be. Any help would be definitely appreciated! Thank you all.
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511364243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511364243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511364243
Reply with quote  #2

1511364243
Report to moderator
1511364243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511364243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511364243
Reply with quote  #2

1511364243
Report to moderator
RadChad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 05:52:01 AM
 #2

Bump. Anyone see an easy flaw in my process or see something that may help?
whiskers75
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


Doesn't use these forums that often.


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 06:43:44 AM
 #3

If you are, as you admit, a person who knows next to nothing about mining, or a person who wants an easy mining experience, you can try BitMinter - the easiest miner (and pool) ever. Smiley (And if you make something, mind donating a bit?  Grin)

Elastic.pw Elastic - The Decentralized Supercomputer
ELASTIC ANNOUNCEMENT THREAD | ELASTIC SLACK | ELASTIC FORUM
RadChad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 07:13:36 AM
 #4

This is the first miner I've gotten to work. Though, it does tell me no OpenCL compatible devices were found. I downloaded and installed the Intel SDK for OpenCL, maybe my computer just isn't worth it for mining? I thought it would be at least sufficient, but I'm only getting around ~500Khps, which I know to be pretty damn low from reading around.

Would it be wise to invest in a new rig altogether for this, if it's something I want to get into?
pheaonix
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


http://casinobitco.in/ A+ customer support


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 07:28:00 AM
 #5

your computer doesn't have a graphics card?

 Shocked

basicly CPUs are worthless for mining.
graphics cards are ok but slow (assuming your using shit from around the house, and don't really care about power consumption at the current price of 200usd/btc)
fpgas are slightly above graphic card speeds at much lower power. if only i was around 1.5years ago and invested in them then.
asics are the best, with only 1 actual company, and they are sold out, because they are a skeleton crew in china.

we are scrambling to try to find a solution to get an asic device into your home mining ASAP

BTC.sx - Leveraged Bitcoin Trading. Simply use Bitcoin to take advantage of a rising or falling Bitcoin price.
RadChad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 12:22:30 PM
 #6

I'm afraid not! Currently I'm using an HP Touchsmart PC. Which, they aren't the best -- but I had gotten out of the PC gaming world some years back, and hadn't needed anything spectacular, especially in the graphics department. I thought though, that I had read a chart comparing hash speeds, where people using the onboard graphics of an Intel Core i5 were reporting somewhere between 10-15Mhps. Which is what first led me to believe that maybe I'm just doing something wrong, but now I'm thinking this PC is much more useless in the mining world than I originally thought.

I remember seeing that Butterfly Labs (I think that's the name of the company, or something similar) had some very nice products for this, or I had thought about building a new rig from the ground up for this venture.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!